We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Canonica di Cortine
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Primavera(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
US$367
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Borghetto di San Filippo(Barberino Val d'Elsa)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Semifonte(Barberino Val d'Elsa)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais(Tavarnelle Val di Pesa)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa(Tavarnelle Val di Pesa)
US$851
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa San Giorgio(Poggibonsi)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quercia al Poggio(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
137
35
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
35
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bchianti regiontoilet papera nice place to staysan gimignanowashing machinewonderful placedrying rackowners and staffco opmemorable staystayed nightsrestaurant recommendationsnearby townbeautiful propertylovely villabeautiful tuscany
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

This was my third return to La Canonica di Cortine and every time I come back it just gets better. Lucia, Stefano and the staff immediately make you feel welcome and at home. The house we stayed in was beautiful ( As every other room in my previous visits) the grounds impeccable and the warmth of everyone at the Villa is extraordinary !!! Next year I will return - this time taking my elderly parents for a vacation one only dreams of. Thank you again for a perfect vacation. Ciao

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Janet,
Thank you so much for your nice words, we cannot wait to meet your parents and see you again, Cortine and everyone of us miss you!
Ciao and take care!
Lucia Fusi, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

La Canonica di Cortine is located almost exactly 40 minutes in either direction between Florence and Sienna. It was the ideal spot for exploring Tuscany. It is also very close to the major Italian highway so it was very convenient for any long trips.
The grounds themselves are gorgeous. We were there in mid-October, so both pools were closed (the one for the entire grounds and since we were staying in the villa, the private one for the house). It was incredibly quiet and we never ran into any other guests. We're not sure if was due to the season or the isolation of the main villa. We had absolutely everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The villa is typically rented out for groups of 8-14, so as a group of 6, we had more than enough room to spread out. We were 3 couples (parents-in-law, siblings-in-law, and my husband and me) and there are 3 master suites so none of us had to share a bathroom. The proprietors were extremely accommodating with all our requests.
The property also set up a fabulous cooking lesson in the villa's kitchen (4-5 course dinner that takes approximately 4 hours) with Rosanna Passione and it was one of the most memorable experiences we had on our entire journey.
Some things to keep in mind: During our stay, the heat was not on. You could request heat but you had to pay by cubic foot (meter? not sure). Only the fireplace in the dining room was operable. It came stocked with enough wood for our 1-week stay, but you had to pay extra to get it refilled. It does get very chilly in the house at night. We were provided with dishwashing and laundry detergents, but you may want to bring your own if you have lots to wash. There is no dryer but there is a drying rack available. At the time of year we were there, our clothes took forever to dry. There is a small mini-mart in San Donato di Poggio, but beware of Italian closing times (closed from around noon-4).There is also a butcher in town. The largest supermarket is about 20 minutes away.
This is a great choice for a home away from home. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shasta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Perfect location to explore all of Tuscany. Puts you in arms reach of everything. Our apartment was spacious, charming and clean -- couldn't ask for more. The grounds were impeccable and Stefano was always there to help. Will recommend and return whenever we can. A great choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dead MattinIta,
Thank you very much for the time taken to write this review, it is very much appreciated!
We look forward to seeing you again in Cortine and we wish you all the best.
Regards
Lucia Fusi, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Fabulous place with beautiful Tuscany countryside surrounding it. A little tricky to get to but once there it was well worth it. The Tuscan dinner on our arrival that we paid for was very muche appreciated and lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Angy,
thank you for the time taken to write this review, we really really appreciate it.
Cortine is a medieval village located between the Chianti hills. Indeed, we believe that the strategic position in which we are located is our strenght but it could be tricky as well. Sometimes gps got lost if not well updated. That's way we always send directions to our clients. We always suggest our guests to call us in case of trouble in finding the road, reception is open daily 9:00am-7:00pm and we are always happy to help!
We await you back someday! Ciao!
Lucia Fusi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great location, great hosts, and wonderful food. Our stay could not have been any better!
There was an option to partake in an evening meal that was typical of the Italian 4-5 course dinner. The meals were delicious! Too bad we only had time for two of them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Rock,
first of all we would like to thank you for the time spent in writing this review. We are very happy you enjoyed our typical tuscan dinner, we have a very old cooking tradition and it is always a pleasure to help people to discover it!
Hoping to see you again in Cortine we send you our warmest regards.

Lucia Fusi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews