We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind experience”
Review of Monoresort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monoresort
Ranked #34 of 69 Modica B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We just returned from a week at Monoresort and had a great time. We were looking for a way to enjoy life in a small town, combined with lots of time at the beach. Monoresort allowed us to do both as our accommodation was in Modica (beautiful!) and there was a daily shuttle service enabling us to see not one but three different Sicilian beaches while we were there.

The studio itself (Casa Castellet) was bright, clean and well decorated. My favorite feature was the high, arched ceiling, which provided a great sense of space. It was in a residential area about a five minute walk from the main street in Modica.

The staff at Monoresort was fantastic -- very flexible and accommodating. They provided excellent restaurant recommendations, were always happy to make bookings, and were able to arrange a wide variety of excursions. We loved our day on the sail boat! Many thanks to Enrica, Leandra, Uri and Andrea for helping to make this a great hoilday!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TheBarrettsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enrica b, General Manager at Monoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you very much for writing this lovely review, it is great to know you appreciated Monoresort new vacation concept and that you may remember your Holiday in Modica with Monoresort as a special one.
Good bye from all of us!
Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

In early July, my wife, daughter and I stayed for one week at Casa Mandrazza. The latter is a lovely, fully renovated, two-storey house close to the lively main street of Corso Umberto I, but still in a quiet neighborhood. It is tastefully decorated with design furniture and has all the modern facilities you would expect from a city apartment.
At the upper floor there is a spacious bedroom with a double bed, featuring a super-comfortable mattress. A big bathroom with blue tiles is also located upstairs.
The lower floor consists of a living/dining room and a well-equipped kitchen. On a couple of occasions we prepared simple meals without any trouble at all. At the living room there is a huge sofa that can be used as an extra bed and also a table with four chairs. Beautiful paintings on the wall make the area pleasant and cosy.
But what really makes Monoresort a gem is the service provided by Enrica and her team of professionals. They are all so nice and friendly, always available to provide you with any information you might need on restaurants, shops and day trips. The rate of the Casa includes return transfers to the near beaches and places of interest of the surrounding area. It makes things so much easier, especially if you do not wish to rent a car. You just sit back and enjoy the views while you are being whizzed from Modica to the wonderful beach of Sampieri or the picture-perfect town of Ragusa.
When it comes to Modica...what could I say? We fell in love with Modica and its beautiful palazzos, romantic piazzas, and wonderful people. As soon as the sun set, we would walk down the stairs to the Corso Umberto, mingle with the locals at a café, taste divine sicilian food in one of its numerous trattorias and restaurants and then head for a gelateria before returning for a good night sleep to our Casa.
All in all it was an unforgettable experience that we will cherish forever. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts Enrica!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jalmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enrica b, General Manager at Monoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review on behalf of Monoresort owners and staff.
Your review is describing perfectly our philosophy and vacation concept.
As per Monoresort philosophy we always try to exceed guests expectations and it is such a good satisfaction to know we made your stay with us a special and unforgettable Holiday!
Thank you and see you soon!
Monoresort Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed in Casa Castellet for four nights over Easter. We arrived at the Monoresort "welcome house" on the first evening (it's conveniently in the newer part of Modica and easy to find if you are driving) and Enrica was friendly and welcoming. She provided excellent service throughout our stay, booking restaurants and giving us a lift to one of these one evening. We had a hire car so did not make more use of this complementary taxi service. We were given a local mobile phone to contact Enrica and an iPad that we could use during our stay.

The apartment itself was lovely, although it was not massive (there is a big domed roof so it still feels like a generous space). The decoration and furnishings are stylish and modern.

We did experience a problem with the water but this was rectified within the day and we would have been moved if it had persisted.

We really enjoyed Modica and it was lovely to have our own small haven in this interesting town. (Beware all of the steps though!)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarynHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enrica b, General Manager at Monoresort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Hello Taryn, first of all I would like to thank you very much for writing your lovely review about your stay with us.
During your stay me and Leandra did not have the chance to spend much time with you as you were very indipendent and with your rented car but now, reading you review, I know that you appreciated our services a lot and that you felt we were there for you anytime.
Thank you very much! We wish to have you back in summer time so you will be able to enjoy our beach services too! Bye bye
Enrica Borghi
Monoresosrt General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We wanted to stay somewhere special in Sicily for the first week of our honeymoon and decided upon Modica as its situated in the most interesting part of Sicily surrounded by historical towns, ancient ruins and close by the sea (15 mins by car). Modica itself is a gem of a town - old world, non touristy, friendly, great restaurants and pizzerias and a laid back atmosphere.
We picked Monoresort as they have 3 wonderful, individually designed and styled apartments/houses that are situated in the centre of Modica, which allows you to be a tourist but appear like a local! We stayed in Casa Castellet, an inspiring house with an amazing vaulted ceiling that is built out of the rockface, with an enormous bed, plenty of storage and a spacious kitchen and bathroom. But it’s the extras that made us smile – jazz and soul CD’s, art books, honestly bar and an espresso machine
Upon our arrival, we got a mobile phone to contact the Monoresort team - who are a fantastically fun, experienced and genuinely lovely group of people who do all that they can to make your stay here perfect. The team is managed by the amazing Enrica who really is a treasure, without a doubt the best asset Monoresort has. Enrica, Leandra, Wendy and Davide never failed to answer all our questions on the area and help with travel to historical towns/sights but also were on call to pick us up anytime to bring us to the Monoresort Beach Club, 15 mins away. The Beach Club was the icing on the cake as it has a chilled out vibe, great prosecco, wonderful food and full access to a nice sandy beach, with *5 service. Could go on and on, but will just say if chilling out in an authentic Sicilian town is your idea of fun, then try Monoresort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loves_Travel_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

For many years our family (2 adults + 2 children) has been spending summer vacation in the hotels located directly on the beach. There are many pros for this kind of vacation, however usually by the end of the stay we all have been bored and irritated by the similarity of the restaurants, kitchen, people around, views and after all of each day. It was the reason to try the new vacation concept.
Monoresort in Modica was chosen for that and we had not a single impulse to be sorry. After we have spent the best 2 weeks of our summer vacation there we can definitely say - IT WAS THE RIGHT DECISION.
We stayed in Casa Mandrazza. The house is very stylishly decorated, equipped with everything you may need during the stay and is within walking distance (even for children) from the center of Modica where all the restaurants, shops and pizzerias are located. Upon our arrival we have been given mobile phone which can be used to contact Monoresort team 24x7 on any issue that may arise. What was very helpful is that all transfers within 20 km distance have been included in the accommodation and we used this option on everyday basis for going to the beach, visiting nearby cities or doing shopping.
We have a very positive impression on the Beach Club that is also a part of Monoresort structure. See water is very clean, nice sandy beach, entrance to the sea is very comfortable for the children. Being Monoresort guests sun beds are always booked for you and you have no problems to arrive to the beach any time. As the compliment you are given a bottle of cold water for each guest for free.
Specifically Maganu restaurant, which is located at the Beach Club, should be mentioned. They have a very good selection of fresh sea food, wines and are very flexible. If you want something that is not included into the menu, just ask and they will cook it for you! It's very romantic to have dinner over there!
Monoresort team is very professional, personal and friendly. The only thing that you should do is to relax and feel your wishes, they will come true. For example I wanted to have Italian cuisine courses and it was organized in a perfect way. All of them: Enrica, Leandra and Davide made everything to make our stay in Modica unforgettable.

P.S. What you should not miss is datterino tomatoes. Best tomatoes in the world, born only in Sicilia and sweet like heaven)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatyaNov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I really don't know where to start about this resort. It was more then we expected in every regard.
Firstly, Enrica and Leandra were the most charming people and looked after us in 5 star fashion.
Secondly, Modica is the most beautiful and friendly town I have ever stayed in in Italy and I had travelled many, many times to Italy.
We stayed in Casa Mandrazza which was in a great location and had all you could wish for.
All the meals we had while in Modica were fabulous and very reasonable.
We really enjoyed 'Fare la Passeggiata' with the locals in the evening. Also Sunday morning is wonderful for people watching.
The beach club at Monoresort is very much in the mode of the Hamptons. Again, the staff, food and location were wonderful.
I could gush forever about this place but just go for yourselves and have one of the best holidays of your life, just like we did.

Room Tip: We stayed in Casa Mandrazza, great location , but I think they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We called up from England before booking because we were travelling round Sicily by public transport for 3 weeks and wanted a really nice location for a birthday /anniversary stay. Enrica helped us with planning our 4 night stay at the Casa Castellet and was always available by phone. She picked us up personally from our train as it arrived in Modica.
The apartment/ studio was perfect for us - a joyful mix of modern design and everything thoughtfully provided in a small space. Really fascinating location amongst the old steep cobbled streets but a steep walk down to Modica's main street - and especially back up. But most of Modica's sights seem to be up - or down.
Enrica and Leandra went out of their way to be helpful and informative - Ragusa is nearby - and helped to make it a very personal stay. Enrica helped again with our onward travel to Agrigento. Travelling by public transport in Sicily was made a lot easier by her involvement. Great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pimlicoperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modica hotels
6.2 mi away
Le Magnolie Resort
Le Magnolie Resort
#1 of 1 in Frigintini
59 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stacci Rural Resort
Stacci Rural Resort
#1 of 2 in Cannizzara
41 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#2 of 18 in Modica
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Borgo Don Chisciotte
Borgo Don Chisciotte
#18 of 18 in Modica
613 reviews
2.0 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Modica Old Town Rooms
Modica Old Town Rooms
#1 of 69 in Modica
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monoresort

Address: Corso Umberto I 46, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Modica
Price Range: £61 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monoresort is a "spread-out luxury hotel" made of 2 houses and 2 studio apartments which are all located at different addresses in the very center of old town of Modica. Our houses are all well appointed, comfortable, homely and recently rennovated. Besides the quality of the houses Monoresort provides guests staying in any of its apartments with all the services one would normally expect to find in Sicily’s top notch accommodations, like personal assistant and housekeeper at your disposal, daily cleaning service, transfers to the beach, I-pad with internet connection. Services on request: transfer from Catania and Trapani airport & return, transfers to Agrigento, Syracuse, Noto & Marzamemi, Taormina, sailing boat excursions, cookery courses, winery and chocolate farm visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Monoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monoresort Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing