We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably cheap and very tasty choise.”

Locanda del Colonnello
Ranked #4 of 224 Restaurants in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
413 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Reasonably cheap and very tasty choise.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A very solid and creative spot in Modica. Short menu ensures freshness and a good taste. We have ordered calamarata, as well as "cavati" with sicilian pesto. Cavati were excellent, while the other pasta undercooked a bit (undercooked, NOT AL DENTE - I know what AL DENTE is), however the sauce was excellent. Desserts great, yet small.

Overally a very good meal for a good value - we paid 40 euros for 2 persons includind 1/2l of white wine.

Service is very kind and professional - no issues here.

The interior is quite raw and resembles more of a cantine than a restaurant, hence I would not recommend it for romantic dates nor business meetings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panhirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    280
    67
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best food in Sicily...and thats saying something!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The food was amazing The menu was short (which I like) and interesting. We were made to feel very welcome. We loved it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FishyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pozzallo, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

In Modica alta is this wonderful restaurant. The personnel are really nice and the food and wine are so tasty. I was there at a Sat lunch, am very happy that I found this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swedeontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Unremarkable value compared to other restaurants on our weeklong Sicilian tour. While the food was certainly well done, the variety and selection fell short of our other lunches at the same price for a fixed menu prepared by the host restaurant. Combined with neither view nor atmosphere, even solid service could make this local eatery stand out to a visitor who had come to expect a variety of good Italian food as a minimum.
The fava based soup accented by roasted polipo was a very pleasant surprise. A first (and last) course of short pasta in a ricotta and pork ragout was tasty but found a few in our party wanting when they discovered that they had no other ready alternative until the wait staff responded with a simple spaghetti with tomato sauce plate. We topped off with a dessert of lemon gelatin that was very well received by all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worst food we tried in Sicily”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I was thinking how to rate this restaurant. Perhaps I would not rate so low if I would be in other country. But in Italy you can not have such tasteless food. And we do not understand how this restaurant gain so much positive reviews. Perhaps something was wrong with our order...
My advise to them would be: make simple food. Service, design all is needed but restaurant is first of all for food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamuka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locanda del Colonnello also viewed

Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Locanda del Colonnello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing