We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location, splendid villa and great host!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Il Santo

Villa il santo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa il santo
vila ils anto pool with views view of villa il santo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Villa il santo
vila ils anto pool with views
view of villa il santo
villa il santo sitting room with fireplace
villa il santo kitchen
villa il santo kitchen
villa il santo living room with view
villa il santo tv sitting room
villa il santo masterroom
villa il santo master room
master room bath room
vilal il santo twin/double bedroom ground floor
twin bedroom
living room with views
annex bedroom at swimming pool  level
villa il santo master room fire place
il santo dining room
villa il santo dining room
al fresco dining area
Villa il santo areal view
Contemporary look renovation in a 1000 y old villa, heart of Chianti, stunning views, great location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sea_Man_6
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, splendid villa and great host!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wow, what an awesome stay at the Villa Il Santo! Our group of friends (with some kids) had just an incredible experience.
The location is perfect, the Villa is in the middle of the Chianti region and is perched on the hillside for stunning views of the surrounding hills and valleys (+the towers of San Giminiano), with beautiful sunsets. You can enjoy the view from so many places in the villa: the dining balcony, the rear shaded area, the solarium, the swimming pool and many of the bedrooms. The location was great as a base for some day trips to Pisa, Siena, Florence and Lucca. All within 1 to 1.5 hours away.
The villa itself is stunning. Beautiful ancient buildings (a main house/tower with his barn) restored to exquisite taste and comfort while preserving the historical flair. Each of the room is very large and very well decorated. Lots of attention to details like very large double shower heads, double sink basins, comfy towels, comfortable beds, etc. Lots of common rooms for reading, relaxing and socializing. Beautiful modern kitchen and dining rooms.
Everything was great with the villa and the spacious rooms and décor far surpassed my expectations.
The nice swimming pool was a hit with the kids (and adults too...). The lawn with bocce balls provided some good distraction before site visits.
The owner Enzo was very present and attentive to make sure that all was going for the best. We organized several services with him (like cook, baby-sitter, wine/cheese tasting etc.) and he was very helpful in organizing everything with delightful local people.
All guests were super-impressed with the stay. Couldn't think of a better place for our Tuscany vacation.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
thank you for your beautiful review
it has been a pleasure for us to host you n your family n friends. Happy to know you enjoyed your stay n your have fond memories. Hope to host you in the future again, we will have some new experience to offer you
Enzo n Annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christie...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Perfection”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The perfect base for an introduction to Italy and an introduction to Tuscany. Views are breath-taking, house is fantastic for a large group and everything you want or need can be accommodated. Beautiful restaurant a short walk from the house, great little village nearby.
The hosts are very helpful and accomodating, Rosanna the cook is gorgeous - and I didn't really want to write this review because I'd like to keep this place a secret in case I ever have the opportunity to return!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
HI DOnna,thank you for yoru review n hope to host you in the future! we enjoyed having all you girls!!
annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drgolferm...
drgolfermd
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning Tuscany Villa...Breathtaking Views... Tranquil Oasis...Perfection in Everyway!!!”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stunning Renovation! Magical Chianti Villa! Perfect Location!(Barbarino Val D'elsa)
We had the most magnificent stay at Villa Il Santo! After EXTENSIVE research on the internet, and I mean exhaustive research, I fell upon an amazing property called Villa Il Santo. (www.villailsanto.com) We have travelled the world and stayed at many stunning properties, but this is at the top of our list. The photos DO NOT even begin to show the stunning beauty of this brilliantly renovated 1000AD property…it’s modern chic with old character blended so exceptionally well. Every turn you make in the house or on the grounds, gives you 180 degree views of what one sees on postcards of Tuscany, with castles on top of hilltops, rolling hills lined with olive trees and vineyards and the towers of San gimanano floating in the distance. I cannot even describe how amazing this property is, and how incredibly helpful the warm, kind, and passionate the villa owners were to us…It was truly hard to leave.
We were lucky enough to use this magical villa as our home base as we searched for a wedding villa… What we realized is our favorite part of the day was knowing we could head back to Villa Il Santo to the private tranquil oasis after driving up and down hair pin turn country roads in search of our wedding villa knowing it was not far off the highway and so close to many towns including Florence, Siena, San Gimanano, Certaldo… We looked at 5 star luxury castles, wineries, villas from Florence down thru Chianti into Montalcino and Val D’Orcia…..and everytime we came back to our beautiful oasis, we could only envision our wedding festivities there…to share this wonderful property with our closest friends and family would be a dream. The only issue is since they renovated this property to the highest level and it sleeps 14-16, it is hard to find anything comparable in the area for other guests to stay in. There is a 5 star luxury hotel 15 minutes away but it just doesn’t compare…
Annagloria and Enzo truly went out of their way to make our stay so incredibly comfortable…with an authentic experience…they set up massages at the villa; hooked us up with local restaurants we would not have otherwise found; stocked the house with everything we needed before our arrival… If only we had more time, they would have hooked us up with so much more...Enzo heard we loved art and took as to a local artist’s studio and offered to help us with renovating and furnishing our house in the states… We wish we could hire enzo and annagloria to do our renovation ☺

Sally and Kai MDs
Harvard Medical School
Boston

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
Thank you Sally for your nice review!!So happy you enjoyed your stay.. and you are planning to get married by us...can't wait to see you again and plan the wedding....sooo exciting!!!thank you again for having selected our house for such an important day of your lives!
ciao annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of comfort combined with luxury and openness to the outdoors.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
hi
so great to read your review n to know you have fond memories of your stay! this is the best part of our job: to succeed in making our guests feeling at home, their Italian home and experience our life style and country
hope to see you soon again
annagloria n enzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
HI Suzanne
so happy to read your review n that after one year you still have fond memories of your stay. Come back, we now have a garden theatre in our Castellare de sernigi garden where we hold a concert every week for our villas' guests during the summer months, from lyric to classic, to jazz...you will love it!
thank you for having chosen our house
annagloria n enzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Villa, gardens, and hosts are beyond words!
Liked least: If you find the need to turn on the heat, understand up front that this will be and additional charge for the fuel used.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Laura
sorry I only reply now to your beautiful review!
happy to know you enjoyed your experiential stay by us, the food, the singers....come back and you will have new things to see n to taste and to experience!!
have a great winter
Annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
spazz3238...
California, USA
2 reviews
“When can we go back?”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying and marrying at Villa il Santo in September 2014. We rented the property for a week accompanied by both of our immediate families (12 people total).

The property, the facilities, the owners, and the surrounding area were all fantastic.

Enzo and Anagloria (the villa owners) were very accommodating and welcoming. They helped us coordinate a few activities (truffle hunting, Florence site-seeing) and a wonderful welcome dinner.

The villa facilities were wonderful. The appliances and furnishings were top-notch and the view of the Tuscan country-side was phenomenal.

Our group was 12 adults, but the villa could have easily accommodated another 4 people.

Our wedding was coordinated by a Florence-based wedding planner, but Enzo and Anagloria were very helpful as well. There is a patio area overlooking the countryside that is perfect for a small wedding.

Enzo will stock the wine cabinet with red and white wine made from the grapes on his property (the wine is very reasonably priced and you pay for what you open).

There are several towns/villages within a 15 minute drive so it's easy to shop at the local market or eat at a nearby restaurant.

Our week at Villa il Santo was a once in a lifetime experience and we highly recommend it. I'm already looking for an excuse to plan another trip there in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, pool, Annagloria & Enzo's hospitality, wine,
Liked least: The villa is difficult to find at first
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
hi
it was such a pleasure for us you to choose our house for your wedding!
we enjoyed your company n your happiness !
come back to celebrate your anniversary!
with all our love
annagloria n enzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing