We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique baroque hotel in modica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grana Barocco Art Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Reviewed 10 July 2011

modica is a unesco awarded baroque city, and grana barocco hotel is a luxury hotel right in the main square. the building is 400 years old, and with many baroque masterpieces, like statues on the balconies! the spa is great, in the caves, and the restaurant also. we found the staf very helpful and kind, everything was perfect and unforgettable.we highly reccomend it to anybody...

Room Tip: suite romantica is all passion....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfredthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

we were in sicily for a break, and we found this wonderful hotel in modica, a unesco baroque awarded city. the hotel was a 17th century building with statues and frescoed ceilings. for us was like going into the past of sicily. the breakfast and the dinner in the hotel restaurant were amazing, all tipical sicilian food! the spa in the grottoes down the building was perfect for relaxing and having a nice massage.Andthe hotel was right in the center of the city, at walking distance from anything interesting. we truly recommend it to anybody!

Room Tip: the balconi suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This place is incredible. And we had it completely to ourselves! Which meant the spa too.... you have to pay extra for that, but it's so worth it! Big jacuzzi pool, sauna, steam room.... heaven.
The room itself (we were in the Bishops room) was wonderfully ornate and sombre, perhaps too dark for some though. We saw all the rooms and they were all very beautiful and high quality, the Romance room with a bath actually in the room.
The bathroom was completely tiled, with beautiful mosaic tiling, and the toiletries were divine.
The restaurant wasn't open unfortunately (mid-May is out of season), but it really is as central as you can get so there are plenty of great restaurants nearby. We were craving pizza so we went to La Perla around the corner, on the recommendation of the lovely receptionist.
Breakfast was fantastic; beautiful fresh pastries and cakes, cold meats, cheese, omelette, fresh fruit, and in the grotto restaurant, great atmosphere.
I couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzzBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucrezia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alfio Vale Anto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank onateag63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DecaBet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modica hotels
2.1 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
661 reviews
4.1 mi away
Borgo Don Chisciotte
Borgo Don Chisciotte
#18 of 18 in Modica
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 18 in Modica
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais Modica
Hotel Relais Modica
#13 of 18 in Modica
108 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Giorgio Hotel
San Giorgio Hotel
#10 of 18 in Modica
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grana Barocco Art Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grana Barocco Art Hotel & Spa

Address: Corso Umberto I 133, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Modica
Price Range: £63 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grana Barocco Art Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grana Barocco Art Hotel and Spa is located in the central square of Modica. It is housed in an impressive 17th-century baroque palace of great artistic and architectural interest.The hotel has successfully maintained the noble atmosphere of this stunning building with elegant decoration, period furniture and Baroque floors. It features original wrought-iron balconies with statues, ancients columns and frescoed ceilings dating back to the 17th century .The ancient structure of the Grana Barocco Art Hotel and Spa is complimented by a range of ultra-modern facilities, like free WI FI and free sky. The spa is a great place to relax after a long day and includes a Turkish bath, sauna, hydromassage and a range of massages and beauty treatments. In the evenings you can enjoy traditional local specialities in the magnificent setting of the restaurant set in an underground grotto with glass floor over bronze age archeological finds.The hotel’s fantastic location allows you to explore Modica on foot. Recognised by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site, Modica is full of fascinating monuments and ancient ruins. A highlight is its Sicilian Baroque architecture including the renowned cathedral of San Pietro, that is actually facing the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grana Barocco Art Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grana Barocco Art Hotel & Spa Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing