We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Relais Modica
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we stayed in Modica for 2 nights. If it comes to Hotel Relais Modica we could have stayed longer, because Antonio made us feel very welcome.
The room was great. good bed, large bathroom, all very clean and a splendid view from our balcony. Breakfast was very nice, a good choice.
The hotel is in the centre of beautiful Modica. There's lots to see and fantastic food in the restaurants. It was sad to leave Antonio, who was a pleasure to meet. If we ever come back to Modica, we'll stay with him of course!

Room Tip: all rooms are splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

I spent one night in Modica at Hotel Relais. Modica is a gorgeous and wonderful city, and Hotel Relais made the stay that much more special. I really did have a room with a view; from the terrace, room and from the bed! It was quite special. Antonio and Francesca, the owners, are the perfect hosts and so wonderful. I would highly recommend staying at Hotel Relais and hope to return one day. Thank you for making my time in Modica very special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MChrisH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

After the terrible experience of being robbed, arriving at Modica was so wonderful, even with the rain. Modica is a pretty little town, with wonderful churches, divided into two parts: Modica alta and Modica bassa. The Hotel is in Modica bassa. And the room we were given had a wonderful view to Modica alta and its old Cathedral.

The bedroom was very nice and spacious. The people at the hotel were so nice and friendly! I just give an example to confirm this: the day we left, we were supposed to leave before 8.00 a.m. Yet, Francesca was so nice, she prepared us breakfast and drove us to the railway station in a very sweet and gentle way. How can you not like it?

Room Tip: Once again, this is a very personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonorSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife and I only stayed here for one night during our trip to Sicily, but we wished we would have stayed for more. The hotel is situated right in the heart of historical Modica and offers stunning views of the adjacent hillsides. The rooms are comfortable and well furnished and the breakfast was delicious.

The staff of this hotel is what made our trip truly memorable. Antonio and Francesca were very friendly and speak perfect English. They provided excellent suggestions for dinning and sight seeing. They were very accommodating and offered to serve us breakfast after the typical hours. They even served us a bottle of sparkling wine that our friends had arranged in advance!

I will be staying here on my next trip to Modica.

Room Tip: Ask for the room next to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Houjk259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This was a fantastic hotel. The room was clean and spacious with a really nice view of the town. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and made for a really sound sleep. The hosts Francesca and Antonio were accommodating and really helpful for things to see and how to get there. This part of Sicily is lovely and staying here made it all the more enjoyable. I can't wait to return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank furb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

With a memorable view of Modica and the wonderful welcome from Francesca and Antonio we will not forget our 4 nights at the Relais. The room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast quite acceptable. We were treated like family by Francesca who went out of her way to resolve a problem we had with collecting a hire car (a warning to anyone renting from Europcar - their idea of "downtown" Modica is a 15 minute car journey away and they would not deliver to the hotel.Taxis are almost non existant so this is an unacceptable service).
This Hotel was a perfect base for visiting Modica, Noto and Scicli with good restaurants in town. Do not miss the local chocolate makers!!

Room Tip: Room 5 has spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Good hotel just off the main street in lovely Modica. Had 3 days here on second visit to Sicily. Town very interesting and not very touristy(yet, though Ryanair have just started flights to nearby Comiso). Best feature were undoubtedly Francesca and Antonio who were really friendly and helpful with very good English. Great to have our breakfast in the morning sun on our balcony. Facilities could benefit from a little update.
And yes, those steps which there is no easy way round...

Room Tip: Get a balcony with view of the ancient town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modica hotels
2.2 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe d'Aragona
4.2 mi away
Borgo Don Chisciotte
Borgo Don Chisciotte
#18 of 18 in Modica
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Torre Del Sud Hotel
Torre Del Sud Hotel
#3 of 18 in Modica
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grana Barocco Art Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 18 in Modica
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Modica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Modica

Address: Via Campailla n. 99, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Modica
#11 Family Hotel in Modica
Price Range: £64 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Modica 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais Modica is an Hotel "de charme" facing the Barocco in the town centre of Modica, from where You can easily reach on foot both the most beautiful monuments and the best restaurants and trattorias of the town. Our Hotel is an ancient noble palace completely restored 6 years ago, belonged to the Countess Mormino-Monelli and to the sicilian writer Vitaliano Brancati. You can see us on the web-siteWe just have 10 exclusive rooms all accessorizedwith private toilette-TV SAT-climatization- hair dryer- telephon, free internet point in the reception hallHotel Relais Modica is situated at 43 steps from the main road (Corso Umberto ).To reach the reception you can look for a parking along Corso Umberto , near the Theatre Garibaldi: there you’ll also see a small square where there is the Banca Intesa . At the corner of the bank you’ll see the stairs which brings up to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Hotel Relais Modica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Modica Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing