We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Sicily...and thats saying something!”

Locanda del Colonnello
Ranked #4 of 221 Restaurants in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best food in Sicily...and thats saying something!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The food was amazing The menu was short (which I like) and interesting. We were made to feel very welcome. We loved it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FishyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    270
    66
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pozzallo, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

In Modica alta is this wonderful restaurant. The personnel are really nice and the food and wine are so tasty. I was there at a Sat lunch, am very happy that I found this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swedeontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Unremarkable value compared to other restaurants on our weeklong Sicilian tour. While the food was certainly well done, the variety and selection fell short of our other lunches at the same price for a fixed menu prepared by the host restaurant. Combined with neither view nor atmosphere, even solid service could make this local eatery stand out to a visitor who had come to expect a variety of good Italian food as a minimum.
The fava based soup accented by roasted polipo was a very pleasant surprise. A first (and last) course of short pasta in a ricotta and pork ragout was tasty but found a few in our party wanting when they discovered that they had no other ready alternative until the wait staff responded with a simple spaghetti with tomato sauce plate. We topped off with a dessert of lemon gelatin that was very well received by all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worst food we tried in Sicily”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I was thinking how to rate this restaurant. Perhaps I would not rate so low if I would be in other country. But in Italy you can not have such tasteless food. And we do not understand how this restaurant gain so much positive reviews. Perhaps something was wrong with our order...
My advise to them would be: make simple food. Service, design all is needed but restaurant is first of all for food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamuka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Tucked away in a small laneway, this is a lovely restaurant located in upper Modica.

The restaurant offers a modern take on Italian cuisine. It's not your traditional Italian cuisine but definitely worth visiting. An enjoyable meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locanda del Colonnello also viewed

Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Locanda del Colonnello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing