We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house and friendly staff - perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of MASSERIA FRAGNETO

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Martina Franca, Province of Taranto, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Matt P
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic house and friendly staff - perfect holiday”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the house for a holiday with friends - 12 of us in total - and had an absolutely fantastic stay. The photos and descriptions online are very accurate and the house has lots of character and is very spacious with plenty of different spaces for a big group to relax without feeling cramped at all. The rooms are well furnished and everything was kept to a high standard. The pool is a great space to swim, relax and enjoy the Puglian sunshine - we spent a lot of time there! The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need to cook up big meals for lots of people. We would definitely recommend getting the chef one evening who cooked us a delicious feast. Ilaria, Paolo, Gaga and all the staff at the house were friendly and helpful if there was anything we needed. Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this house.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monroer20...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Masseria Fragneto, a remarkable house indeed!”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a really fabulous holiday at Masseria Fragneto – absolutely what we had hoped for. A wonderful house, grand pool and great tennis court all set the in heart of Puglia. I highly recommend staying here.
There were lots of positives
The pool was probably the best loved feature – it was well maintained, warm and BIG! The children happily entertained themselves for hours; splashing around enjoying an increasing number of bazaar pool games! The tennis court was also used daily; it was in a remarkably good condition and played very well.
The house was grand (as we had anticipated from the accurate photographs on the website) and felt almost too good to be rented out – the main reception rooms were beautiful and spacious, the kitchen was very well equipped with all the utensils necessary to create some wonderful feasts. The house was regularly cleaned and the caretaker (Palou) was friendly and helpful; always keen to help (and removed our rubbish daily which was great! and was always on hand should he be needed.
The local towns (especially Martina Franca and Ostuni) were stunning and we had great fun exploring the narrow streets and open piazzas and found some excellent restaurants, the local food is wonderful and remarkable well priced as too is the wine, accommodating our party of 8 never caused a problem.

And a few negatives
The heat – we were there in the height of summer and the top floor of the house did get very hot. Only one room had a fan, it would be good if all the rooms had fans.
The water started off fine but toward the end of the stay the sulphur smell had returned – I’m not sure what causes this but perhaps additional chlorination may help
The pool furniture could do with improving – the pool is very grand and it was a shame that the white plastic had replaced the wicker furnishings pictured on the website
Local information would have been helpful (market days, local supermarkets, best beaches etc)
That said, we did have a great stay and hopefully will be returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool was fantasic
Liked least: the water in the bathrooms had a sulphuric smell
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
994Carrie
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Could be perfect”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Positives
It's a beautiful property and very spacious, it's comfortable and has all the necessary equipment. The location is lovely in the middle of nowhere but close enough to all the local places of interest. The pool itself is lovely and very large, my children thoroughly enjoyed it. The caretaker was on hand if needed which was comforting. A gift of wine was sent to us via the cleaner which was nice and it was also very good that the cost included a cleaner twice. Plenty of towels to use meaning they were always fresh.
Negatives
The water gives an awful odour when showering or just using the taps, I must admit we all showered only when necessary because of this, it may be because it's an old property. The pool area however lovely is in need of comfortable seating/beds as we spent majority of our holiday here. White plastic isn't in keeping with a property of this magnitude and was very uncomfortable. We asked the way to the nearest shops and no one could tell us, it would have helped hugely to have a name and directions to the most local supermarket rather than us having to drive round in circles after a long day travelling! Finally and this is just me having children, it would have been nice to find the basics such as bread and milk with the shops being a distance away it would have been nice not to rush out.

After all said above we did have a perfect holiday. This property could be perfect it's stunning in parts and would really suit a large group.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prevenzio...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ila M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matteo b
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cburroni
siena
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing