We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Design hotel in a stunning location”
Review of Balarte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balarte Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Zurich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Design hotel in a stunning location”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

we stayed 4 nights at the balarte at the end of august and we loved it!
the hotel is outside modica, in a very quiet location surrounded by the fields (fyi: the gps might not be able to find it and you might have to use google maps). from there you can quickly reach the main road going to the main attractions of the area (Scicli, Noto, Ragusa Ibla, Donnafugata)
Cinzia and her lovely son Carol welcome you in this very new hotel, built in a jasmin and citronella garden. We had one of the corner rooms, which was very spacious 2 floors, with the bedroom upstairs a comfortable living room and a personal patio on the ground location.
Breakfast is served in a open-air area and features home-made brioches, amarena and pistacchio cream, jams and other delicacies prepared by Cinzia.
I would definetely go back, in particular now that they are building a pool!



Inviato da iPad

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vale_sartori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    31
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
137
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed over last weekend with my family and loved it. It is a typical charming rural hotel like a luxury agriturismo in a beautiful area at 5 km. from Modica (10 min. drive) all surrounded by lush gardens and beautiful olives trees typical of this wonderful area.The few rooms were clean, well appointed with all facilities and designed in contemporary art style by local artists which is part of the deal. We particularly liked the large size of the rooms, very unusual in Sicily and the beautifully luxury bathrooms with great toiletries .The hotel is run by this charming lady called Cintya who will welcome you with a smile and look after you during all your stay to assure you are good.We had a lovely breakfast facing the garden with local pastries, very good bread and the famous local ragusano cheese and mozzarella; we had also some home made orange jams and farm milk, delicious!!!! Considering what we paid for four persons (about 120,00 euros incl. breakfast) this place has a fantastic value. Free wifi in the lobby (when in the rooms?), free parking and nice surroundings made our two nights stay very enjoyable, a place we will certainly return to. Last but not least, the location is ideal to visit this beautiful part of Italy: Scicli, Modica, Pozzallo, Noto, all Unesco heritage towns and the beautiful seaside village of Sampieri at few km. away. Stay here, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: go on their website and choose your favourite no two rooms are alike
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aquilasicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Convenient upmarket small hotel ideal for visiting the Modica/Ragusa area. 15 minutes from Pozzallo ferry to Malta, terminal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred-E-Neuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Balarte is a marvellous retreat. Very contempoary, each room has been created by a different designer. You choose according to your taste. They would particularly appeal to fun loving and romantic couples. Chintsia the owner is lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts (taken outside) are marvellous. WiFi is free and an amazing 10Mbps.Balarte's location is in the country ( lovely and quiet) about 12 kms from Modica, which is definitely worth a visit and the food in the town's La Gazza Ladra restaurant certainly deserves its Michelin star.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mnpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schorndorf
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

It's not easy to find. You definitely need a car. There is no restaurant. You are 5 miles from anywhere. But we loved it. True peace and quiet, a warm welcome and caring service, totally unique, spotlessly clean suites and rooms - each designed by a different young Sicilian artist, check out the website and choose with care - we had the wonderful camera dei ospiti, with lemon trees, giant cactus, laurel hedge and roses right outside. All rooms access the spacious grounds. The breakfasts are remarkable, so much so that lunch generally proved unnecessary and the ever-helpful Cinzia booked us a table at local restaurants she recommended for dinner. The traditional Sicilian highlights of Palermo and Etna are not close by. But there is so much to see in this southern corner of the island that we didn't miss them. Balarte proved ideal for us.

Room Tip: The website photos give a pretty clear impression. Some rooms have spiral staircases to upstairs bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulandmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velenje, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We enjoy in paradise for 7 days and didn't miss a thing! Extraordinary hotel, unique and original rooms, art spirit everywhere, good location, great staff. Each morning we enjoy the breakfast, where we have filling the time has stopped. Just a few minutes drive away you can visit romantic towns like Modica, Scicli, Ispica ... and many more, Great choice! I hope we will return one day ...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DunjaGrega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
4.4 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
5.1 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#3 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
8.4 mi away
Masseria Della Volpe
5.3 mi away
Torre don Virgilio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balarte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balarte Hotel

Property: Balarte Hotel
Address: Contrada Scorrione S. Rosalia, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Modica
#1 Green Hotel in Modica
#1 Romantic Hotel in Modica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Modica
#6 Business Hotel in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balarte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Balarte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balarte Hotel Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing