We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Selinunte
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Beach Resort(Marinella di Selinunte)
US$106
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Costanza Beach Club(Marinella di Selinunte)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valle Selas(Marinella di Selinunte)
Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca(Marinella di Selinunte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Esse Selinunte Beach(Marinella di Selinunte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Sicilia Baglio(Marinella di Selinunte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riviera(Marinella di Selinunte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotel Eracle(Marinella di Selinunte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Miramare(Marinella di Selinunte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Alceste(Marinella di Selinunte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
156
143
83
32
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
143
83
32
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetreception staffown transportnice poolenglish
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We had no problem finding this hotel, as it was where the map said it was and signposting was good. The room with balcony was clean, with a balcony and a great view; staff was courteous and very very good with children, buffet dinners cheap and cheerful (stay away from the house red!). The barman is very good. This is not a four-star hotel but an excellent two-or-three star one, with corresponding prices. It's definitely latin-style and family-oriented, so maybe not what Anglo-Saxon retirees would want to choose for a comfy, peaceful gastronomic escape!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dieu_Vivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

i was a bit apprehensive after reading previous reviews about this hotel- but these were our experiences:
firstly the hotel is clean, spacious, modern and our room was newly decorated with new furniture- the pool we avoided because of the children and the loud music- but why would you stay at the pool when you have the best beach in sicily- free bus transfer with free sun beds and umbrellas- a rare thing! our room had lovely views over the olive grove- not overlooking the pool so was quiet. the barman is lovely and speaks good english. we never ate at the restaurant as the majority of the italian and french families staying there seem to be on a half board basis and it was a bit chaotic for our liking- in selinunte there are lots of good well priced restaurants- breakfast- go early for the best selection as we noticed many of the half boarders packing themselves lunch courtesy of the breakfast buffet- hence it disappeared quickly.
basically if you look at the multimap- it is incorrect and locates this hotel in a nearby town and it doesn't help that the road it is located on didn't exist on our sat nav- basically if you are travelling from trapani head towards selinunte the road splits- follow to selinunte you will go past a big petrol station on the right and the hotel is down a road between 2 big pillars just after it- not signposted- turn left between these pillars- don't worry if you miss the turning and end up in selinunte there are signs for the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank offthebeatentrack83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Arrived at this hotel quite late at night, it was difficult to find as the sign posting was poor. The room was large and clean with a good balcony overlooking a pleasant pool area. The DJ and pool staff played their choice of music which was irritating. Breakfast was acceptable. Service okay with the exception of the English speaking barman who was excellent.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SUNLOUNGER123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

If you are looking for a hotel that is more than just a place to sleep in between seeing Greek ruins and tasting wine, I would recommend this hotel.
Located on a slight hill, the views from the rooms overlook rolling hills of olive trees, vineyards and the sea. The hotel is contemporary in design and has pretty grounds.
The highlight would be the pool, which sits over looking the valley and has a wide patio around it with plenty of lounge chairs and there are 4 covered areas to sit under to stay out of the very hot sun, though in peak season, it might prove too few.
The rooms are all basic but perfectly comfortable with neutral toned furniture and adequate sized bathrooms. Each room has a balcony with white plastic chairs and a table.
The service was 4 star, which is something that is hard to come by in Italy, esp. in Sicily. We asked for the net to be put up for the tennis court and for another covered area to be arranged next to the pool.....and when we came back from lunch in town, both were done.
Other positives, huge and varied buffet breakfast (incl. in price) and open until 9:30, 5 min drive to the Selinunte archaeological park, friendly helpful staff (esp. the barman) and an empty mini fridge to be filled with water etc from the close by minimarket.
Few things to note; if you want peace and quiet, stay mid week. On Saturday, the pool area was over run by children.....but on the positive side, it is a very kid friendly hotel. Peak season (july/august) I hear the place is a zoo, which is a pity given what a beautiful tranquil setting the hotel has, which I think is its main strength. The town itself is tiny but has a sweet harbour and a few restaurants, but don't expect to spend more than 10min seeing what is there.
Ask the barman (who speaks english) for recommendations on where to eat, as he recommended the ones we had gone to, which were a feast of fish and pasta and off the tourist path.
My main criticism is that the pictures in the brochure of the tennis court and gym are not what is on the facility. The gym is a joke, running machine circa 1980 with the tread missing in parts and the tennis court has football goals on it making it useless for tennis, but i am sure the kids like using it for football.
As for price, they charge per person, which is great if you are a single there. €45 per person in May is what we paid and if you can get room 124, got for it, as from our balcony we had both a front view over looking the pool and a side view overlooking the peaceful valley.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hudson67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Reading previous reviews we were somewhat sceptical - and I suppose it really depends when and why you go. We arrived end Sept fairly late at around 2100hrs from Palermo by coach with a group so no problem finding the place. Pre dinner drinks at bar with Salvatore - the friendly English speaking barman was perfect. Dinner was still being served and everything was ready for us. Yes - it was a buffet - but an extensive one with great anti-pasti. The hot dishes had sat there for a while so were not the greatest. We found breakfast perfectly acceptable. Regarding noise as reported by others - we found it really peaceful and quiet though it was late September so no-one was using the pool area at night. I could perhaps see if you overlooked the pool on a busy night it might be noisy. Regarding location - we were there to visit the temples and walked to them from the hotel though it was about 30 minute walk. Cleanliness of rooms etc was perfectly OK. The hotel is in a rural location away from the town and the beaches.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RangerRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews