We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in August, and found it to be an enchanting place.

It's a beautiful hotel in a stunning town. Well located at the top of the town, there are some great views to be had nearby. The room was large and luxurious (we had the 'relax' room, with jacuzzi), tucked away in a separate part of the hotel 50 yards down the road. It was very peaceful and well equipped. We had some trouble with the PC in the room (it didn't work), but the staff were ever so apologetic and helpful, and allowed us to use the computer in the business centre, so it wasn't an issue. Very clean and tidy room also.

We ate at one of the two hotel restaurants one evening (the non-michelin starred restaurant), and it was a fantastic experience. Wonderful food served by staff who had a genuine interest and passion for cuisine. The courtyard setting of the restaurant was charming too.

The hotel is well located for exploring the town, and the reception staff were really very helpful in pointing out things to see and do, restaurant recommendations etc. Parking is a bit of a nightmare, but the concierge was on hand to move the car, relieving us of the hassle.

A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyrout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Failla
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2010

This was our favorite hotel during our honeymoon across Sicily and maybe our favorite hotel anywhere. It is an old family palace with elegant period furnishings and lovely frescoes. We stayed in the blue room, which had tiled floors, a balcony, amazing high painted ceilings and a modern luxury bathroom. The staff was very helpful, and they parked our car for free. The breakfast in the main restaurant was excellent, as was the hotel's trattoria down the road.

Palazzo Failla is set near the very top of Modica (Modica Alta) which means it is a bit difficult to find, but it has stunning views nearby, and you can walk down through the boroque buildings and narrow steep roads to the main town. Modica is a beautiful city, and we highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modernspectator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We had the good fortune to stay in Palazzo Failla during June 2010 and there are many reasons why we rate it highly and would love to return. First and foremost, we would like to lavish praise upon the delightful hosts and staff who provide impeccable, professional and warm-hearted service.

Set in upper Modica, Palazzo Failla provides tourists with a wealth of opportunity both within and beyond its walls. The hotel itself retains an authentic Sicilian character while providing the grace, elegance and charm of a luxury small hotel. It is impeccably maintained, spotlessly clean and the rooms are generous in size with modern bathrooms. We stayed in the Blue Room which seduced us with the beauty of its tall frescoed ceilings and decorative tiled floor, its attractive furnishings and a deliciously comfortable bed.

We are both "foodies" who have experienced many fine restaurants in a variety of countries. We mention this fact because, after touring independently around Sicily for three weeks, we can confidently say that our meals at "La Gazza Ladra", which has a Michelin star, were far and away the best we experienced during our holiday. Accursio Craparo is a highly gifted chef, well supported by his knowledgeable sommelier and charming wait staff - Karl, we love you! We also agree with another writer that Palazzo Failla breakfasts which comprise freshly squeezed juices, superb coffee and a variety of savoury and sweet options are indeed "top notch".

Palazzo Failla is, to our minds, a perfect base for a Sicilian holiday. We liked being able to walk out the front doors and immerse ourselves in an authentic cultural experience which is untarnished by tourism. We also think it's a terrific base for day trips to places such as Syracuse, Noto, Cava D'Ispica, Ragusa, Palazzolo Acreide, Akrai, Pantalica, Agrigento, Piazza Armerina, Caltagirone and more.

If we had the opportunity, we'd fly back tomorrow!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e-Aletheia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We have just returned from Palazzo Failla Hotel and had a wonderful honeymoon. We had the relax room, with jacuzzi bath and sauna shower. The room was spotless, comfortable and cool ). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only slight downside was the 400 steps up and down to the main centre, but good for toning legs!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locks1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

The Palazzo Failla is a great find. The hotel is a recenly renovated family palace which was transformed into a small, intimate hotel. Our room had high ceilings and wonderful tiled floors, distinctively decorated with 19th century furniture and paintings. The common areas also carried this same sense of grand style, with delightful ceramics lining the walls. The hotel staff were very helpful from the moment we drove up to the hotel, assisting us in parking our car on the street right next to the hotel. We also got special attention after we left the hotel with special assistance in shipping an item back to the US. The restaurants were fabulous, one featuring Nouvelle cuisine, the other more traditional Sicilian fare. Both were delicious. The breakfast offered was one of the best we had in Sicily. The hotel was a bit tricky to find, but it was fun to ask for directions as we made our way through the winding streets of Modica, and discover this wonderful hotel. We certainly hope to return!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard32653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Palazzo Failla is certainly a property worth staying at in Modica. The staff is very accommodating, the hotel is very nice and full of old world charm, while still having all the modern conveniences one could expect. It hosts two of the better restaurants in town - one even has a Michelin star. The hotel is divided into two properties - one is the original palazzo which is full of old world charm. It is decorated in very typical old-fashioned Italian luxury (old fashioned does not mean worn), while the bathrooms are new and modern. The other property is across the street - down a short alleyway and is more modern in architecture. It has less outright architectural charm, but the rooms are impeccably appointed - to a small degree more so than the palazzo in terms of furniture. Think of it this way - the furniture in the Palazzo's rooms is less present because your eyes go to the frescoes on the amazingly high ceilings, while the dependence has to place more emphasis on the decor because there are no frescoes (they even put a computer in your room for you to use). Both are beautiful, but for different reasons. The dependence houses the "normal" hotel restaurant - my favorite of the two, while the Palazzo houses the Michelin star restaurant - my wife's favorite of the two. I found the room prices to be reasonable. The Michelin star restaurant was not cheap, but the other restaurant offered a lot of value for money. I would gladly return to this property. The only thing to be aware of is that the property is located in upper Modica (up the hill) and most of the monuments are down the hill in what is considered the center of town - be prepared to walk if you don't drive.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed for two nights in this lovely place to explore Modica and Ragusa and we can't praise the hotel enough. We had a spacious room with an impeccable bath, superb breakfast ( the best we had in the fortnight we visited Sicily) and most of all: very friendly and helpful staff. They went the extra mile to make us feel welcome.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Willie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
2.5 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
645 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
526 reviews
1.9 mi away
Torre Del Sud Hotel
Torre Del Sud Hotel
#3 of 18 in Modica
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Giorgio Hotel
San Giorgio Hotel
#12 of 18 in Modica
25 reviews
4.3 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe d'Aragona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Failla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Failla

Address: Via Blandini 5, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Modica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Modica
#5 Family Hotel in Modica
Price Range: £67 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Failla 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Failla Hotel is a four star hotel, located in a beautiful XVIII century building, not an unusual example in Modica indeed, which has been perfectly restored thanks to local skilled craftsmen. The Faillas, showing the typical hospitality of their land, decided to open their house to their guests. The moment you enter, you can feel a fascinating atmosphere given by the light scent of the ancient stone walls and the pitch stone floor, typical of this area. The exclusive furniture and refined decorations will give the final touch to an unforgettable stay. Palazzo Failla Hotel is located in Modica Alta, in Via Blandini, near two of the most beautiful architectural examples in Modica, such as St. George's Cathedral and the Earls' Castle. It's an ideal starting point to visit both Modica and the whole area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Failla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Failla Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Failla Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing