We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located and wonderful”
Review of Hotel De Mohac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel De Mohac
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Centrally located and wonderful”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Was biking with a friend through Sicily and upon arrival was met by great warmth. Immediately, they helped us store bikes and we were both shocked at quality if room and products

Breakfast was excellent with a nice variety.

Hotel is centrally located and relatively easy to find on the old town. Note you may have to climb steps or walk up cobblestone road.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank edv08402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    35
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
59
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courbevoie, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a nice stay :
- good location
- helpful staff
- beautiful building and nice rooms.
The AC was not working but not really needed at this time of year though. Parking can be tricky in Modica and we had to park quite a distance from the hotel which is always inconvenient when you carry a heavy suitcase. This hotel is a great value for money and full of character, I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithuania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Really wonderful hotel, a great value for money, and very nice breakfast. Very clean room, helpful staff who has great recommendations for dining out options close by. A little bit hard to find, it woudl be best to reasearch in advance it's location, however it is possible to find a free overnight parking on the main street below the hotel. Would definitely stay there again, if in Modica, and can recommend to to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Hotel de Mohac is tucked away on a narrow street, just steps from the center of town--so it is centrally located but still quiet. My room was large and had plenty of space to put my suitcase and toiletries. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful and did their best to make sure I enjoyed my stay. For example, I needed help figuring out the bus connections to Giardini-Naxos and the hotel staff found the right connections and printed out the itinerary for me. On the day I left, I had to eat an early breakfast. When I showed up in the breakfast room half an hour before it opened, they made sure I had plentiful cappuccini and other goodies. I thoroughly appreciated these kindnesses.

Their restaurant recommendations were excellent--couldn't have had better meals.

The only people to whom I would not recommend the hotel are those who have problems climbing steps. The street leading to the hotel is a bit steep (but it is not far) and the hotel, because it is in a protected building, does not have an elevator. Anyone else should be very pleased with the accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 891236503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a very welcoming, comfortable, and well-located hotel, up a small stairway from the main square and so also a quiet place. Very nice room, good breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff. What more could one want? We'd certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel picked our rooms, and they were fine--opened onto a small upstairs patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGGGGGGGGGGGGGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hepburn Springs, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hotel de Mohac was very comfortable, exploring the town with it's incredible views, magnificent! Food was made with great produce from the area, and filled us, chocolate was to die for and the towns fork were helpful & polite

Helpful?
Thank Leonie Cooper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were in Modica for a family wedding, and the groom organised for all the out-of-towners to stay at the Hotel de Mohac, so we didn't really have a choice. Luckily for us he chose one of the friendliest hotels we've ever stayed in. On the plus side, excellent location a minute's walk from the Corso Umberto I (Modica's main drag, where most of the shopping and dining opportunities are situated), quirky decor (we were especially taken with the 40 foot rubber plant outside the reception area, over which we could also look out from our private balcony) and an excellent buffet breakfast included in the price. Being picky, on the minus side it's not terribly modern and there was no bar (minibar in room), but as previously stated you are literally sixty seconds' stroll from Corso Umberto I with plenty of pleasant bars and restaurants to choose from. The reception staff were especially helpful (I needed a manicure for the wedding and the receptionist rang round several to sort this out).

Room Tip: They have various kinds of room e.g. doubles, singles and family rooms - less romantic but much chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrsineJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modica hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais Modica
Hotel Relais Modica
#12 of 18 in Modica
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 18 in Modica
476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grana Barocco Art Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Magnolie Hotel
Le Magnolie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Modica
108 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Principe d'Aragona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Mohac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Mohac

Property: Hotel De Mohac
Address: Via Campailla 15 | Angolo Corso Umberto n. 127, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Modica
#10 Romantic Hotel in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Mohac 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored from an ancient nobility palace de charme of the fifteenth century, it is the ideal start point to visit Modica one of the most characteristic town of Sicily. The monuments in baroque style are UNESCO heritage.Our Hotel, rich in comfort and furnished with elegance, is situated in the historic centre. Inside the Hotel was found a well of the sixteenth century about 20 meters deep and a cave of some five thousand years ago (one of the first sites inhabited by Modica)The warm and relaxing atmosphere in the hall, the comforts of the rooms, the hospitality of our staff and the care in the details will give your stay in Modica a fantastic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Mohac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Mohac Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing