We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Canonica di Cortine
Certificate of Excellence
Czech, Prague
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Pro: Amazing location, friendly staff, a looots of mosquitos but the diner in near by town make it out to us. Overall very good stay specially the staff.
Con: The room was small, if we would stay longer I would ask for change.
We stayed here July 2012

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Katarina,

we would like to thank you for writing your review and we are glad to know that you had a nice stay with us. For your next holiday at La Canonica di Cortine, please remind us to accommodate you in a larger room!

We look forward to meeting you soon in Toscana

Regards,
Lucia Fusi, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    34
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
90
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My first stay in Tuscany, and what a wonderful experience ! The owners of the wonderful establishment Lucia and Stefano could not of been any nicer and accommodating !! The grounds are beautiful, the different houses and B & B are exceptionally kept with authentic furnishings and artwork, very comfortable beds too ! I felt like family there ! Our little house had a fireplace which came in handy on cold nites, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and a kitchen/living room.... soooo quaint ! I would definitely recommend this for any visits to Tuscany, close to Florence for day trips and to Sienna and the surrounding areas.... breathtaking views all around !! AND you have to try their Olive Oil, grown right on the grounds!! :) ahhhh... can't wait to go back !! Ciao !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Terry,
It was an incredibile pleasure to meet you. We are so glad you wrote this review after staying with us in Cortine. This is one of our goal: recreate a home away from home so we are very happy reading our mission was accomplished.
We hope to have you back with us again very soon!
Ciao
Lucia Fusi, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

This was my third return to La Canonica di Cortine and every time I come back it just gets better. Lucia, Stefano and the staff immediately make you feel welcome and at home. The house we stayed in was beautiful ( As every other room in my previous visits) the grounds impeccable and the warmth of everyone at the Villa is extraordinary !!! Next year I will return - this time taking my elderly parents for a vacation one only dreams of. Thank you again for a perfect vacation. Ciao

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Janet,
Thank you so much for your nice words, we cannot wait to meet your parents and see you again, Cortine and everyone of us miss you!
Ciao and take care!
Lucia Fusi, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

La Canonica di Cortine is located almost exactly 40 minutes in either direction between Florence and Sienna. It was the ideal spot for exploring Tuscany. It is also very close to the major Italian highway so it was very convenient for any long trips.
The grounds themselves are gorgeous. We were there in mid-October, so both pools were closed (the one for the entire grounds and since we were staying in the villa, the private one for the house). It was incredibly quiet and we never ran into any other guests. We're not sure if was due to the season or the isolation of the main villa. We had absolutely everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The villa is typically rented out for groups of 8-14, so as a group of 6, we had more than enough room to spread out. We were 3 couples (parents-in-law, siblings-in-law, and my husband and me) and there are 3 master suites so none of us had to share a bathroom. The proprietors were extremely accommodating with all our requests.
The property also set up a fabulous cooking lesson in the villa's kitchen (4-5 course dinner that takes approximately 4 hours) with Rosanna Passione and it was one of the most memorable experiences we had on our entire journey.
Some things to keep in mind: During our stay, the heat was not on. You could request heat but you had to pay by cubic foot (meter? not sure). Only the fireplace in the dining room was operable. It came stocked with enough wood for our 1-week stay, but you had to pay extra to get it refilled. It does get very chilly in the house at night. We were provided with dishwashing and laundry detergents, but you may want to bring your own if you have lots to wash. There is no dryer but there is a drying rack available. At the time of year we were there, our clothes took forever to dry. There is a small mini-mart in San Donato di Poggio, but beware of Italian closing times (closed from around noon-4).There is also a butcher in town. The largest supermarket is about 20 minutes away.
This is a great choice for a home away from home. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shasta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Perfect location to explore all of Tuscany. Puts you in arms reach of everything. Our apartment was spacious, charming and clean -- couldn't ask for more. The grounds were impeccable and Stefano was always there to help. Will recommend and return whenever we can. A great choice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dead MattinIta,
Thank you very much for the time taken to write this review, it is very much appreciated!
We look forward to seeing you again in Cortine and we wish you all the best.
Regards
Lucia Fusi, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Fabulous place with beautiful Tuscany countryside surrounding it. A little tricky to get to but once there it was well worth it. The Tuscan dinner on our arrival that we paid for was very muche appreciated and lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Angy,
thank you for the time taken to write this review, we really really appreciate it.
Cortine is a medieval village located between the Chianti hills. Indeed, we believe that the strategic position in which we are located is our strenght but it could be tricky as well. Sometimes gps got lost if not well updated. That's way we always send directions to our clients. We always suggest our guests to call us in case of trouble in finding the road, reception is open daily 9:00am-7:00pm and we are always happy to help!
We await you back someday! Ciao!
Lucia Fusi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great location, great hosts, and wonderful food. Our stay could not have been any better!
There was an option to partake in an evening meal that was typical of the Italian 4-5 course dinner. The meals were delicious! Too bad we only had time for two of them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Rock,
first of all we would like to thank you for the time spent in writing this review. We are very happy you enjoyed our typical tuscan dinner, we have a very old cooking tradition and it is always a pleasure to help people to discover it!
Hoping to see you again in Cortine we send you our warmest regards.

Lucia Fusi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
2.8 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
4.8 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Canonica di Cortine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Canonica di Cortine

Property: La Canonica di Cortine
Address: Via di Cortine 20, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Canonica di Cortine 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Canonica di Cortine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Canonica Di Cortine Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
La Canonica Di Cortine Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing