We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular painted ceiling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Difficult to fault. But we stayed in a nice room (de luxe blue room) for 3 nights. Beautiful tiled floor and a stunning C19th painted ceiling, about 20ft above the floor. Gilded chandelier and antique furniture made it a wonderful room. Modern bathroom and free wifi. Late in season so hotel & town were quiet and room just E99pn.
Lively part of Modica Alta with a short walk to some great views. A little difficult to find; few streets have obvious names. Street can be a little noisy, so take earplugs. Parking can be tricky, but the hotel will help.
Both restaurants were shut in November and for much of the winter - they're open around Xmas and New Year - but check. Breakfast was in the Gazza Ladra restaurant and was spectacular. Everyone very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notoriety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

Nothing but good things to say about my stay here. The staff were most welcoming and accommodating. We ate in the cafe and also the Michelin star restaurant and were very pleased with the service and quality of the meals. My room was not large but adequate and charming decor. The staff make the difference in this hotel-going out of their way to ensure a pleasant time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIP's. The room was fantastic with a sauna/shower and jacuzzi - beat that for £80!! The reception staff were brilliant, young man parked the car and transferred the cases to the room before we had even got there - other staff were also very accommodating. Breakfast was lovely with the choice of fresh fruit, cereals, cheeses and amazing cakes; what more would you want in Sicily - Waffles & Hash Browns? With a Michelin Restaurant, smart cafe and a locanda evening meal and coffee is also taken care of. All in all if you stay in Modica or the surrounding area it is a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are available a different prices - spoil yourself and go for an upgrade as it is definately wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDavRDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Nothing special about this hotel. Looks grand in the photos, but when you get there you realize the carpeting is ragged and everything is dated. Our room was in the attic with no window except a small skylight. The receptionist was very nice and the breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wearetravel1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We only had one night in Modica but this was a great choice of hotel. It was in an old grand mansion house with high celings and lovely period decor. It is a charming hotel and the owners and staff were delightful. They have both a Michelin star restaurant and a smart locanda. We opted for the locanda so we could have more traditional food. It was a great choice. An excellent restaurant - possibly one of the best from our 8 days in Sicily. Sensational food, very interesting options, great wine list and really attentive staff. Also not far to walk home. The only disappointment from the whole experience was the noise overnight. Our room was above the street and there was a group of rowdy people in the cafe direclty below until the early hours. Then the rubbish trucks started and the cars racing over the cobblestones. Not a good nights sleep which was such a shame as everything else was pretty idyllic.

Room Tip: Try to not have a room on the first floor above the cafe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

During the trip planning phase we were stuck between basing in Ragusa Ibla or Modica. Several contributors to the Sicily forum had stressed that Modica was a place where one could stay and experience true, day-to-day life while being surrounded by the spectacular Baroque architecture of the southeast. We decided on Modica, finally, and also elected to rely on hotels and taxis for transportation, as we didn't want to deal with the hassles of driving and parking. We arranged for a transfer from the Catania Airport to the hotel, and were thrilled that it was Mr. Failla himself who picked us up immediately on arrival!

Mr. Failla is a gracious gentleman and very helpful host. He provided us with the orientation we needed in order to feel grounded and secure in our new home for several days. He is one of those people one meets while traveling who leaves a lasting, favorable impression. We will be forever grateful to him for providing us with a lovely introduction to charms of Sicily.

The hotel is truly of the old school, almost reminiscent of the old Sherry-Netherland in New York or the Connaught in London from decades past. Although not quite as grand or luxurious in scale it is elegant and comfortable in a way that resonates with the traveling cognoscenti.

We had a large suite with a very tall, elaborately-painted ceiling and beautifully tiled floor. The bed was firm - very firm - so be prepared for that; fortunately, that is how we like it. The bath was small but adequate. Our only complaint was a bad odor that wafted from the bath every now and then, which was remedied by closing the door. Air conditioning worked well, and lighting was well-placed. We had two tiny balconies which overlooked city life from the second story. I particularly enjoyed watching the school children play while waiting for the school bus. There is a lot of activity here - it seems as if one is in a major hub of Modica Alta, but that made it all the more interesting. There was a fair amount of street noise, which dissipated as evening turned into night. All in all, it was a comfortable space. Not luxurious in the way of a Ritz-Carlton or Aman hotel, but very nice nonetheless, conveying a true sense of place.

Breakfast was elaborate and very satisfying. In addition to what one would expect at a hotel of this caliber, there were at least three cakes presented on the buffet table every morning representing the very best the local pasticceria could produce. One cake - a cream-filled gateau with strawberries and pistachios, covered with creme Chantilly - will remain in my memory forever.

Of course, the staff is really what makes all the difference. Manuela, Paola, and Laura at the front desk did everything they could to make our experience satisfying and enjoyable. And Valerio, who served in a number of capacities, embodied competence and friendliness while exuding a particularly appealing swagger.

Modica can be difficult to manage if one has problems with walking. The hotel is in the upper town, and some of the sights and stores are in the lower town. A series of stairs goes all the way from bottom to top, but we actually enjoyed climbing these. One day, while visiting the lower town (Modica Bassa) I heard the sound of trumpets playing the "Triumphal March" from "Aida." When I investigated its source, I found three high school boys practicing the piece while pointing their trumpets out the street-level window of their school. They were actually very good, and played in tune. It was a moment I will always cherish; I could not have imagined a more serendipitous event for the beginning of our trip.

The hotel arranged a number of excursions for us. Mr. Failla drove us to some of the places; on the day we visited Ragusa Ibla, he substituted a local taxi driver who did a great job. We had no worries, whatsoever. It was easy to be a guest of the hotel. That's the way it should be, right? They get it. They know what to do and how to execute it in a way that makes you feel like a cherished guest. (Of note is that we were two men traveling together, and we were always made to feel welcome and comfortable. I am particularly grateful for that.)

This hotel is in my top-ten of all time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpertTripPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights during June 2012. We were allocated a splendid room on the first floor - the Blue Room.This overlooks the side street which is a bit noisy whether from boy racers or early morning bin collections.

The staff were welcoming, the room was fairly comfortable, although the added on air conditioning unit was a bit of a let down.

Breakfasts were excellent. A high spot of our stay was dining in the Gazza Ladra Restaurant, where we enjoyed very high grade service, exemplary and imaginative cuisine and thoughtful assistance with menu selections, particularly as my wife preferred only a smallmeal rather than go through the entire menu.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGPAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
3.8 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
570 reviews
6.1 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
692 reviews
4.3 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Giorgio Hotel
San Giorgio Hotel
#10 of 18 in Modica
41 reviews
0.9 mi away
FerroHotel
FerroHotel
#7 of 18 in Modica
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Failla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Failla

Address: Via Blandini 5, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Modica
#3 Family Hotel in Modica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Modica
Price Range: £57 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Failla 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Failla Hotel is a four star hotel, located in a beautiful XVIII century building, not an unusual example in Modica indeed, which has been perfectly restored thanks to local skilled craftsmen. The Faillas, showing the typical hospitality of their land, decided to open their house to their guests. The moment you enter, you can feel a fascinating atmosphere given by the light scent of the ancient stone walls and the pitch stone floor, typical of this area. The exclusive furniture and refined decorations will give the final touch to an unforgettable stay. Palazzo Failla Hotel is located in Modica Alta, in Via Blandini, near two of the most beautiful architectural examples in Modica, such as St. George's Cathedral and the Earls' Castle. It's an ideal starting point to visit both Modica and the whole area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Failla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Failla Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Failla Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing