We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very BIG Surprise, A real GEM of place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Semifonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Semifonte
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“A very BIG Surprise, A real GEM of place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

My daughter and I were driving through Tuscany and were just looking for decent Hotel to stay for the night, well we were in for a big surprise by the Management and Staff. From the local cuisine offered at Restaurant (which had big groups of locals reserving for special occasions) a sign of a quality Restaurant. One of the things on our itinerary was to visit a local Winery, but being off-season is more of a challenge, by the next morning Management had arranged a private Taste and Tour at a local Winery, complete with printed directions.
The Hotel is very classy Executive Style with down to earth Management and Staff.
We Loved our stay, wish we would of had more time to explore.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ablemedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zaccardi, Direttore at Hotel Semifonte, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Dear Guests from beautiful Canada, please accept from everyone in our Team and myself our true sincere gratitude for your words and comments. We hope your whole vacation in Italy and Tuscany met completely your expectations and you are by now planning to come back !
very, very cordially and friendly yours, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    181
    72
    21
    8
See reviews for
74
201
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

we stayed at the hotel for two nights.
the hotel was very clean and so the rooms. we had a car so the hotel was sitauated in a very good place.
the staff is wonderful. they are all more than polite gentle and helpful. we felt there like at home.
the price is very good.
i recommend this hotel and i myself will return there in my next trip/

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliza4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zaccardi, Direttore at Hotel Semifonte, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
Dear Guests from Tel Aviv, many thanks indeed for your kindest words and I am happy to share all this with all my Colleagues. we hope continuation of your trips has also been pleasant and to welcome soon your return to Hotel Semifonte and Tuscany.
A presto ! cordially yours, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Spent three nights here a few days ago. Was astonished at how great the service was from the minute we walked through the door. We wished that more hotels would be as welcoming and friendly during our trip but if you check my other reviews, this is not the case. Rooms were spacious and clean with a minibar. Only bad thing was they had two beds put together for a double. Not great for couples! There is a pool and small fitness room to burn off some of that wine and cheese that fills your day. The restaurant was a little pricey, but the food was well worth it. Highly recommend the wild boar if you go! Only issue was it opens late(1945), however, they let us eat early when we came in without knowing. Breakfast was the best of our trip, fresh coffee/espresso/tea, juice, cereals, fresh pastries, yogurts, fresh farm eggs to boil, meat, cheese, and bread. Far better than expected. You can not find better for the value! There is a food store across the roundabout and it is perfectly situated to tour Tuscany. Save money by buying wine from the shop, it is cheaper for the same that is marked up in all the little towns. It is tough to find the road to get there initially. From Florence, go south towards Sienna and take exit with signs to San Gimignano. You will see the sign for the hotel and when you come to roundabout with the hotel across the way, turn in to driveway just past the San G exit on roundabout. For sight seeing suggestions be sure to ask the staff, they are wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zaccardi, Direttore at Hotel Semifonte, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Dear Guests, it is a true pleasure to read your gentle and generous words and please accept sincere gratitude from everyone in our Team and myself.
I am personally very pleased we could give a bit of contribution to your vacation in our wonderful region of Tuscany. Hope to see you again soon !
cordially yours, Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff Wales
Level Contributor
219 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

Have just spent two nights at this hotel during a tour around Tuscany.
The hotel is modern and sited on the outskirts of Poggibonsi. Some have commented about its location being near an industrial estate but it is quiet at night and very handy for road access to the main tourist areas. If you don't want to eat in the hotel you will need to drive into the town. (Try the leisure centre Pizza Restaurant ).
From the minute we arrived early in the day the staff were very welcoming and friendly. This extended right through our stay.
The room was very comfortable and the breakfast very good. The hotel has a outdoor pool but to cold in Sept.

Just a note about driving the Italian roads in this area are not very good and the drivers are worse. A few lucky escapes.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and nice room
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurants near the hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tafftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

We spent only one night in this hotel prior to our stay in a villa near Ambra for a week with friends. There were 10 of us staying all together and we found the hotel excellent value for money. The staff were very friendly and the hotel itself was stylish and clean.

We didn't eat in a restaurant, but merely popped over the road to the supermarket and bought picnic food, which we ate by the pool. Getting over the main road wasn't a problem for the younger ones in our party as there was no crossing or pavement, but the older ones in our party may have struggled.

I don't know if I would spend more than a night or two here, but would definitely stay on a short term basis, as it was only half an hour from our final destination.

  • Liked — Close to final destination, suitable for our elderly relatives, but also for our younger relatives
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juice1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

Just come back from a stay at the Semifonte. Cant fault a thing, the hotel was clean and tidy, staff were great, always willing to help. :-)

  • Liked — It was all good
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank foxyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

This hotel is comfortable enough, very small bathroom, tight shower. The major problem I have with this place is that it is so far from anything that it is not a good idea for people who think they will be close to any town. It is in the middle of nowhere. If you are going on business then it's just an ok stay. The room is small but clean. The transfers are expensive so have your own car. It is a solid 2 1/2 star but no more.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tarrega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
1.9 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alcide
Hotel Alcide
#5 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
4.1 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Lecchi Residenza D'epoca
5.5 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Semifonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Semifonte

Property: Hotel Semifonte
Address: Via Pisana 1, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Semifonte 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Semifonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Semifonte Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing