We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with charming hospitality”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A hotel with charming hospitality”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a small, friendly, family run hotel. Rooms are quite simple and we had our own balcony with fabulous sea views - spectacular at sun-set. The hotel is beautifully placed with bars and restaurants close by. Our hosts gave us a fabulous breakfast, with a Sicilian omelette, breads, fruit, pastries, ham, cheese, fruit juice…. so very generous and for such a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with its own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    52
    36
    20
    12
See reviews for
40
98
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Clean, comfortable simple hotel in a great location for enjoying the beach and archaeological wonders of Selinunte. Very helpful staff. Great breakfast. Reasonable price. Close to good restaurants. Noise from nearby establishments a bit of a problem late at night.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with "vista mare" (a sea view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very charming old hotel with a nice staff. The rooms are very basic but the location and beach area makes up for that. We had a family room with bunkbeds and no balcony, and that seemed a little bit overpriced. But all in all we had a good stay but I will recommend a room with balcony and sea view.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at Hotel Miramare for ten days in July 2013 and had a great holiday.
We had a family room facing the courtyard of the hotel. The family room was actually two bedrooms and a bathroom. The rooms were clean and simple with air condition. It would have been nice with the sea view, but since the weather was very hot, we didn't really miss it that much. No tv. We didn't miss that either, and we used the wi fi in the lobby to check out the news.
The staff was very helpfull and nice and there was generally a relaxed and easy going atmosphere. Not many foreign guests and not that many people spoke English in Marinella.
We payed 7€ per person for breakfast every morning and we thought it was a fair price for a plentyfull and delicious breakfast: bread, cheese, ham, fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants, eggs etc. and great coffee.
Across the small street there was a private sandy beach just for the hotel guests with life guards. There is a great view of the acropolis from the beach and the hotel provide sun beds and umbrellas. There is also a Miramare Restaurant on the beach where we ended up eating almost every day. Great pizza and Spaghetti Scoglio! And very reasonably priced.
We would very much like to return to Hotel Miramare.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LineWillacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The good:
* The location is excellent, just across the road from the beach, and 5 minutes drive from the archaelogical park.
* Beautiful view from the room over the sea.
* Breakfast was reasonable. They provide you with a basket of fresh goods, including freshly baked bread, cheese, eggs are on offer.
* Free parking, though I just parked on the street and had no problems.

The bad:
* The rooms are very basic. I had to plug the fridge and television into electricity. The furnishings are dated.
* Wifi is only available in reception.

Conclusion:
I would possibly stay here again, simply because the location is unbeatable. If you want to be walking distance from the beach then it's a no-brainer. However, for the same price as this hotel I stayed in much nicer hotels in Sicily. I think they could probably afford to upgrade the rooms, though if you're not going to spend much time in the room I suppose it's not a major problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

The best feature of this hotel is that it is on the waterfront with a view of the beach (I'll post a photo). We had a front room and turned off the air conditioning at night and opened the door to the balcony. It was quiet enough in early July and we could hear the waves. It went a bit downhill from there. The hotel furnishings are basic and dated. Our room had an old bar fridge which was unplugged and unstocked. There was an old cathode ray television with a set-top box (also unplugged) which had no reception. There is no lift, so be prepared to carry your bags up. There was wifi in the lobby but nowhere else. Breakfast was fine but there was no buffet and no cereal. The gentlemen who
worked at the hotel were a bit surly and unwelcoming but fortunately the lady was much friendlier. Check out was at 10.30am! For all the criticisms, this is probably the best hotel in the town. If you're here for the archaeological site you might consider driving in and out the same day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The hotel is well located on the seafront right next to the spectacular ancient city ruins of Selinunte (a short walking distance away). Our room had a sea view and a shared terrace. The room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed. The reception were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was the best we had had on our entire trip in Italy and definitely worth paying the extra 7 euros for. The hotel also owns the restaurant on the seafront opposite. The seafood was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marinella di Selinunte hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#7 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Selinunte
Grand Hotel Selinunte
#3 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Admeto
Hotel Admeto
#5 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#8 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eracle
Hotel Eracle
#10 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alceste
Hotel Alceste
#12 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Pigafetta 2, 91022 Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano > Marinella di Selinunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marinella di Selinunte
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Marinella di Selinunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramare 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miramare Sicily/Marinella Di Selinunte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing