We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little apartment but some disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Case dello Zodiaco
Certificate of Excellence
Australian in rural Victoria
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Nice little apartment but some disappointments”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We pre booked this apartment before we left Australia. At the time, it was the only one of our many bookings where we were charged at the time of booking, with no cancellation option. As it was, we didn't choose to cancel, but this is a drawback if you need some flexibility.

Our apartment was a ground floor apartment of bedroom, combined small kitchen lounge, and very large bathroom. For the price, which was higher than many of our other bookings in Sicily, I would have expected the kitchen to have been better supplied with some basic groceries, such as oil, salt, maybe some coffee/tea, and even a washing machine (just comparing this to our other bookings). Also, we had to park on the street a few blocks away, and although it was free, it was not guaranteed that the park would be there is we chose to take our car out for the day (there is also private paid parking available). The wifi connection is good.

And there was no real outside space for us to sit, except for the small communal courtyard entrance area, which was not really private. However, the apartment was fitted out with quality furnishings and was very appealing because of the age of the building, and very quiet with no traffic noise. Also, we were left with a gift of chocolates for each of us which was a nice touch.

We did find that locating the office was not easy, as our GPS could only take us to the general area only, because of the complicated one way system in Modica and the number of roads that become stairs. We had to ask at the shops in the area before we could find someone to book in, so you would need to make sure that you get very detailed instructions when you book. We were offered a lovely coffee or hot chocolate on arrival which was nice, and there was a discount on items from the lifestyle shop owned by the hosts (which was quite expensive).

Breakfast was a coupon for use at a caffe about 200m from our apartment and consisted of coffee and a croissant. Compared to other places where we had stayed, this was a very basic breakfast and not very good value, or very convenient.

There were a number of restaurants in the area, a supermarket and fruit and bread shops about 100m away, and it was possible to walk to one of the lookouts over the town, and also to one of the main churches. We also walked down into Modica, where most of the shops, restaurants and other tourist sites were, but this is very steep and the elderly or those with children would find this difficult.

Although Modica is well based to explore other towns in the region, including Ragusa, Noto, etc., it might be better to try to find accommodation in Noto, which is smaller, and has a really charming old centre, or in Ragusa where the old town is also beautiful, with a nice piazza and lovely public gardens. Also be aware that driving in Modica is a bit of a nightmare with blind corners, steep streets, one way roads, stairs and parking (this applies to Ragusa also!)

We booked this apartment based on the wonderful reviews given in TripAdvisor, and especially the personalised attention of the hosts, but this did not happen for us. We were only given a map with some tourist sites marked on it, and then taken to our apartment. We were disappointed not to have the chance to see Modica with the help and advice of a local.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank learningitalianat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    28
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
76
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MALTA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just returned back from Modica following a short family break at Le Case Dello Zodiaco. If you are visiting Modica to experience its narrow allies, the Sicilian way of life and most importantly the Baroque architecture then Le Case dello Zodiaco is the place to be. Our "home" was Ariete No 13 offering two double bedrooms in the first floor, and a fully equipped kitchenette, and cosy living and dining area on the ground floor. The property also offers two bathrooms.

From the time of booking to our actual departure, our hosts Veronica and Manuela, took great care and assisted us all the way. They arranged for us the taxi transfers from Pozzallo and also gave us dining hints. The welcome drink on the first day at the Ara' Concept store reflects the level of hospitality you will experience during your stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIANBARTOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at Le Case Dello Zodiaco after arriving from Malta on the ferry on April 3, 2013. We chose it based on the reviews of Tripadvisor and because we were able to book a two bedroom appartment, with one room for our daughter and husband, and one for ourselves. We had a rather rough start on arriving in Modica. The Case della Zodiaco is in the very old (also quaint and charming) part of town on the side of a steep hill. The streets are very narrow and seemed very busy with traffic. As I normally drive a car with automatic transmission and the rental was manual, I found the driving a challenge. Our GPS was not helping the situation, as it wanted us to turn off the road down a series of steps.
However once we temporarily abandoned the car and located Claudia (or more like she located us, as one of her neighbours told her we had arrived), everything was fine. She helped us find a parking spot down the street from the appartment and provided us with a wealth of information on the surrounding area.
We rented the Aries appartment which was perfect for our needs. There were two bedrooms upstairs and a kitchen and living room downstairs. By the time we had settled in, the local restaurants had closed, so we were able able to enjoy the kitchen/sitting area with some pizza we purchased down the street and some local excellent Sicilian wine. The beds were probably the most comfortable of any we found in Italy. We found the beds to be typically quite hard in Italy, but the ones at Case dello Zodiaco are great. The next morning we had a very tasty continental breakfast arranged by Claudia at a local coffee shop.
The appartments are beautifully furnished and each one is unique. They are in separate buildings within a few blocks of each other and Claudia's home base.
Claudia is an excellent ambassador for the area and for Sicily. She seems to genuinely enjoy telling her guests about the town and the area. Her advice was very helpful. She also took us on a short walking tour of this part of the old town, with some stops at her other rooms. She has really done a fine job of developing these properties and several more are in the process of being converted to torist accomodations.
Another nice touch is the Modica chocolate she gave to each of us the flavour of which was based on our Zodiac sign.
We would highly recommend this place especially if you are prepared for a little adventurous driving.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasquatch_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We discovered Modica by chance - or maybe it was destiny. Travelling in Sicily for two weeks, our stop after Catania was supposed to be Ragusa. We arrived in Ragusa, on a Sunday afternoon, only to be informed by our taxi driver that the accommodation that we had booked was in Modica, in the Province of Ragusa (not the town of Ragusa!) about thirty minutes away!

Travel weary and disappointed that I could make such a mistake (when I am a seasoned traveller) when we arrived, our hostess Claudia was amazing, immediately reassuring me that we would enjoy Modica, as it is a town more beautiful than Ragusa! Claudia welcomed us into her home with Riccardo, for a refreshing glass of latte di mandorla, a drink that I will not forget, recommended local restaurants and accompanied us to the doctor's surgery when Toby was unwell. A one night stay turned into three nights.

A highlight of my stay in Sicily was a day I spent with Claudia - touring two of the most beautiful churches in Modica, the panoramic views of the city (including the two main roads were paved as a result of the tsunami that passed through the town in 1905!) and an artisan chocolate and biscuit company where I learned about traditional biscuit baking (and sampled them with a delightful coffee of course!)

The houses, each with a zodiac theme are charming and beautifully furnished, including a self contained kitchen, excellent air conditioning and Sicilian literature to read. You will learn the story about the Aztec origin of chocolate in Europe and taste chocolate designed by Claudia! Claudia speaks French, English and Italian. Thank you to Claudia and Riccardo for making our experience incredible!

I can't wait for the day that we return to Case dello Zodiaco in Modica!

Room Tip: Email Claudia and she will ensure that your stay is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canberra2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We had a fabulous time in Modica with hostess Claudia's guidance. She, Riccardo, Rosa and Toto went out of their way to accommodate our at-times demanding needs, including taxi-ing us around the countryside and organising little extras for us. With our own town-house it was easy to come and go, and was in a lovely part of town making walking around and exploring easy. I would highly recommend these town-houses and taking Claudia up on her offer to visit the chocolate factory where she has her own chocolate line! Thank you Claudia for making our Modican experience so much more special!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I loved our stay at Le Case dello Zodiaco. The apartments were gorgeous and each one were so unique and tastefully designed. The location was perfect, so close to shops, cafes, good sicillian restaurants, beautiful stunning churches & views of Modica. Our hostess Claudia and her partner Riccardo, Rosa & Toto were so helpful, accommodating & knowledgeable. They treated us like family from cheerfully greeting us when we arrived in Modica very late at night (10.30pm) to helping us catch an early flight at the end of our vacation which required leaving at 4am (thanks Riccardo). This kindness is something that only family members and good friends would do.

During our stay Claudia went out of her way to make us feel welcomed and showed us all the best places to eat and see in Modica and surrounds. A very memorable day was when she took us to her fabulous chocolate laboratory and gave us an interactive tour of the process of making Modican chocolate (included lots of taste testing too)....The next day she suprised us at the apartment by hand delivering different flavoured Modican chocolates to us according to our zodiac signs. It twas such a sweet and lovely gesture.

The modican people were so friendly and nice. Although I only knew 2 words of italian when I arrived "ciao and buon giorno" , I had no troubles at all getting around as the italian speaking locals were so patient, lovely and helpful. After only one week of vacation in Modica I left being able to speak very simple italian sentences & knew probably 60 new words :) I left feeling that I really had a traditional sicilian experience. Modica was so rustic and not over-commericalized like some other parts of italy. We were really lucky to have had experience. We met other travellers who came back again to visit because they just loved the people, place and food...

The food here in Modica was so authentic, affordable and delicious +++ And the gelati was to die for... The girls and I ended up having 1-2 gelati each per day!!

I would gladly go back to stay at Le Case dello Zodiaco for my upcoming honey moon as it is not only great for families, trips with groups of friends but also such a romantic setting and great escape from the busy city life. Thank you Modican's, Claudia and team for making this vacation so truly memorable for my girlfriends and I during our stay.

Room Tip: Email Claudia. She knows everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verbania, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The advises from the owners are really helpful and let us taste the great local meals.
The apartment has all the needed facilities to allow a pleasant stay without looking every night for restaurants
The central position makes it easy to visit the city without cars or public transportation

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWelldone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modica hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 18 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.4 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#3 of 18 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe d'Aragona
0.8 mi away
FerroHotel
FerroHotel
#7 of 18 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Modica Old Town Rooms
Modica Old Town Rooms
#1 of 67 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Case dello Zodiaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Case dello Zodiaco

Property: Le Case dello Zodiaco
Address: Corso Santa Teresa, 89, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Case dello Zodiaco 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming houses dating back to the 18th century are serviced with all comforts(air conditioner, Lcd Tv in the bedroom and living room,free internet service, safe, showers with rain shower heads)and are comprised of 1 bedroom,1 bathroom, a living room with a sofa bed for 2 people, a well- equipped kitchen, a library with Sicilian classics in 4 languages.We also have a car park at a daily cost of €5,00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Case dello Zodiaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Case Dello Zodiaco Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing