We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - I suppose”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This is a difficult hotel to review, as the varied comments from others have shown, because it is truly 'hit and miss'. This hotel is on a street of restaurants and other smallish hotels immediately beside the sea. This was acceptable in early season, but might be far too hot and noisy for finicky English in August.
There is no reason for coming to this area except to see the wonderful Selinunte site and others within one to two hours by car. The hotel is placed well enough for that purpose without actually being so close to the site entrance as its website implies. The view is beautiful though. We parked without trouble in the street, but I believe they have a carpark.
Our room was acceptable, though the corridor outside had an appalling smell, possibly coming from an unoccupied building next door. (They may - or may not - have fixed this since we went.) Breakfasts had the usual range of stuff. THe advertised rooftop terrace was not open at that time in the season, probably because of indifferent weather, or just indifference. There is free access to a rather cheerful beach, with boardwalks and a terrace cafe.
We booked half-board and after three days were more than half bored with 'tourist menus numbers 1 2 3 and 4', all variations on the same simple themes. The hotel would not release us to eat elsewhere, but did bring in menus 5 6 and - I think - 7, all being variations on the variations. Some of the dishes were tasty: none were outstanding,.
The hotel had some young Turkish staff who were being trained in Sicily. They were keen and efficient, which could not be said of everyone else. The Garzia badly needs an energetic proprietor or manager who is serious about the hotelier's art and wants to make the hotel special. Unfortunately, The Special One isn't there yet. Recommended? Yes, just about, because it is well located and not downright bad. Damned with faint praise? Not intentionally.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarquinJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2010

This is a largely uninspiring corner apart from the great Greaco-Roman ruins. The hotel is welcoming - reception staff were very helpful in the week previous to our stay. Contrary to other reviews we thought the breakfast was great. Our room was average: basic but roomy with temperamental air/con. High quality cleaning etc.
Well situated for restaurants! Across the raod is Sul Mare (?) - big terrace looking over the sea. Don't miss Baffo's

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWJKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Could not have asked for a nicer hotel. Own Balcony over looking the sea. Staff were superb. even re-charged my MP3 player as the wall charger had packed in. Had probably the best meal of trip in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likesalaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Situated right on the beach and a short walk to the archaeological site. However, totally without charm. Barely adequate breakfast, drab rooms and, on my visit, a distinct lack of hot water. Despite its location gives out an aura of bleakness.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougF45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2007

was here on our honeymoon 10 yrs.ago.returned just as lovely and wonderful .Catena,manager was just the best.across from the beach and 10 mins.from selinute acheo.site just great.good restaurant and others within walkling distance.will return again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank petralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alberto s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annamaria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marinella di Selinunte hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eracle
Hotel Eracle
#10 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Admeto
Hotel Admeto
#6 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
528 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Selinunte
Grand Hotel Selinunte
#4 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
431 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#9 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alceste
Hotel Alceste
#12 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Pigafetta 2, 91022 Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano > Marinella di Selinunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Marinella di Selinunte
Price Range: £54 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT US Structure operating in the tourism sector since 1980, offers a range of services by ensuring a good standard of quality in the name of two principles which have inspired its activities: ATTENTION AND CARE FOR THE CUSTOMERS THE EXPLOITATION OF THE LANDDESCRIPTION L 'Hotel Riviera ***, located in Castelvetrano-Selinunte (TP) enjoys a privileged position. In the heart of the village, 5 meters from the sea and 150 meters from the wonderful Selinunte Archaeological Park, one of the largest in Europe, the hotel is an oasis of peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Sicily/Marinella Di Selinunte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing