We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step in the ancient Sicily”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

An original sicilian "Baglio" (and old farm house) restored and put in use as a pleasant Hotel. Rooms are large and quite and from some of them you can a have a direct look on the Hera temple. Just outside the Baglio is still preserved a section of the old railways that once connected to the Selinunte site and Marinella.
The management of the restaurant just changed, fish is recommended (very good and fresh, they serve what is daily fished in Marinella), prices are good for the offer. If you plan to visit Selinunte I would recommend to stop here.

Room Tip: Ask for the one on the Temple side thy are quite, with good view and the sunrise does not bother you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014 and thought the accommodations were wonderful! The place is in a country setting , but only a few minutes drive to the archeological site and restaurants. Maximiliano, who handles the front desk was extremely helpful, going out of his way to download Italy maps to our GPS, which I had been unable to do. His lovely girlfriend Sandra was also helpful. She would like to improve her spoken english, so visit with her if you can.
The breakfast was pretty good but the one dinner we had wasn't the greatest. I'd suggest dining out. I highly recommend this place, and a visit to Selinunte. Take a drive to the quarry where the rock for the Greek temple came from.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the second floor and quiet. There is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom and Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Disappointing.
Court yard rooms with a 'patio' are completely public. "French balconies" are just a tall window. Aircon failed, opening doors cooled the room but then the chorus of local dogs didn't help. Food was poor, a 'Mediterranean soup' was just boiled spinach, no flavour and stringy. Atempts to make proper coffee resulted in a boiled-over mess and giggles. Despite the modem being in the same room, could not log on to internet (I hope fixed by now), worked in reception.

Frankly avoid if you can.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This converted farm building offers great accommodation in large rooms around a courtyard. We were met by a very friendly young man who showed us to our enormous room. It was decorated with antique style furniture and had a superb bathroom. The only thing missing was a fridge for drinks and safe, which I have become used to. The restaurant was in a large converted barn and looked as if it would hold a great wedding reception. The breakfast tables were in one corner, and the food served in the old kitchen. The food was amazing. Lovely croissants, with various fillings, excellent coffee, homemade preserves, meats and cheeses. Yummy food.

We did not have a window at eye level in our room, so get some view we went to sit in the courtyard. Only one small table and chairs were there. I think they are missing a trick or two by not have a bar area outside the restaurant. I got the impression the place is struggling, but I got that impression all over The island in these economic times. Good luck to this venture, it deserves to thrive. I recommend to all.

Room Tip: Ask for one with outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dazeaway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We arrived and were immediately helped by the friendly staff. We had a very large room and bath decorated in a rustic style in keeping with the former farm house hitory of the building. The view of the olive groves was wonderful.
Quiet and understated throughout.
After a very windy tour of the ruins, we had a delicious meal in the beautiful dining area. Breakfast was ample. Both meals featured local products.
A seemingly simple, but very polished place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhc204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We spent two nights at Il Cuore and enjoyed it very much. We were there out of season so it was very quiet and we even had our choice of rooms. Our room was large and comfortable, with a fine view. We were invited to go into the fields to have a close look at the olive harvest, which was just taking place when we were there. We had a good dinner the first evening in the huge and sombre dining hall. Breakfast was also there, but was mediocre by Italian standards. The staff we met were very hospitable and friendly. It's a short drive from there to the sights in Selinunte.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaNosseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with 14 rooms set in a refurbished/redecorated old farm house. Rooms are quite big and the furniture rustic style. It is far from city noise thus offering a quite and relaxing stay. Received very good information, help and directions from the employee of the hotel. We booked the room few weeks ago, it seems they offer a 20% lower rate if booked within 48 hours of arrival instead of much earlier in advance. A point to take note of outside the high touristic season of July and August.
The offered breakfast is of good assortment with more local specialties.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Minah_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marinella di Selinunte hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eracle
Hotel Eracle
#10 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Selinunte
Grand Hotel Selinunte
#4 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Admeto
Hotel Admeto
#6 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#7 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Esse Selinunte Beach
Club Esse Selinunte Beach
#2 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
559 reviews
2.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#9 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca

Address: Strada Statale 115/552./80, 91022 Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano > Marinella di Selinunte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marinella di Selinunte
#4 Family Hotel in Marinella di Selinunte
Price Range: £99 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the intense silence of the hills and olive trees, in a classic harmony of architectonic structures, relive the suggestions of Sicilian history and culture, the antique glamour of Dionysus myth and his heart, which were dear to the selinuntini. Archeo-farm: to those fond of archaeology will be offered the opportunity to attend mastering courses, valid for university credits. Cookery lessons: in the antique kitchen will be put into practice specific courses which will let you acquaint all the secrets of the Sicilian culinary art. Break Activity: you can go for long walks in the country by bike, attend yoga courses and other relaxing techniques. Tasting and selling typical products: you can savour il pane nero (black bread) of Castelvetrano, with olives and the oil of Nocellara del Belice, the 'Vastedda' (cheese) and other typical products of the Sicilian kitchen. Dining: In a sober and essential Sicilian Surrounding settled up by wide and elegant saloons defined by arches made of brick, here you find the restaurant, serviced to the guests of the Hotel and open to the organization for ceremonies and parties. Our gastronomic proposal, together with a full basket of wines which privileges the best in Sicily, are supported by one of the most famous selection in Italy, it has a range of typical, various and innovative Sicilian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Cuore Di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca Sicily/Marinella Di Selinunte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing