We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice location, rooms and owners. Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Quartarella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Quartarella
Ranked #2 of 64 Modica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice location, rooms and owners. Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We visited with Francesca and Francesco for 3 days and had a wonderful time. The rooms are very comfortable, big and spacious and offer all the comfort one needs. There is also a shared living room that has some large sofas, a flatscreen tv and a fussball table.

On the outside the Quartarella is situated in the countryside outside of Modica and has wide views and a sea view. There is enough room to park the car and there is a big garden surrounding the property. The rooms are all located on the central square and all rooms have some seats to sit outside. There is a small swimming pool to take a refreshing dip. My description really does not do the Quartarella justice, but the photos shown in the presentation of the Quartarella do.

Francesco prepares a lovely breakfast each morning with the help of his wife. When you want to he will also be very helpful with tips on where to spend your day and which places to visit (in English as well as in Italian). There are enough nice and small villages in the area so site seeing and eating out is no problem. The Quartarella is also located quite near the beached (about 15/20 minutes by car) and with a little searching it is possible to find some nice quiet beaches.

We enjoyed the stay at Quartarella very much and I would highly, highly recommend and will definitely return and spend more days.

Room Tip: Any room is nice at Quartarella. We did spend a little time searching for the switch of the fan. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arnoldl210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
173
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Beautifully restored place with huge family rooms, perfect for us (travelling with two teenagers). Francisco and Francesca are lovely, welcoming hosts and the breakfasts are delicious and very generous with homemade cake or tart every day, fresh pastries, fruit, eggs, homemade jams and marmalades. Would highly recommend this place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GiselleEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The first words to speak about Villa Quartarella are Francesco and Francesca. Our hosts were the most warm, obliging and accommodating people who effortlessly went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Even before we arrived at their home, they literally went out of their way to help us. On the day we were due to arrive at the Villa, there was a bridge closure leading up to the property and our GPS was of no help in identifying an appropriate alternative route. One call to Francesco and within 20 minutes he and Francesca had come to meet us to lead us back to their place. Francesco's apology for the bridge closure characterised his entire approach to hosting us. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was his responsibility. With other guests too, we noticed that he went out of his way to accommodate everyone, from people with gluten free diets to others with a preference for specific tastes. Breakfast was always tasty and Francesca's homemade cakes were always excellent. The property and our room presented a rustic charm that is in keeping with this part of Italy. The big room itself was spotless, the shower was hot and water pressure was good, WiFi was excellent even inside our room and we really could not have asked for more. Francesco's recommendations were also spot on and the best of them all was for dinner at La Grotta in Scicli - exceptional and authentic Sicilian cuisine at reasonable prices. And the last words to speak about Villa Quartarella? Francesco and Francesca. They really are wonderful people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved our stay in Villa Quartarella. The rooms of this old farmhouse have been beautifully restored by Francesco, and are incredibly spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic and Francesco gave us many useful tips about places to go in the area. There are also great common areas to relax and have a glass of Sicilian red in the evenings. I highly recommend Villa Quartarella.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Francesco puts his heart and soul into the running of Quarterella. Nothing is too difficult for him, he is very helpful, makes a great breakfast and his rooms are impeccable. The property is within easy reach of Modica and Ragusa.
There are good local restaurants to go to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingstonTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at Quartarella for a few days in April. It's part a converted farmhouse, part Francesco and Francesca's own creation, with real individual character and a sense of history. As everyone else has said they're great hosts and exceptionally welcoming – there's no bothering with 'honour codes' or entering anything you eat or drink in a little book, Francesco just says 'take what you want', including the delicious homemade cakes in the kitchen. Breakfast is equally social, and he gives great advice on how to get around the area, the best places to visit, and essential tips on how to make the most of them.
Ideal for enjoying rural tranquility and one of the most beautiful parts of Sicily.
One thing – the (very spacious) bedrooms are in converted farm buildings with beds on an upper level, so you need to remember there's a steep staircase to go down if you ever get up in the dark!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickRider904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
254 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Francesco and Francesca are great hosts. The B and B is situated in a beautiful spot overlooking the sea (you'll need a car to get there and to visit restaurants), peaceful with great countryside but within reach of all the fantastic Baroque towns (Ragusa Ibla, Scicli, Modica etc), antiquities (Palazzolo Accreide) and the seaside which is quite undeveloped with sanddunes. The rooms are big enough for 4, there's no air conditioning but because of the design in an old building, a ceiling fan is more than sufficient. Breakfasts are freshly prepared by Francesco with great coffee, pastries, juice and savouries (eg ham and cheese croissant and salami). This is really a little piece of paradise and a visit to the South of Sicily would not be complete without staying at Villa Quartarella.

Room Tip: I like Room 1 which has a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surreyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
3.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#3 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
4.5 mi away
Balarte Hotel
Balarte Hotel
#6 of 17 in Modica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 39 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
3.4 mi away
Modica Old Town Rooms
Modica Old Town Rooms
#1 of 64 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.4 mi away
Stanze Barocche
Stanze Barocche
#4 of 64 in Modica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Quartarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Quartarella

Property: Villa Quartarella
Address: Contrada Quartarella Passo Cane 1/A, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Villa Quartarella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Quartarella Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing