We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply a "must visit" if in town”

Osteria del Coco Pazzo da Stefano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$64
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Noe
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“simply a "must visit" if in town”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The quality of the Food and Service and the whole Ambiente of this small but great Restaurant have been praised all over the Reviews, there is nothing more to say about it, except maybe every time a positive surprise. If you find out about it on your last evening in town and it is too late to visit, ... add another day!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hunterNoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    165
    51
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Surprise.”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Last night on a work assignment in Italy we went out to the Osteria del Coco Pazzo da Stefano. It was a very pleasant experience. The food was great and the owner/host was personable, friendly and helpful. I was traveling with a person who was saying he didn’t like trying new food but as the meal went on he expressed how good he thought the food was. There was a nice mix of fresh vegetables sprinkled in with the main items. There were 5 anti-pasta items, 3 meat items, and 3 desserts. There was a nice pace to the meal, we didn’t rushed and it didn’t drag out longer than the typical 2 hour evening meal. The meats include raw fish, squid, lamb, fried fish and pork. All in all it was a great Italian meals will good variety.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot with a fab chef!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Chosen due to it's rating on trip advisor, my partner and I tottered all over Martina Franca (me tottering to be honest.... Heels and cobbles don't mix!) and finally found the restaurant which is just outside of the main historic area. The location really is idyllic... Low level candle lit outside on a staggered terrace.... The chef is clearly a local celeb (or at least we were led to think so!) and a real character! We enjoyed a fabulous meal with lots of little extras delivered to our table... I will never get used to eating pasta as a primi as it fills me up so much but both of us agreed the pastas we chose (mine squid with courgette flowers in a lemon sauce and my partner's mussels and clams with squid ink linguine) were fantastic! With then chose a T-bone steak to share with roasted potatoes.... On asking how it had been cooked we were told it had been roasted in a very hot oven rather than barbecued... This have it a wonderful succulent roast beef flavour.... Yum yum! The pannacotta with blackcurrant compote we shared was equally delicious tho meant I rolled away from the table rather than walked!!! Such a lovely welcoming place and clearly well respected locally! The table next to us was full of priests who were made a fuss of by the locals... Perhaps visiting the area... Who knows? We had a chuckle when they had their photo taken with the chef and moved all the wine and full ashtrays out of shot first!!! Hee hee! Super place I strongly recommend... Not cheap but not outrageous and well worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and great service - but disappointing food”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Although a bit out of the way, this osteria is in a beautiful location that is a delight to eat in. Stefano and his staff were very friendly and willing to recommend dishes... but unfortunately we felt our food fell short of the expectations we had built up after looking at the reviews on TA. Our main courses were greasy and bland, and our deserts were not as good as others we had in the region. Overall, a bit disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank padegrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food in Idyllic Setting”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

What could be better than eating amazing food on a beautiful outdoor terrace in a charming village in Puglia called Martina Franca? Having Chef Stefano to welcome you and keep you laughing while he brings you his incredible creations.
This is a MUST if you go to the Puglia region!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria del Coco Pazzo da Stefano also viewed

Martina Franca, Province of Taranto
Martina Franca, Province of Taranto
 
Martina Franca, Province of Taranto
Martina Franca, Province of Taranto
 

Been to Osteria del Coco Pazzo da Stefano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing