We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cala della Torre
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Siniscola
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel itself is within walking distance of la caletta town with its handful of shops, restaurants and shops etc. This is a great location to explore from if you hire a car. Good sized free car park. There are some really amazing places nearby- I'd advice to buy a map before and do your homework to make the most from your holiday. To the south Cala Gonome (45 mins by car) where you can book boat trips along the coast to the most beautiful beaches. As you leave Calle Gonome by the north route by a steep road you will find Grotte di Ispinigol near which is well worth a visit. There are many other remote beaches in the same southerly direction, one of my favourites is Berchida which is 15 mins drive south of the hotel - you do have to drive a km down a dirt track which we found okay going and we had a standard car. When you get there it is just lovely. You can walk for miles on beautiful white beaches that are almost people free for hours if you wish! Short drive and you will be in the mountains to the west. To the north there is plenty more places to explore. Posada is a sweet little - go to the old part on the hill and meander through the narrow cobbled streets and visit the castle at the top for amazing views.
The hotel says 4 star - I would say that it was nearer a three perhaps. The rooms are pretty much standard. They are very clean and cleaned daily if you wish. Beds are a little hard but okay. Nice sized balcony or terrace. Lovely shower. Free air conditioning which was okay but not the best for keeping the temperature down. You will need to take a your own kettle.
We were full board so all meals included and drinks with meals. These are always buffet style. There was always plenty of choice. breakfast cereals, egg, bacon, toast, cheeses, ham, fruit, croissants, fruit yogurt etc. W never had lunch at the hotel so cannot comment. We had a packed lunch each day which you collected at breakfast time, which had to be ordered the evening before. Overall a pleasant stay - no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flower1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    288
    112
    71
    43
See reviews for
371
170
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Good Points
Nice rooms and immaculately cleaned everyday. Entertainment staff were fantastic, our 4year old loved the kids club both on the beach on the morning and in the cabin next to the pools on the afternoon, there was also a kids disco for half an hour on an evening + show on an evening. There were always sun loungers available around the pools and hardly any used on the private beach. I got to play voleyball and my wife got to do morning stretches on the beach while the kids played in the sand in front of us or with the entertainers. Without doubt our favourite part was the hotels free little train that ran every 15mins at peak times from the hotel to the beach my wife went on 6x one morning lol.The food improved dramatically when the French arrived on the 1st June. All the staff, waitors/entertainers/cleaners etc always went out of their way to say hello and talk to the children. Fantastic Airport transfer in an air conditioned minibus that only served the hotel(approx 45mins). No wasps/flies outside or when eating
Bad points
Food wasn't that good when we first arrived, you were lucky to get a snack between meals usually nothing more than a ritz size cracker. Once the French arrived entertainment was in Italian and French.
Other
Facilities were limited, there was a volleyball court which was used once in the week, no tennis courts etc but there was a more secluded area to sunbath with whicker loungers close to the pools. There was a lovely Italian ice cream parlour about 50m away if you turn left out of the complex. Trips were organised but they often didn't take place due to demand(min of 6 needed)

Room Tip: We were on the second floor(top floor) of the main hotel which was quiet even with the doors open. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redhouse059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We bought this holiday from Citrus Travel (through Travelzoo). Hadn't heard of this company but would definitely use them again.

We were happy with all aspects of this hotel and have no complaints at all: yes, the restaurant was a bit frantic at times but the food was good, plentiful and freshly served. We had a large, spacious ground floor room which was comfortable and spotlessly clean.

The young, enthusiastic animation team were superb. Husband joined in with lots of activities, I did none of them - but was never pestered. The activities took place on the beach in the morning and around the pool after lunch. This meant that there was always one 'quiet' area. Although we had no children with us I was very impressed by what I saw of the children's club and all their activities.

I find it difficult to sympathise with reviewers who found this resort too busy/ too quiet ........This holiday was offered at a very competitive price - if you want Club Med you have to pay for it !!

Room Tip: Very happy with our room. Didn't see any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uktravellerspo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel and staff excellent. Francesco on reception was very informative and helpful nothing too much trouble. We found all the staff polite and friendly. Everywhere was spotless. The pool was brillant. The train such a good idea as just having a back operation it made such a difference for me.The resturant was very noisy and the food was ok but if you were there for 14 days you would have to eat out also there was no childrens menu.If anyone thinks of staying there ask for a 3 bedded room that way you will get a bathroom with a shower door and not just a curtain. The water does come over and its like being in Greece in the 70's. The entertainment was awful and the childrens club staff didnt speak English so that was a restriction it didnt matter about the entertainment as there was 8 of us and we made our own.

Room Tip: Always go for a 3 bedded room they are so much bigger. In the doubles there is limited storage so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank workdayblues58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel overall is excellent considering the amount charged. We probably wouldn't rate it 4 star, but a very good 3 star. Their best attribute is the pool - it is wonderful - a large pool with a great atmosphere and always enough loungers, with a very nice poolside bar. Usually chilled music is played quietly and there is a nice buzz around the place. The majority of guests are in their 60's or 70's and a nice mix of all nationalities. We are a couple in our 40's and we would have preferred a slightly younger crowd, but it was certainly preferable to being with a very young rowdy clientelle. Children seem to be well catered for with facilities and activities.

The food was excellent and we couldn't fault it - local cuisine with a great choice, different every day. The restaurant staff are all lovely - very polite and efficient, service is excellent.

Our room was a good size and kept spotlessly clean. We asked for a ground floor room and were given a room overlooking the pool, which was a real result as we saw some guests complaining about the aspects of the room, so a top tip is to ask for a room overlooking the pool. Rooms are a very good size and ours had lovely patio doors with a good sized terrace. Our only minor complaint about the room is lack of storage space - there were no drawers at all, but this didn't bother us, only a minor gripe. Also, we could have done with two pillows each, but again, this is really a minor point.

When you arrive you are asked if you would like to upgrade to all inclusive for 56 euros to include alcohol. Unless you intend to drink a lot, we would recommend you don't do this. The wine is not very good, the local beer is okay and the only other choices are limoncello and a local liquer carlled Merto, neither of which are very nice. You would do better buying your own alcohol from a local supermarket. The only other negative is that wi-fi is not available, however there is a PC in reception that you can use, which is usually available. They could also do with a larger outside terrace area for drinks and it would be good if the pool bar stayed open in the evenings.

The hotel has an animation team - I have noticed that some guests have complained about these, but to be honest they really made our week. They are really great fun and work so hard and once we joined in, we really wished that we had joined in with the events that they laid on earlier (beach volley ball, hockey tournaments, dancing, silly games, a fun show in the evening, which they get guests to participate in).

Now regarding the area - La Caletta, on the outskirts of Siniscola. This is definitely not the best area of Sardinia. There is really nothing to do there and it doesn't really cater for tourists. It does seem that they are trying to improve the area, but really it is a bit grotty, hopefully it will get better in time. There is a sandy beach, but again it really could do with some prettifying. Having said that, for the money this is a good base and the hotel does organise some great trips. We hired a car and some of the beaches not too far away are specacular. The island is huge however, so it is worth really doing some research before you go to work out exactly the area you want to go to (there are 3 airports on the island). From La Caletta there isn't that much to visit, but it is a great base to visit the spectacular beaches and the scenery on the main road SS 125 again is spectacular. Warning - the roads are a nightmare to negotiate - they are terribly signed. If you are driving, take a satnav with you and buy a very good road map in advance - stick to the main roads wherever possible - the SS 131 and 125 or you WILL get lost!

In summary a great value budget hotel that is well worth a visit, but not the prettiest town on the island and not much to do in the evenings, but a good base if you are driving and not going for th nightlife.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Like many people who stopped in May, this was a travelzoo special all inclusive deal so it was around the £400 mark. The Hotel overlooks the pool, with the dining area and small bar adjacent.

Everything was clean and the staff were friendly, the rooms were comfortable. The location is around 500m from the sea and road train transport ferries guests backwards and forwards on a regular basis, though its a short walk to the beach otherwise, take a towel if you are going to sunbathe on the first bit of beach you get to, the Hotel area is another 750m further down the beach but has recliners and umbrellas.

The food was mostly Italian fare, so don't expect burger and chips, but there was a always a good choice and with free water/wine/beer I always ate well, though the amount of oil on the cooked dishes was a bit much to eat every day though there were always perfectly acceptable alternatives.

Minor gripes would be very small shower area, intermittent hot water, and half day tour consisting of being dropped off and then picked up some hours later, no wireless (though 1 PC in reception), no English speaking channels on TV, and an entertainment team wanting to encourage people to do silly things when they just want to read a book in the sun, but these are all small issues in the face of what is really a place worth visiting and exploring. Wander up the beach a mile or so and you'll see what I mean.

I liked that there was a social area, full of sofas and comfy chairs and a large TV just off from the bar, I liked that soft drinks and wine were free, I hardly took any euros and brought most back, I enjoyed the food and I liked the friendly feel of the place, I went solo and made a few friends whilst there, I liked the fact that there are only local shops and business it made it feel you really were in an unspoiled location. Also the road network is good so car hire should be an easy day out. Also this hotel seemed to put all the solo people together which was a really good idea. Another useful tip if you don't want to be entertained is that there is a more secluded sunbathing area with very comfortable seats down to the left of the stage.

The staff were friendly and helpful, but as others have said, communication was tricky sometimes, but thats really due to us lazy Brits expecting everyone to speak English.

Although the weather was good, it wasn't enough to make the sea warm enough for swimming, but would I go back when it is? Yes, Sardinia is a beautiful place and this is a good base to start to discover it.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have less noise from pool, also balcony area varies in size, no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael_Chester45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

From seeing pictures of this hotel online and reading mixed reviews i didnt no what to expect, However when arriving it was so much better than we expected. We were greeted by friendly reception staff and our room was big with good size washroom and a big balcony. I reckon we were put in one of the best rooms in the hotel which was room 344 (Request if you want a big room) Our room overlooked the pool with stunning views and we didnt get disturbed by the entertainment. The entertainment goes onto 11PM latest most nights. Who goes to bed before that sort of time on holiday anyway? Our room was cleaned every day and was immaculate as well as the rest of the hotel which was well maintained and modern. The hotel is a lovely building no sky scraper or tackyness to it. Food was faultless and the restaurant staff were on the ball and were very efficient with clearing plates. The surrounding area was nice with some nice little shops in La Caletta. We visited Posada and took a taxi from the hotel cost us 10 euro each return. Posada has a lovely castle which we went in for 3 euros each and a few shops and cafes. We also went on an excursion to San Teodoro which was so beautiful, with clear water and soft white sand and breath taking views. Defiantly recommend! The pool and beach was clean and tidy and was really relaxing. The entertainment was brilliant! They catered for all ages activities ranging from Bingo, Mini dance, beach volley and Mini games. All the animation were so friendly and made an effort to talk to us and even ate with us one night which was nice. I noticed the tend to make an effort to talk to those who have traveled alone which is lovely and are great with children. All staff are brilliant making an effort to talk english even if its basic. This holiday was a great deal and travel zoo seem to do the best deal with £300 for a week which is brill. Defiantly recommend this place it was such a brilliant holiday and we really enjoyed every minute!

Room Tip: Choice room 344 for a big room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siniscola
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aragosta
Hotel L'Aragosta
#1 of 4 in La Caletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
11.9 mi away
Bungalow Club Village
Bungalow Club Village
#3 of 27 in San Teodoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
11.6 mi away
Club Hotel Torre Moresca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Cala Gonone Beach Village
Cala Gonone Beach Village
#5 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
47.7 mi away
Hotel Club Saraceno
Hotel Club Saraceno
#2 of 12 in Arbatax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
37.0 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala della Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala della Torre

Property: Hotel Cala della Torre
Address: Via Cagliari nr. 48 | La Caletta, 08029, Siniscola, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Siniscola
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Siniscola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala della Torre 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cala della Torre – Siniscola, Italy Cala della Torre village club, whose name comes from the close Sardinian tourist site, is located on the middle-eastern coast of Sardinia, surrounded by a pine forest with immense white beaches with pink nuances. The resort, totally renewed and equipped with all services, is placed in an amazing private park, just in front of the tourist little harbour, at 350 mt. from the beach “La Caletta”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cala della Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Della Torre Siniscola
Cala Della Torre Hotel
Hotel Cala Della Torre Sardinia/Siniscola, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing