We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Residence in Modica”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Modica, Province of Ragusa, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Huehueten...
Victoria, BC
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful Residence in Modica”
Reviewed 17 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This internally modern, upscale residence is located next to the San Giorgio church in upper Modica. Three rooms accommodate up to 3 couples. Very private. Very well equipped with cooking utensils, dishes, washing supplies and toiletries. A welcome basket of cookies and chocolates was appreciated. Easy walking access to all parts of Modica (anticipate lots of stairs however, as Modica runs up and down a hillside). Fast response to our emails with Luca, and Lorenzo was very patient and helpful in orienting us to the property. In my opinion, Modica is unfairly lower on ratings compared to its baroque neighbours Noto and Ragusa, but with great shopping, restaurants and accommodation like Hortus Suites, Modica is my favorite of the three.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazytrave...
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming, Elegant, Comfortable Villa - in the heart of Modica”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This villa is very unique in that it is in the center of Modica in the shadow of San Giorgio. You wake to the bells every morning (not too early though). The villa is in a residential area of Modica which means it's very quiet. The villa is within walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, etc. The villa itself is extremely clean and modern but it still retains the flavor of an ancient ruin. Parking is on-street nearby and fairly easy to access. Do not underestimate the amount of steps in Modica. We welcomed the steps to keep in shape. Where ever you go, there will be steps. The Wifi in the villa was exceptional, even when multiple people were using the internet at the same time. The villa even comes with an in-house iPad. The villa was well-appointed with quality appliances - there was nothing we needed. The showers had good water pressure and hot water (solar powered). The A/C worked very well. The quality of the construction was first-rate as was anything inside the villa including the beds/mattresses which were very comfortable. The TV/cable system was very easy to use. The couches in the living room weren't our favorite as they were awkward for several people to use at the same time. The garden and terrace area was excellent but for bird droppings that we tried to clean off regularly (there are lots of birds in the area which contribute to the peacefulness of the villa's location). The garden and terrace included a variety of furniture and a large table for aperitivi and dinners. There is a wine cellar stocked with wine for guest use (for a charge), but we didn't have the occasion to use it. The three bedrooms were all very nice with different features. The villa manager, Lorenzo, was awesome. He was easy to communicate with (via email and text) and was always at our service if we needed anything. He was very helpful and polite. Booking with Luca was easy. The weekly cleaning service was excellent. We also booked a dinner with the chef which was delicious. The villa is exceptionally classy but comfortable. We would definitely recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Dear Rosie, I am really grateful to your of the beautiful and detailed review, we have worked hard to create a unique environment and a bespoke service which might match the highest expectations.
Your appreciation is the best response to our efforts, many thanks!
We do hope to welcome you again in the future.
Take care and all the best
Luca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22Anderso...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Residenza Hortus is everything it promises in the description and even more. Extremely well appointed and well equipped. Great location. Very quiet, yet walking distance to many restaurants and bars. Beautiful gardens. We ( 2 couples) spent 4 wonderful nights in this amazing residence.
Thank you Lucca for sharing your Residenza with us.
Karilla

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Grazie mille Karilla! I am really glad you enjoyed the villa and the service, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future…
All the best, Luca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivitena
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“STYLISH, CHICK AND VERY COMFORTABLE HOUSE IN THE HEART OF MODICA”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had the most wonderful and lovely stay at Hortus whilst traveling through Sicily. It is located in the heart of Modica and we made lovely day trips to Ragusa, Noto and Siracuse. Modica is a very lively and chick town, with top and high end restaurants. We celebrated New Year´s Eve at the fantastic Fattoria delle Torri. A lovely 6 course dinner with wines included.
The house has been remodeled with the most exquisite taste and decorated with some of Lucca´s paintings and sculptures which we loved, keeping the ancient stones and mixing them with very contemporary materials. The house and the garden are so beautiful and cozy, specially the suite upstairs which has a lovely terrace with the most beautiful views of the cathedral´s tower. The full and modern kitchen has everything you need. I would recommend Lucca putting a Nespresso coffee machine. It´s all I missed. Also, there is a very complete and great wine cellar downstairs.
Lucca, Aurora and Lorenzo were so kind and helpful. They gave us the most useful tips and made us feel at home.
We will definitely recommend to stay here and use it as your base point. We would love to go back and stay much longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stylish villa that oozed charm & set in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is an amazing villa that is tastefully decorated and oozes charm. It is set in a wonderful location & had a fabulous garden. I would definitely return! The owners were also very helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowbs2701
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, secret house in beautiful Modica - can't wait to return”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Hortus in early October and had a fantastic time. We spent 2 weeks in Modica and just loved exploring and getting to know the town and the people, and always delighted to return to Hortus daily and sit in the secret garden relaxing and soaking up the atmosphere. We felt the house was excellent - we loved the big round bed, the bath behind, the spiral staircase, the upper terrace, the orange and pomegranate trees in the garden, the cool spa, and the modern kitchen. The fact that you can't hear cars because you're in the labyrinth of steps and alleys is a blessing - you look up at the cathedral and remind yourself where you are.
We can't wait to return - a fantastic holiday in a fantastic house

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: EVERYTHING - to have such a large house and lovely garden was brilliant
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanna H
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in the heart of Modica Alta near San Giorgio”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had two weeks at Hortus, using Modica as a base for exploring the Val de Noto and beyond. This is a beautiful property where we experienced a few problems, but overall a lovely vacation. The garden is a tranquil oasis (but be prepared to be awakened at 8 a.m. by San Giorgio) and that's where we spent most of our time; highly recommend organizing a dinner outside if the weather is good. Beware of many stairs in Modica and the fact that everything has to be carried quite a distance (from where you can park). My sister-in-law arrived on crutches so she really suffered. The interior design is beautiful, but will need to be better maintained to keep it pristine. Aurora the concierge took excellent care of us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden, comfortable beds, the upstairs terrace
Liked least: Spa pool had lost its cover so attracted pigeons, electricity went off, leaky shower, dirty cushions
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing