We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good service, a bit 'trendy'.”
Review of Balarte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balarte Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was different both days but delicious, with many home made items. The rooms were good sized and the aircon coped. Parking is excellent. Wifi worked well. Only negative was the patio (and rooms, really) put style before function. Better a few comfy chairs and a garden table than the white cubes (upholstered) that were awkward and uncomfortable. That's the only small complaint really.

Convenient for the Cave d'Ispica.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed one night at the Balarte hotel for Mayday. The hotel is located some 10 km from Modica. We could not find it with car navigation system and we called the lady (the owner) who gave us directions. I would recommend you use Google map to find it. Don't worry, the location is ideal to explore the beautiful towns in the area (Scicli, Ragusa, Noto). We were sorry that we could not stay there few more days because we had to go to Catania. We both liked the hotel instantly, we loved its futuristic design which makes it so different from all those hotel chains you find in every town. All rooms feature different themes, we got the Carillon room. The room is really big, it's like a small suite and it is tastefully decorated with an eye for detail. It is absolutely beautiful from very angle, sunny, with large windows to the outdoor terrace. Bathroom is also nice. Above all, we enjoyed breakfast. Variety of cheese, jams, sweet pastries, vanilla cream, and something you definitely have to try- pistachio pancakes with hot chocolate. Breakfast is not only delicious but also beautifully served. The lady who owns the place is extremely kind, friendly, talkative and helpful in giving you advice where to go around the area. The price is really good for such an excellent hotel. Search no more because this is an ideal place which I would recommend to anyone interested in exploring southern Sicily. Great, great value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veccili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at the Belarte hotel 23/24 March 2014. The hotel is well signposted from the main Modica to Ispica S115. We were made very welcome by the owner and her staff and nothing was too much trouble. Room was clean, well decorated (if a little artistic for some) but all rooms are different. Bed very comfortable. Shower was fabulous (clarins shower gel & hair wash) as was the breakfast - ricotta & other cheese, salami, croissants, yogurt, various jams, crepes with chocolate (delicious), fresh fruit, bread, coffee & water. No evening meal but pizza takeaway (delicious) and other choices. Very helpful in choosing restaurant for birthday meal. Air conditioning & parking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. To be recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We received a last minute valuable price, and didn't expect that much. The decor of our room was soft flowers, very minimalist - but very pleasant. all the architecture and design of the hotel is unique, and we enjoyed it. breakfast was outstanding. excellent home made cheese, veriety of home made jams, special pancakes from unique ingredient, sausage, eggs, . excellent cakes and lemon suffle. it was very elegantly served, and delicious! the staff was very nice. we stayed there one night, most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomi106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We selected the hotel to enable us to explore the area (Noto / Modica / Ragusa / Ispica and even Agrigento). Room and bathroom were spotless. Easy to find the hotel although a car is definitely needed as you need to go out in evenings for food and drinks.

Given the rural location of the hotel some additional cooking facilities would be useful and plenty of space for this in the room.

Great breakfast served which sets you up for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gazza3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Room was very nice and decor was something different. Minimalist decor may not suit everyone.
The hotel can be very quiet, but it is also popular for families with young children, so it depends on other guests. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxPleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

A bit disappointing. We had a double room, with a small private terrace, which was nice, although they could've provide something for mosquitoes as we could not enjoy our terrace by nightfall. The room itself was very expressive, a bit too much. There were photos of body parts all over the place, including bathroom and shower and this I didn't like. As for the breakfast, for us again disappointing: the little sandwiches were not fresh, they were hard and the garnish wasn't fresh as well. You could see the decoloring of the cheese. Very nice location, and people were very sweet too, but too bad it did not fulfill our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PauBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
4.4 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
551 reviews
5.1 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
661 reviews
8.4 mi away
Masseria Della Volpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Relais Torre Marabino
5.3 mi away
Torre Dantona Country Hotel
10.2 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balarte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balarte Hotel

Address: Contrada Scorrione S. Rosalia, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Modica
#1 Green Hotel in Modica
#6 Business Hotel in Modica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Modica
Price Range: £80 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balarte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Balarte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balarte Hotel Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing