We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay with Friends”
Review of Valata Minusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Valata Minusa
Ranked #17 of 69 Modica B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here following our wedding 2 1/2h further north with about 40 people. As sadly not all of us fit into Valata the proximity of another hotel (200m) came quite handy. We had a fantastic time and Francesco contributed great food, true hospitality and recommendable trips in the area.
All of us would have loved to stay longer. I hope to return one du.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt16376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

I normally find it hard to switch off from life... even when I'm on holiday, but the time I spent at Valata Minusa was magical, and I gave in very quickly to the Sicilian pace of life. The villa has traditional rustic charm but with a very classy decor. The rooms a simply but elegantly decorated and are clutter free which helped with the unwinding. Francesco the owner, is a gentleman and was always on hand for help and advice with local knowledge. The location of this villa is also superb for exploring the nearby towns of Modica, Ragusa and Notto.
I would recommend this villa to anyone who wants to escape and enjoy all that Sicily has to offer.
I would love to visit here again one day.
Lisa Victoria. South Wales

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Beautiful Valata Minusa, a work in progress. The apartments are all of an individual nature and converted to a high standard. The recently built, and, very well maintained swimming pool was a welcome addition and the still to be finished hot tub will add even more to this sensitively converted complex.

The presence of Francesco, the owner, enhanced the holiday experience with his attentiveness to high quality service and his knowledge on the history of Valata Minusa and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: If you are looking for something really special, request room 3 with its mezzanine bedroom above a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H2OFLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was an absolutely charming estate. Recently and impressively well renovated in a superb location. It was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the Sicilian countryside and to use as a base to explore the surrounding area from. There are also good restaurants a short distance away and Noto and Modica are a pleasant drive away through the beautiful countryside. Relaxing in the huge and quiet pool was a pleasure after visiting neighbouring towns.

The owner was an exceptionally kind and thoughtful host and went out of his way to make sure that he could do anything possible to help us during our stay.

Can't recommend this place more highly and we have both travelled extensively and stayed in many of the best hotels in the world. We are very much looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We spent five days in this wonderful Sicilian "Baglio", completely renovated with all the comfort. Francesco the owner of this resort with his kindness and hospitality helped us a lot in finding the right place to go. Rooms does not have a kitchen but there is a central one that could be used just for the kids. We look forward to spend some more days next year.....

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Giovanni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Was at Vilata minusa together with my wife and 2 year old daughter for three days last week.
The place is very central if one wants to move around southern sicily by car. The building is restored beautifully and professional designer services are evident. No expense was spared in restoring this beautiful estate. One must clarify that works are ongoing. In fact the owners intend building a pool in the near future. The place is close to the sea for those who are adamant on bathing. Also, whilst some may consider this lacking, we surely blessed the fact that there was no tv in the room. We got to experience quality time, now so scare.
What surely cannot be replicated elsewhere is the exceptional service that the lovely family running this cove offered. I have travelled most corners of this world and I thought that far east customer service could not be matched. I was very wrong. Francesco (owner) and his family have re-defined the term customer service. The hosts are sublime. You are treated like a friend, royalty and a customer all in one. No words can explain how well you are made to feel.
The place holds loads of historical value and Francesco's father is obviously passionate about the building's history.
The family ouzes passion and love for what they do. We will definitely be back at Vilata Minusa shortly... Together with family and many...many friends. Alex, Denise and Faye

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XPapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ceccotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modica hotels
1 mi away
Stacci Rural Resort
Stacci Rural Resort
#1 of 2 in Cannizzara
43 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
569 reviews
4 mi away
Le Magnolie Resort
Le Magnolie Resort
#1 of 1 in Frigintini
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
663 reviews
5.1 mi away
I Tetti di Siciliando
I Tetti di Siciliando
#14 of 18 in Modica
68 reviews
4.5 mi away
Borgo Don Chisciotte
Borgo Don Chisciotte
#18 of 18 in Modica
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valata Minusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valata Minusa

Address: Strada Provinciale Rocciola Scofani 207, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Modica
Price Range: £67 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valata Minusa tower agriturismo country resort is situated in the heart of the rural region of Modica, among centuries old olive trees and lanscapes marked by characteristic “dry” stone walls (muri a siccu).The structure is arranged with 16 restored rooms respecting the original nature of the antique rural habitation, preserving the effect, to offer hospitality in an authentic dimension and outside of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Valata Minusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valata Minusa Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing