We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we imagined Tuscany to be!”
Review of Borgo Petrognano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borgo Petrognano
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Everything we imagined Tuscany to be!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently had 2 nights at this property and our Only regret is that we didn't have more. You will not want to be away fro the property with its rolling Tuscan countryside and in ground swimming pool surrounded by typical Tuscan gardens. The property itself is ancient but has been lovingly restored to a very high standard. The service is excellent yet discreet. Don't miss a meal 50 mtr up the road at a local trattoria.. You will not be disappointed... The service, the scenery, the food, location! Mama Mia! Our only suggestion would be that there is more signage, directions to checkin etc. otherwise,perfecto!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for ground floor, otherwise many steps and no concierge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    30
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
63
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have just returned from our 2-week holiday through Northern Italy during which we stayed at the Borgo Petrognano for 3 nights as our base to visit Florence, Siena and San Gimignano. This was the best place by far! Beautiful grounds, clean and well-appointed rooms, an indoor garage, comfortable beds and the best shower ever! The breakfast was plentiful and excellent with several types of breads, croissants, jams, yogurts, fruits, cheese, etc. which you can choose to have on the terrasse overlooking San Gimignano in the distance or inside the beautiful breakfast room. The complimentary glass of local Chianti wine served in the early evening was very appreciated and mmm... delicioso! We were a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers, and stayed in the Split-Level Junior Suite which the children loved as it gave them their own space. The pool was a bit cold but that did not prevent people from diving in. The wifi worked very well and we didn't have to re-login every time. Luisa was very helpful as we had forgotten a hat and she arranged to have it shipped back to us at home (although I do not recommend forgetting items!). Thank you so much, Luisa!! Absolutely wonderful service in a beautiful setting. I whole-heartedly recommend this place and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: The Split-Level Junior Suite is great for a family with children as they have their own room and bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szombathely, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Shortly: Excellent, historic, sophisticated, comfortable, spacious,. Longer. Friendly, smiling. Lovely personal. Delicious breakfast with fresh fruits in a historic room with quiet music. Excellent apartment with spacious rooms. Large, comfortable beds. Huge bathroom (with personal Jacuzzi inside)! Covered garage with a covered corridor to the reception. Sophisticated furniture and lights (Outside as well). Fireplaces as decoration in the breakfast room. And if you are lucky in your apartment, as well. Etc., etc. I hope we can return! I recommend it highly for everyone!!! Guests from Hungary

Room Tip: We can recommend the Suite for 4 Adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGH-MI_141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed in Borgo Petrognano in May this year with my partner. It was my second time in Barberino Val d'Elsa. I love this village, perfectly located within the Tuscany hills, close to both Florence and Siena. The hotel is a really beautiful place. The garden and pool area is really great, with flowers everywhere and an amazing view. Then I guess your experience can be very different depending on the room you are staying in. We had a basic courtyard view room. It was good sized, well furnished. The view in non-existent and the window very small. But there are other rooms with big terraces and glass doors facing the garden and pool, those must be fantastic. The service was helpful but it is true is not like staying in a family ran place where you get a human experience as well. Also, the breakfast is not great. You dont get much choice and if you happen to arrive a bit later you might end up missing on the bread or other things. Oh and you have to have dinner at the restaurant nearby, called Il Paese dei Campanelli. We had a divine experience there. Beautiful romantic place with exceptional food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I felt that the premise lacked the romantic charm I was expecting from the pictures and the reviews. The deluxe room was a little small and did not have basic amenities such as a hot kettle.

Having said that, Borgo Pretrognano was still more than adequate. It was clean, comfortable, and newly furnished. And for the price, it was still very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The place was exactly as we saw at the website. We stayed five days last January and our experience was excellent!! We are a family composed by three adults and two teenagers and Borgo Petrognano was perfect for us as we had two special suites with dinning room.
Roberta is a very kind and excellent person who helped us a lot in our trip at Toscana.
We would like to return in summer!!
Adriana

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Excellent location of the hotel, in the center of Toscany, a short drive from Siena, Florence, Chianti, San Gimignano and more. The hotel looks like a romantic castle, beautiful, stone-built, with beautiful flowered courtyard, lovely terrace, pool and enchanting views. Large and spacious room, beautiful, with amazing views. The bed, shower and bathroom are large and comfortable. Breakfast is modest but delicious, the hostess was very gracious.
Our only problem was that the wifi didn't work in our room, only in the lobby.
The place is a bit isolated, so on the one hand it's nice, but on the other, if you want to go out at night- you have to drive to somewhere else.
We drove to Barberino di val d'Elsa, wich is a small beutiful town. We ate at a nice restaurant with homemade and delicious food. there is also a Pizzeria there. We also drove one night to Tavarnelle in val di pesa, and we really loved the restaurant at the Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda.

Room Tip: Room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smadushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
2.0 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
620 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
604 reviews
15.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
630 reviews
11.9 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
827 reviews
7.1 mi away
Villa Lecchi
Villa Lecchi
#2 of 11 in Poggibonsi
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Petrognano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Petrognano

Property: Borgo Petrognano
Address: Via di Semifonte 1, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Borgo Petrognano 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BORGO PETROGNANO BUILT IN 12TH CENTURY AND 'AN ELEGANT AND RELAXING ROMANTIC PLACE IN THE HEART OF TUSCANY NASCONTO CENTER BETWEEN FLORENCE AND SIENA.HAS A PRIVATE GARDEN, POOL VIEW, GARAGE CONNECTED INTERNALLY AND SAUNA.THE ROOMS ARE EQUIPPED WITH SAT TV, WI-FI,AIR CONDITIONING BATHROOM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HRS, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Borgo Petrognano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Petrognano Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing