We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK , but there are better...”
Review of Hotel Semifonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Semifonte
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We were a family of 4. Rooms is tight for 4 and sofa beds are used. The hotel is in a industrial area with good access to many sites but do not expect nice views around the hotel, which is a pity considering you are in a beautiful area of Tuscany. Breakfast is very good, hotel is clean and staff is nice but maintenance is very average. We had a inoperable sink that was not addressed due to lack of personal @ 6pm..we left the next day. I would only recommend for one night if you do not care about the area in which the hotel is located.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boaz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Just about to check out... This place tries sooooo hard for their guest's satisfaction. Excellent breakfast buffet with delicious cappuccino if you kindly ask the efficient staff. Bravo tutti at Semifonte. At this price impossible to beat !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etienneVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel was very good. The breakfast included everything, the rooms were clean, the pool was clean and quite and the staff very friendly! Opposite to the hotel is a large supermarket but if you want to visit for example San gimignano or another place you need a car cause the hotel is not in the center of a town or a village

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcella-gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed for two nights whilst on business in the area. It is an industrial area but was quite. All the staff were very friendly and the food, dinner and breakfast, was very good.
If I return to the area I would stay again

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank TJB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The location is both easy to find and quite good for visiting many of the Chianti producers. They did not receive (or notice) my request for a bath tub (online reservation), but they found one for us once I asked in person. Noticeable failure: There was some promotion that included a glass of local wine to participants. The wine was on display and two glasses were poured for two people who checked in just before me. The lobby was hot (at least 80 degrees F) and the sun was directly on the bottles. This is a complete disservice to the winery and people who live in this area should know that! Warm red wine is awful. Chianti should be served closer to 65 degrees than 85 (I assume the wine they were serving was Chianti).

The hallway was carpeted down the middle, but it wasn't installed properly and had ripples in it that may cause tripping or problems with roller-luggage. The room was a bit larger than the first, with a decent bed, small reefer and a hairdryer. There was a very nice, large window overlooking the parking lot and the city. While it was warm in the late-April afternoon sun, it helped cool the room very quickly after the sun set. The room had the common requirement of a key to get electricity in the room; This hotel's key was a cable jack (like for stereo headphones). Fortunately, this jack can easily be removed from the keys so that batteries can be charged while you're out of the room.

The clerk helped me with a dinner reservation and provided directions which may have been good for a local who knows the area, but I must say Italian streets are chaotically laid out and are littered with lawless drivers that all led to wasting 40 minutes to travel a mere 2 km as the bird flies.

Breakfast was typical of Italy, with lots of pastries, cereal and yoghurt. There was a good selection of fruit and beverages, though the juices were offered from the bottle; I can’t think of another hotel or agriturismo I have stayed in (over a dozen) that didn’t serve juice in a pitcher – especially when it’s cheap juice.

The woman at the front desk that morning who checked us out was less than interested in my alerting her of the previous day’s wine abomination.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoohoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Chianti region in Tuscany, so if you are by car and you are visiting the region, it is a good place to stop. The rooms are clean, large enough, the breakfast is plenty and the staff is there if you need them. It is advisable to have a GPS if you don't know the area. I would recommend it only as a stop point in the region.

http://www.semifontehotel.it/Homepage-eng/

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalomaBlanca13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Rooms were a little bit small for 2adults and 2 Teens, but it was manageable, considering the perfect location between Pisa, Siena and Florence. Staff was more than helpful with directions, train tickets, winery tours and more. The minibar didnt work, but reception offered to replace it right away. Nice room, clean, good standard, air conditioning worked […] perfectly. Dog friendly with some areas for walking the dog nearby. Other reviews say it's located in an industrial area which is partly true, but if it is a spectacular view you are after, choose an agritorismo up on the hills instead. Semifonte lies close to a big supermarket, Pam, and a big shoe store and some other stores. Train station and the village of poggibonsi is just a mile away. Good food and service at the hotel restaurant. Really good value, would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
9.6 mi away
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
#5 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alcide
Hotel Alcide
#4 of 11 in Poggibonsi
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
660 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
Hotel Villa San Giorgio
#2 of 11 in Poggibonsi
412 reviews
4.1 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Semifonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Semifonte

Address: Via Pisana 1, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range: £54 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Semifonte 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Semifonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Semifonte Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing