We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wine tour”

Castello della Paneretta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The medieval castle and winery is situated in the Chianti Classico area on the western slopes of the Elsa valley, looking towards San Gimignano. In 1577 Ludovico Capponi restored the castle and commissioned Bernardino Poccetti, important painter, to fresco the loggia of the court. Production of wine is documented from 1596 on and until today we preserve the tradition and in our vineyards grow exclusively tuscan grape varieties which were used for high quality wines.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine tour”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We visited this beautiful castle and its winery our 2nd morning in Italy. Our driver gave us an overview of the site on our ride from Florence on a perfect sunny Tuscan day. Our lovely host/guide at the castle was very knowledgeable and guided us through the history of this site and the wine making process; very educational. The grounds and the castle are stunning. The tasting was spectacular and we have just now received the wines we purchased. Will be served with our dinner tonight. This is a visit not to be missed; highly recommend to anyone planning a visit to this area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery and view”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Spent an amazing afternoon touring the property, the grounds, hearing the history of the family, and the region. Finished with a tasting, during which I discovered that they produce some fantastic wines.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank keithnewhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A special experience”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Sweet Chiara had the day off, but when the three of us came to the beautiful castle, she came within 5 minutes to give us a private tour. It was very interesting to hear about the winemaking, and surprising to learn that they still harvest the grapes by hand! We visited the wine cellar, and afterwards got to taste three of their best red wines with some cold cuts, bread, olive oil and cheese. A wonderful experience it was.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisbethKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing wine tour with a lovely guide!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had an amazing private wine tour here last month with my husband and another couple we were travelling with. The host was excellent. Her english was exceptional, and her knowledge and passion for the subject made the tour that much better.

The tasting room was stunning, and we ended up staying for as long as we could!

I would certainly recommend this wine tour to anyone I know visitng the area, and will be back myself if I ever visit again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Castello Della Paneretta”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our visit to this winery located in a medieval castle was truly a "ten out ten". The winery is located in the Chianti Classico region of Tuscany and we were afforded amazing views on our ride to the vineyard. Once at the winery, we were greeted by an amazing host who spoke excellent English. She was extremely knowledgeable and gave us a great tour of the grounds. The private wine tasting and food pairing was amazing. If visiting the Tuscany region, I definitely recommend visiting this vineyard. Appointments are required.

http://www.paneretta.it/www.paneretta.it/Home.html

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castello della Paneretta also viewed

Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
 
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Castello della Paneretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing