We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Hotel La Batia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Batia
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alcamo
Bambrugge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We arrived late in the afternoon after a long trip across the mountains.
We looked forward to take a dip in the swimming pool but after checking in we came to know that the swimming pool was out of order.
Indeed the water was green .
Noboddy of the staff was telling us something of was proposing an alterntive.
The staff at the front desk was close to arrogant
The location of the hotel isn't very well situated and our room had no windows
The breakfast was good
The restaurant close to the hotel was rather good

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan-Kristien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    99
    34
    23
    15
See reviews for
78
111
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this wonderful, independent, art hotel and look forward to returning! The hotel is in a converted monastary and is full of creative touches and one-off pieces which make it feel special. The staff were friendly and professional, and the food (breakfast and dinner) of a high standard. The room itself was split level and artfully decorated.

We particularly enjoyed the outside ares - the pools were lovely as was the flowers and vegetation surrounding them. And an unforgettable memory for us will be watching Murray win Wimbledon at the covered pool side bar whilst sipping an Aperol Spritz!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

we ordered the suite, wanted to have a nice romantic expiriance.
when we arrived the lady at the desk said we did a last minute booking so they only have a "small suite"
very annoying already since we booked from hotels.com specificlay a suite that was available.
when we got to the room we were shocked,
it was a triple room , one of the worst ones i saw.
the double bed was up the stairs and another bed in the entrance blocking the window.
let me tell you...there was nothing romantic about it.
it was a tiny horrible room .
when we asked to change and atleast get a normal room (even though we paid much more then a normal room fee) we were answered that everything is fully booked. and its our problem.
the women at the front desk was errogant and far from welcoming.
hotel resturant is bad as well we waited 30 min for the pizza...
we left the day after to a different hotel the fixed this horrible expiriance.

Room Tip: make sure that when you pay for a suite you actually going to get one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie_sims112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived earlier then normal check in time and where allowed to leave the luggage and go to the pool meanwhile the room was getting prepared. Breakfast was really good with both salty and sweet things. Very helpful receptionists and bar ladies. Pool a bit dirty but over all a great stay! ! Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaBerglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We were transferred to this hotel when our hotel of choice had to close due to plumbing problems following torrential rain. The building has been very carefully and tastefully converted from a monastery to a hotel, the infrastructure is there for a really great experience. However it is not what we had; arriving for one night only, the reception seemed to want to hide away. They had to be asked what and where the facilities were, eg the swimming pool and terrace and terrace bar; the reason for their reticence became obvious when we were told that both swimming pools were drained and the terrace bar was closed. We asked if we could have a gin and tonic, which was provided without lemon, without tonic and without ice! I had asked for ice but was told the ice machine was in the other bar which was closed. Later, I investigated this other bar to find an ice machine full, the waiter just cba to go to get some!
After this we didn't dare risk the restaurant. A great shame, as the building is really very beautiful and deserves better.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spliceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My partner and I were looking really forward to spend some days in this hotel!

We were disappointed with the room! We paid for a 3 bedroom and spacious room and specifically asked not to have a room situated just above the restaurant, before hand! We were given room 207 which is very small, poor and very faulty lighting, no airconditioning and the noise coming up from the restaurant underneath every evening kept us awake. We even asked for a small discount, due to the various short-comings but we were not afforded one!

The pool area is appealing and breakfast is quite good, eevery morning greeted with smiles by the 2 nice ladies serving us.

Definitely NOT 4 star material, especially the rooms!

Room Tip: Be careful which room you book beforehand as they are all different! Some of the 3 bedroom rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Nice hotel, different from many hotels because of lot of art that is seen everywhere. Staff was friendly, rooms were nice & bid and the pool was great also. It is a bit outside town Alcamo, so you need a car. Breakfast is good and the waitresses are very friendly.

Restaurant downstairs serves good food with reasonable price, but service is slow.

Only bad thing about this hotel is very poor noise isolation. You can here talking from your neighbour rooms, easily. Take ear plugs with you!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usere38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcamo
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Battigia
Hotel La Battigia
#2 of 3 in Alcamo
363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#1 of 3 in Alcamo
266 reviews
3.9 mi away
Residence Villaggio Petruso - Balestrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
#3 of 17 in Castellammare del Golfo
574 reviews
4.9 mi away
Marina Holiday Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Hotel Cala Marina
Hotel Cala Marina
#1 of 17 in Castellammare del Golfo
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Batia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Batia

Property: Hotel La Batia
Address: Via Porta Palermo 106, 91011 Alcamo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Alcamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alcamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Batia 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alcamo in the heart of Castellammare del Golfo, a crossroads between Palermo and Trapani, Hotel La Batia was built in 1810 and was for years the summer residence of the Sisters. It enjoys an absolutely envious position. La Batia is an excellent starting point for any excursion into the territory of western Sicily and throughout Sicily just for the close proximity. Alcamo’s Center, with a vast coastline of fine golden sand and with a variety of attractive tourist destinations such as Segesta, Scopello, Riserva Naturale dello Zingaro, Erice ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Batia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Batia Sicily/Alcamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing