We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Masseria Chiancone Torricella
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Martina Franca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A treat indeed”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a lovely experience this was! Set in quiet countryside about 7m from Martina Franca this is an idyllic spot in which to relax, and much better than any descriptions or photos. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food good and the rooms very clean, large and with a door opening onto a terrace (shared) complete with deck chairs for personal chilling-out time.

The pool area is a delight with a bar and light snacks available, and a gravel path surrounds the whole complex passing on the way an aviary and a home to several donkeys, deer and 2 pigs. There is a second larger aviary near the car park which is home to hens and cockerels, guinea fowl and quail plus turkeys. There have been some comments about the donkeys! Take no notice! You MIGHT hear one fairly early in the morning along with the cockerels, but unless you are in a room right on top of them this shouldn't be a problem. This is the country after all.


we stayed here for 4 nights and found the food delicious. The breakfast buffet is really very good.
As part of a group we were able to go out on a couple of tours from the hotel. Otherwise you will need to plan some trips;just staying by the pool all day, reading etc would not be enough for us, although plenty might like to do just this, depending on existing stress levels. However, a trip to Martina Franca is a must; small but beautifully formed. Go!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinonorwich2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    112
    43
    17
    4
See reviews for
103
131
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel was amazing, the pool was fantastic, the personal kind, lovely, helpful, quality of the service perfect, average the best. 100% recommended, room was big so the terrace. Food at the restaurant and buffet breakfast brilliant. 11/10. Superb!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatryGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

I have just spent a week in this hotel about 15 minutes outside Martina Franca. If you're looking for a tranquil base for exploring south Puglia in mid summer this could well be a good spot - as long as you have a car and sat nav! The rooms were spacious and immaculate. There is a wonderful pool area with plenty of sun loungers and a shady area where you can escape from the sun. There is also a bar where drinks can be bought all day. I thought the breakfast choice was very extensive and enjoyed two wonderful meals in the restaurant. All the staff were very helpful in every way. If you want to enjoy a night out in Marina Franca a taxi will cost €30 (return) before midnight. I would definitely recommend this to both couples and families.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenes78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed 1 night at this fantastic Hotel Masseria Chiancone Torricella. Very friendly check-in, we were granted with one of the best rooms. Lovely room, shower, outside garden, frienly staff, food was good, breakfast standard Italian. We would recommend this hotel with its lovely setting in one of the most beautiful areas of Puglia to friend and others. Shame we did not have time to use the poool, that looked grand
Ingrid & Kevin

Room Tip: Ask for the the rooms with a coned roof, they have 2 of them, lovely, spacious & uniq
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingridwesterholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Solo staying with group travel. Set in olive groves with farmland around (beware braying donkeys at 6.00 am), sparkling white building with trulli house type ceilings to some parts of the main building. Bar and relaxation areas lovely and very smart. Outdoor pool and a plethora of sundecks. But without the sun it all looked a little stark and cold. Food was not as good as some other hotels we had stayed in although I would think this was catering for too many and the food would have been better if you were just a couple. However, rooms were very new and the walls a bit thin - I am afraid I could hear every toilet flush and cough. Very well located for travelling out (by car) to central Puglia and its historical sites. Would recommend for a stop over. Will probably be extremely busy in high summer with large tour parties. Pretty and staff were pleasant enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inkworm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I was with the same tour group in mid April and I agree with all this reviewer's remarks dated 29th April 2013. . I was not impressed with the hotel. In addition, our room was near to a field of donkeys and they woke me up in the middle of the night twice, with their braying. All I can say is the room had lots of wardrobe space and was clean. But, as the reviewer said, the food and the service sadly left a lot to be desired.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed at Masseria Chiancone Torricella for four nights mid-April as part of an organised tour. The masseria seemed unprepared for our arrival possibly because we were the first visitors of the season. The bedrooms were cold because everything was marble and there are no mats on the floors. The heating had to be on at all times. This is a hotel for hot summers not early spring with cold nights. The food was poor. At breakfast on the second morning tea-bags had run out, yet on our final morning they still had not been replenished. The bread was awful and hot drinks were dispensed from a machine. On the final morning there was no prepared fresh fruit as had been the case, just stewed prunes and a bowl of apples oranges and kiwis. Staff were barely visible. As to the evening meals the less said the better. There was no problem with the ingredients, it was just that the chef murdered them! Masseria Chiancone Torricella is not somewhere I would recommend to friends or family. There seemed a general disinterest in the guests, and their comfort.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelvoiceuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martina Franca
4.3 mi away
Park Hotel San Michele
Park Hotel San Michele
#2 of 9 in Martina Franca
297 reviews
4.0 mi away
Relais Villa San Martino
Relais Villa San Martino
#4 of 9 in Martina Franca
339 reviews
3.4 mi away
Relais Casabella
Relais Casabella
#5 of 9 in Martina Franca
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Agriturismo Masseria Madonna Dell'Arco
11.6 mi away
Relais Histo'
Relais Histo'
#2 of 14 in Taranto
908 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Giardino degli Aranci
Hotel Giardino degli Aranci
#8 of 9 in Martina Franca
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Chiancone Torricella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Chiancone Torricella

Property: Masseria Chiancone Torricella
Address: Strada Trasconi Chiancone | Contrada Cristo Redentore, 74015 Martina Franca, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Martina Franca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Martina Franca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria Chiancone Torricella 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Masseria Chiancone Torricella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Chiancone Torricella Martina Franca, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing