We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hoteliers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Relais Modica
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My wife and I arrived in Modica by taxi on a rainy night in late September from the ferry terminal at Pozzallo. We clambered up the street to the Hotel Relais Modica. The flight of stairs to the Relais was a charming introduction to Sicily. My wife and I were instantly entranced. We were met by Lorenzo who made us feel so welcome.The room was spacious and the next morning the view from the balcony overlooking Modica toward the Cathedral San Giorgio was fabulous. My wife and I even climbed the 250 stairs from Corso Umberto to San Giorgio!
We met Antonio, the owner, at breakfast, who gave us any information we sought. My wife was so impressed that she left remarks of gratitude in the guestbook in Vietnamese, her native language. We stayed at Relais Modica ten days later to find that our last night on Sicily was every bit as appealing as our first night. Antonio and Lorenzo, piacere, you are the best!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 66mygod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Relais Modica
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2010

My wife and I do not typically stay at B&Bs. Reluctantly, we stayed at Hotel Relais Modica (HRM) only because it was recommended by a good friend. After our stay, he remains a good friend. HRM is centrally located in Modica (which, by the way, is a city not to be missed if you are in the southeastern part of Sicily). The view of the city from the balcony of our room was wonderful, particularly for photographs, and changed from morning to dusk as the angle of the sun changed. The room itself was well-appointed, spacious and quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast was more than ample for our taste. My personal favorite part of our stay was interacting with Antonio Modica, the gracious proprietor of the hotel. His knowledge on almost any subject is astounding and made for enjoyable conversation. His friendships with many local merchants turned to our advantage in a few instances, such as when my eyeglasses required adjustment and he sent us to his optician friend. His knowledge of the area made it easy for us to sightsee using roads that did not show up on our GPS unit which apparently had out of date software. Other reviewers have complained about the many steps leading from the main street to the hotel entrance. If steps bother you, much of eastern Sicily and the Amalfi coast will bother you. As for me, I am a septuagenarian, yet I relished running those steps.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iceman017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We stayed at the Relais Modica for 3 nights. Its very, very clean. The breakfast is a bit basic, cereal, croissant & bread rolls etc but that wasnt a big deal for us, there was plenty of it. The owner Antonio cannot be more helpful, he was a charming man. Exactly the same applies to Lorenzo who was also wonderful, recommending tours, bars, restaurants. Our room was lovely and comfortable and the shower was fantastic. Brilliant views from the balcony. 3 nights wasnt long enough. The stairs are a bit of a setback, they are steep and there are alot of them!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Staying in Hotel Relais allowed us to sit on the balcony and gaze at the stunningly beautiful panorama of Modica stretched out before us, with San Giorgio taking centre stage. Modica is a beautiful, real living town with fabulous architecture - it's a warm, sensuous, exciting place. The hotel is charming and Antonio & his wife are wonderful hosts; if Lorenzo is at reception, he will help you with everything and anything. It was an unforgettable stay & it was extremely difficult to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

My wife and I arrived in Modica where the street names are hard to find but the Hotel Relais was not with many signs pointing the way. Antonio, the owner, from the moment we arrived was great. He gave us great advice on where to go, things to see and where to eat. He makes you feel like your apart of his family and goes to great lengths to make sure you're taken care of while at his hotel. He speaks 6 languages which was extremely impressive. There are a lot of stairs to reach the hotel but well worth the trek. If you spend a little time talking with Antonio, he may even have a beer with you as he tells you the history and splendor of his town. Great guy and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelDieHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We found the Relais Modica charming and full of character. In late November we were the only guests and were offered a low season rate of 85 euros. We chose a triple room on the top floor - Room 10 - cozy and spacious with a slanting wood-beamed ceiling and great view, and steps away from a roof terrace overlooking the town. From our window we saw the town lit up at night and heard church bells in the early morning. Proprietor Antonio Modica was kind, helpful, engaging and stimulating to talk to, and was impassioned about almost everything -- culture, food, the state of Italy and the world. One of the many gracious citizens of Modica who made our stay here so rewarding.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank Schweep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

Our room had an amazing view! This is the type of view that is worth the trip, waking up to it makes you forget the heat, the hours on the plane, anything! It is priceless.
The room in itself was fine and clean. The garden-roof top was a bit of a lie (where is the garden?) and the breakfast room had no window (a bit disappointing). The breakfast wasn't especially good, there was just bread and jams. It seemed poor compared to all the other breakfasts we had in Sicily.
The owner was extremely nice and helpful. He told to go eat in the restaurant called "Torre d'Oriente". This was the best dinner we had in 15 days. Not only was the food delicious but the view on the city was breathtaking (at night). We highly highly recomment you to eat there.
We are rating this hotel as average because we weren't aware that you can't access the hotel by car. This is the type of information we wished we would have known in advance. We had 4 pieces of luggage plus 2 bagpacks (yes it's a lot) but it was a nightmare to go up the 60+ steps under the heat (and to do it again the next day).
Except that, Modica is definitely worth a visit. We preferred it to its famous sister city Ragusa, don't miss it!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Rugzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
2.2 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
645 reviews
4.2 mi away
Borgo Don Chisciotte
Borgo Don Chisciotte
#18 of 18 in Modica
597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe d'Aragona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Torre Del Sud Hotel
Torre Del Sud Hotel
#3 of 18 in Modica
450 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ada
Hotel Villa Ada
#2 of 6 in Pozzallo
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 18 in Modica
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Modica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Modica

Address: Via Campailla n. 99, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Modica
#11 Family Hotel in Modica
Price Range: £65 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Modica 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais Modica is an Hotel "de charme" facing the Barocco in the town centre of Modica, from where You can easily reach on foot both the most beautiful monuments and the best restaurants and trattorias of the town. Our Hotel is an ancient noble palace completely restored 6 years ago, belonged to the Countess Mormino-Monelli and to the sicilian writer Vitaliano Brancati. You can see us on the web-siteWe just have 10 exclusive rooms all accessorizedwith private toilette-TV SAT-climatization- hair dryer- telephon, free internet point in the reception hallHotel Relais Modica is situated at 43 steps from the main road (Corso Umberto ).To reach the reception you can look for a parking along Corso Umberto , near the Theatre Garibaldi: there you’ll also see a small square where there is the Banca Intesa . At the corner of the bank you’ll see the stairs which brings up to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Hotel Relais Modica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Modica Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing