We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A meal to remember”

Trattoria Sale e Pepe
Reserve with
Trattoria Sale e Pepe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 224 Restaurants in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Trattoria situata ad un km dal centro,esteticamente lascia a desiderare ma il meglio lo riserva a chi entra la cultura del ricevimento il coccolare il cliente da sempre e stato per noi il punto di forza insieme alle specialita contadine del posto,i risultati ci danno ragione la strada da seguire indubbiamente e questa a voi il compito di scoprirci.
Malta
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A meal to remember”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We come from Malta!
This is a great find!!!
We called unbooked based on the remarks on tripadvisor and it turned out to be a great meal particularly the Assaggi suggestions of the restaurant owner. Not expensive at all for all the food and wine we consumed. Great food and definitely will be one place we keep marked on our GPS to return another time.... Thank you!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toniobStVenera_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    228
    58
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find! A Trattoria serving very good authentic sicilian food and also Gluten Free dishes :)”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

It was very worth it finding this Trattoria, as it is not in the centre of Modica, so try to park close by to avoid an uphill walk :) the food was simply amazing and for us an extra plus was they serve gluten free dishes - very good :) the owner is very friendly and it was interesting chatting along with him. So, the food was just great, the taste so unique, and everything was so fresh and all was very reasonably priced - so definitely this Trattoria is highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse Point, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Good Sicilian Trattoria”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have had the pleasure at vacationing close to the restaurant and able to take advantage of the authentic Sicilian style cooking and choices of deserts. Dining out for us has always been challenging since we are so used to eating quality home made recipes, eating here was no problem and very satisfying. The Owner/Operator of the Trattoria, Roberto, is very knowledgeable and expressive that if you have a special food that you want to eat, he will make it happen for you. If you plan to stay in the local area, you can call ahead to place your order of choice dishes and if not on the menu, Roberto will have his wife prepare the dish for you. Very accommodating and again, let me repeat, reasonable in price. A must experience for all who do want to eat authentic Sicilian dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Authentic food, interesting experience”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We visited this place, thanks to the reviews on TripAdvisor, and found them to be very accurate:)
The food was good, prepared in a home manner, very fresh and authentic. It is a family restaurant with the father taking orders and serving most of the food and that adds up to its charm. He was very talkative and explained what we were eating, as well as talked about the local traditions etc, which was very nice. The amount of food we ordered was more than we could eat, due to him suggesting new dishes constantly, but it was worth trying. In the end, the bill was worthy of a high -end restaurant instead of a small place in the suburbs with the interior of a diner, but overall the experience was very interesting, worth a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MajaHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberto p, Proprietario at Trattoria Sale e Pepe, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Google Translation
la ringraziamo per la sua ottima recensione che ci inorgoglisce oltre ad aiutarci a farci pervenire ulteriori clienti la ringraziamo per il suo tempo donatociun arrivederci alla prossima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Family Sicilian Trattoria”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We've been here following TripAdvisor suggestions and it was a good choice. The owner is friendly and ready to explain details about local food and history. The Trattoria is not in the center of Modica so you'd better have a GPS to find it. We've chosen ravioli di ricotta, involtini, salsiccia and the previous unknown 'sanapo', a local vegetable similar to spinach, but bitterer. This last was a pleasant surprise, but all the food was good and cheap.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GIM190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Sale e Pepe also viewed

Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Trattoria Sale e Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing