We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Small Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Magnolie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Magnolie Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Lovely Small Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here four five nights and thought this was a great hotel to use as a base for south east Sicily.

The hotel is small, but the rooms are large, newly refurbished, with air con and a great bathroom. The whole hotel has a new feel, although located in an old building.

Breakfast is typical Italian, with pastries, great bread, cheese , ham etc. The hotel does not do lunch or dinner but there are so many good restaurants within walking distance that this does not matter.

One of the hotel's best features is a roof terrace with brilliant views over Modica. The hotel is happy to serve you with wine while you admire the view.

One word of warning: the hotel can only be reached by foot (like much of charming Modica) and it is located on a steep hill. It is therefore not suitable for someone who is disabled or who would have problems with a short (100 metre) but steep climb.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    37
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
63
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Le Magnolie was a spectacular find!!! We couldn't have asked for friendlier or more helpful staff...they were kind, patient and more than willing to help with any questions we had or travel logistics! Our room was large, quiet and beautifully decorated, comfortable and relaxing! The terrace was an added attraction, with an amazing view of the area that cannot be believed! Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with many local sweet and savory treats as well as wonderful, hot coffee! We would definitely recommend this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights. It is a lovely hotel with very friendly staff who were extremely helpful. The room "Gereba" was lovely, clean and very comfortable. The roof terrace was a delight with the views across the town towards the Cathedral and the incredible array of terracotta rooftops clinging to the side of the hill. There was a great selection for breakfast and coffee was lovely. We would strongly recommend this hotel and it was extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitriona D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at Le Magnolie 5 nights in June and could not have been more pleased. The rooms were large, beautifully furnished with a flower painted in the ceiling. Bathroom was excellent and well over normal Italian standards. Breakfasts in Italy are so-so for Scandinavians everywhere, but they had fresh fruit and a small selection of sweets. It is located right across the main street, and is the best starting point to explore Modica. Best of it all however was the rooftop terrace, with amazing view of the city. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed 5 days at the magnolia. Our room was very big and charming. The bathroom was also big and very luxurious for Italian standards. The hotel staff was very nice and always helpful. Further the hotel is perfectly located. Obviously the terrace is amazing

Note:you are not able to park directly at the hotel and you have to carry your luggage 15 m up a small and steep road

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebastianDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
631 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

My wife and I have travelled a lot throughout Italy and usually stay in places for 70 euros or less. Without question, Le Magnolie is the best value hotel/BandB we've ever stayed in. We had the room right off the reception area. It was so much better then what we usually get for 70 euros. Recently updated with a comfy bed and a great bathroom. The staff was excellent, especially Giulianna, who brought us wine, cheese and salami up to the rooftop terrace. From their terrace you can see the beautiful upper town of Modica. As an extra, they even gave us a little bottle of olive oil as a present. How cool is that?! They have a nice wine tasting bar where you can get a glass or a bottle. Share it with your love one on the rooftop terrace for a romantic evening.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

A small boutique-ish hotel with a different flower painted on the vaulted ceiling of each of its rooms (we stayed in La Gerbera, a kind of daisy?). From the rooftop of the hotel, we could look out at Chiesa di SanPietro, Chiesa di San Giorgio and above to Modica Alta.

The heating took quite a while to kick in but put out good heat once it got going. Heated towel rack is a nice touch. Bathroom fan was a bit loud and turns on with the light so you have to hear it whirring if you want to leave the light on overnight.

Nice breakfast spread which included cold meats and cheese.

Excellently located for exploring Modica, and not too bad if you're driving. Park on Umberto Corso I and pull your luggage up the steep alley (about 2-3 min.).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modica hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais Modica
Hotel Relais Modica
#12 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.2 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe d'Aragona
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Mohac
Hotel De Mohac
#8 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Magnolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Magnolie Hotel

Property: Le Magnolie Hotel
Address: Via Campailla 25, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Magnolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the first Boutique hotel in Modica, the capital of southeast Sicily. Le Magnolie is a small palazzo dating from the 1700s, set in the heart of the city’s historical centre. It has seven comfortable rooms, where guest can experience the true Sicily, our work commitment, a warm reception in the large communal areas of the hotel, our love for tasting the wine from our antique cellar, admiring wonderful “ halved pomegranates” on the roof-deck, from where there is a magnificent view of lower and upper Modica. The large elegant rooms are equipped with:: Telephone- hairdryer- mini bar- safety deposit box- satellite TV- Sky- Pay TV air conditioning system-heating- high speed ADSL internet connection (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Le Magnolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Magnolie Hotel Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing