We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all good but not all bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Torre don Virgilio Resort
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not all good but not all bad.”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We came away having stayed 14 days at the Torre don Virgilio Resort slightly disappointed. It promised so much but it badly let itself down.

But let me tell you about the good points first. The hotel is set in the wonderful Sicilian countryside just a few kilometres outside Modica. Our room and the hotel as a whole were spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. The swimming pool had the softest water I have ever known. It made you just want to dive in and splash about. Mind you the blistering hot sun could have had something to do with it as well.

It’s a shame a 4 star hotel doesn’t have a proper lounge within the hotel for guests to sit comfortably and talk. In fact in the evening unless there were guests staying for dinner the courtyard and reception were closed and deserted by 9pm. With nothing else to do we often finished up having an early night.

A lot of reviewers have mentioned the level of food at breakfast. True they were no hot food and the choice of bread, jams and cakes were rather limited but we found the breakfast adequate. The stunning courtyard setting made up for lack of breakfast choice. Where we did have an issue was when had dinner at the hotel. The pasta my wife ordered as a first course was hard as rock. For an Italian chef not able to cook good pasta is a cardinal sin. If his mama reads this review she would beat him from one end of Sicily to the other and rightly so. The main course we ordered supposed to be spinach wrapped in chicken. What we got was a finely sliced piece of processed meat the type you can buy at Iceland or Asda for £1. It was completely inedible and we refused to eat at the hotel again. There were much better restaurants in nearby Modica.

As I said at the start of this review the Torre don Virgilio Resort offered so much but badly let themselves down. If they aspire to be a proper 4* hotel they will need to improve the quality of their food, and get a chef that can actually cook. A bar where you can have a beer, class of wine or even a cup of coffee would go a long way to enhance this hotel. As it stands now I would say it is just OK. Not good and not bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JR_Bournemouth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    36
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
39
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal, Québec
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

After driving around in circles for about an hour (the road signs in Italy are not always clear), we finally found this beautiful agriturismo. We had reserved based on TripAdvisor reviews and the Website, and we were not disappointed.

The property is large, the garden is beautiful, the pool seemed very clean (but it was a little cool to swim). Our room was very large, with stone walls and very high ceilings. The bathroom was clean, with plenty of space to store our amenities. We had a small terrace with a table and chairs where we could have a drink before dinner.

On the first night, not wanting to risk getting lost again, we decided to eat in the resort's restaurant. Dinner is served in a beautiful vaulted room. Unfortunately, we were the only couple there that night, but the meal was excellent. Being so far from the nearest town, we feared that the prices would be very high, but we were pleasantly surprised. Even the wine was very affordable (only 3 choices, at 12 euros each). We finally decided to eat there for the 3 nights we were at the resort. On the last night, they finally managed to light the wood oven (the weather had not been very good on the first 2 days) and we had the best pizza we ate on the whole trip.

Breakfast was good, but not memorable.

On the first morning, the manager (owner?) introduced himself and took us to visit the resort's private chapel and "book bar". He made suggestions of sights to see in the area and provided clear directions.

The only thing missing for a perfect 10 is maybe a safe in the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The Don Virgilio has definitely exceeded my expectations - stayed there for a bout a week in late July with family and couldn't have chosen better. The structure is small - I guess no more than ten or so rooms - and hidden in the Sicilian countryside - you definitely need a car to get there and explore the surroundings. The entrance road, paved with small black peddles, hints immediately to an uncommon attention to detail, which would mostly be confirmed in the following days. The house itself is an old fortified farm ("masseria") made in white stone and perfectly restored, and the the contrast between the deep blue sky, the green garden and the white stone of the building, just beyond an hedge over the parking, welcomed us after a long travel from Palermo. The swimming pool was perfect for my 10-years old son (and me, of course), and the courtyard of the farm - where one can have breakfast if he's up early enough to resist the heat. The setting is absolutely charming and true to the pictures in the website - if not better. The room was spacious and fresh - air conditioning barely humming even with 32celsius outside, in beautiful traditional style and an excellent bathroom.

In all, the place is a perfect base for exploring the splendid south-east of Sicily - from Ragusa to Siracusa, and spend leisurely mornings or afternoons relaxing at the swimming pool. In the best "country tourism" tradition, service was personal and very, very good - literally no request was left unanswered. For example, on our leaving day the management went through pains for finding a temporary room *just in case* we wanted to spend some time after 12:00 at the structure, and for some country riding (at the "Centro Ippico Della Contea", which I do warmly recommend) we were lead by car by one of the persons at the hotel, since it was a bit difficult to find. There were a couple of minimal technical hiccups, but the attitude and promptness of action of the personnel made them completely forgettable. I've been in many 5 stars, in Italy and outside, with far less attention in service.

The breakfast is perhaps the only minor blemish: not bad at all, mind me, but with somewhat limited choice and food brought out "fresh" in small quantities, which in a couple of occasions made us wait for a few minutes before getting some croissants or coffee. But again, totally forgettable in the total package. We ate at the restaurant twice - once a full dinner, once pizzas - good but, related to the immensely high Sicilian standard, perhaps not memorable. Again, mind me - Sicily is one of the best places in the world for food (even considering the whole of Italy) and it is only in this context that the restaurant is "just" ok. A few details (plastic chairs and tables in the garden, and a plastic shower window) could be improved, but perfection is definitely in range.

Finally: we discovered it is customary in Sicily to marry in summer, and one evening there was a wedding organized on the premises. At midnight the music was over tough and thru thick walls we didn't really disturbance. Little we did know that in the next hotel (a five-star) we would suffer a wedding almost every night...

All in all, the Don Virgilio is absolutely recommendable. I won't hesitate going back if I want to stay in that corner of Sicily and the price/value ratio is unbeatable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cris1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed at this agriturismo for 4 nights in September 2009.

The agriturismo is located in an ancient building that has been renovated by its current owner. The building is beautifull and rooms are spacious and well kept. The pool area is excellent. Each room has a patio in front of it with a table and chairs which makes it nice to sit outside. The agriturismo is well situated for visiting the south-east area of the island (Noto, Siracusa, Ragusa).

We ate at the restaurant only once for supper. The food was very good but not necessarily what you would expect fronm an agriturismo since it was rather fancy. This is why we choose to eat in the town of Modica the other nights. The breakfast buffet was nice with several choices. One thing that we did not appreciate is that the price of a bottle of wine was deliberatly increased by 5 euros between the time of the meal and the payment of the final bill. The price was increased from 25 to 30 euros. We feel that 25 euros was already well paid since we saw the same bottle in a wine store for 14 euros. Adding 5 euros was petty anf even though we mentionned the change, it wasn't corrected.

The staff is nice and helpfull but more difficult to talk to than at the first agriturismo we stayed at.

The place is difficult to find even though we followed the directions on their website. The problem is that the name of the streets that we are supposed to follow are seldomly indicated on the way. It is located around 10 KM from town. Once you figure out the way there, it becomes easier to get around. Driving in the nearby town of Modica is also a bit difficult. The place is very quiet so sleeping at night is great. The place is surrounded by farms although there is no farming at this agriturismo.

Overall, we would recommend this agriturismo for the beauty of the place, for the location and for the quality of the food, even though it wasn't the type of food we were looking for. It was nice to have a fancy meal in a beautiful dining room.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
2.8 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#3 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.7 mi away
Borgo Don Chisciotte
Borgo Don Chisciotte
#17 of 17 in Modica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Balarte Hotel
Balarte Hotel
#6 of 17 in Modica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
12.0 mi away
Casato Licitra
Casato Licitra
#20 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre don Virgilio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre don Virgilio Resort

Property: Torre don Virgilio Resort
Address: Strada Provinciale Rocciola Scrofani, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Modica
#11 Romantic Hotel in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre don Virgilio Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in wonderful countryside of Modica, Torre don Virgilio is a beautifully renovated and atmospheric resort. The building was a residence period of 1600, began as a fortified farm in harmony campaigns modicane. A winning combination of history and nature for a traveler who loves living in a refined, who loves elegance, good taste and attention to every individual - however small - detail. The interior of the hotel is well equipped with mirrors and other period furniture and artifacts. The 18 rooms and suites equipped with every comfort enhanced by large flowered terraces reflect the enchanting atmosphere of the place and is available with a simple yet elegant at all obvious, embellished with exclusive details such as embroidered sheets, furniture niche and impeccable service. Torre don Virgilio offers a vast array of services, including a bar, a restaurant, a smimming pool as well as a meeting room. The book bar (120 m2), is the ideal place for relaxing, reading a book, listening to music or surfing the net (the Wi-Fi connection is free of charge). The resort is located conveniently just 7 km away from the baroque city of Modica and many more turist centers and historical attractions are reachable by car. The Catania Fontanarossa airport (CTA) is 108 km far from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Torre don Virgilio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Don Virgilio Resort Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing