We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

There are no words that can describe the peace and tranquility of Torre di Ponzano.This place must be visited at least once in the lifetime. After this experience, even most luxurious hotel seems somehow not good enough. You will not find there the material luxuries, but thanks to Alba and Sonny you'll find everything else, everything that matters.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radovan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torre-di-Ponzano, Manager at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear both, thank you-thank you-thank you for your nice words! We missed you in the garden!!! Have you already booked your flight for September? We hope you can make it back and, in the meantime, I send you something I found today in the web while looking for a famous phrase written by my favourite scientist, Albert, in 1959.

A human being is part of the whole called by us universe, a part limited in time and space.
We experience ourselves, our thoughts and feelings as something separate from the rest.
A kind of optical delusion of consciousness.
This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us.
Our task must be to free ourselves from the prison ...
The true value of a human being is determined by the measure and the sense in which they have obtained liberation from the self.
We shall require a substantially new manner of thinking if humanity is to survive.

See, we have so much more to talk about, you have to book that flight!
Our best regards
and .... Hi Galaxy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in "the tower" for 6 nights while we toured the Tuscan towns. It was perfect for a family of 4, as while both rooms share 1 bathroom, each room has doors that can be closed off. The kitchen & small sofa area were adequate for breakfast. The location is convenient for visiting Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, etc. We actually toured less than what I thought we would but at the end gave in to the Tuscan slower lifestyle and enjoyed it tremendously. One day we just spent by the pool! Sonny & Alba of course made the visit even better with their personalized attention and generous advice on where to go, where to park etc. We used a GPS and it was priceless for driving around. What was missing at La Torre was direct access to an outdoor area where we can have meals, drinks etc. but there's a great area around the back that's available and we did end up having a couple of meals out there with the setting sun. A good tip is to get take-away pizza from the restaurant close-by. They have great pizza at very reasonable prices - we ate there twice and had take-away once. We had a look at the Villa which would offer the private outdoor area but it is larger and pricier so it depends on the number of people and the type of holiday you wanted. Tuscany is a magical place in the summer and Torre di Ponzano is a special place to stay to enjoy it. Thanks, Alba & Sonny!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familywithtweenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torre-di-Ponzano, Manager at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Hello! So nice of you to take some time to write about Torre di Ponzano.
Thanks a lot for posting such a nice/detailed review. It took a while to seat down and answer to you, my apologies, we indeed had a very busy summer, the warm weather seems everlasting this year! We hope you are all well, please thank your son again on my behalf for the suggestion he gave me on the antivirus. I am now a bit more confident using my mac ... although my knowledge is still very basic!!!
Thanking you all for staying with us, we wish you all the best for the future and hope to have you once again among our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The glowing reviews that I had read about owners Sonny and Alba don't begin to do them justice. Due to major travel delays, my husband, our adult son, his girlfriend, and I didn't arrive at Torre di Ponzano until after 10 p.m. When we finally got there, Alba had already called a wonderful local restaurant and asked the owners to stay open for us, which they did.

The next night was our best evening in Tuscany. We were sitting at a table on the beautiful lawn overlooking the rolling hills. We were drinking wine, and enjoying cheese, prosciutto, and olives, Then we saw Sonny and Alba and invited them to join us. We were so glad that they did. All of us talked and laughed into the early morning hours.

As other reviewers have noted, Sonny and Alba are, indeed, warm, friendly, and helpful. However, our experience indicates just how extraordinary they are: The air conditioner in the room shared by our son and his girlfriend broke (it was extremely hot while we were in Italy). Sonny and Alba moved them to another room. However, Torre di Ponzano was fully booked for the remainder of our stay, and the a/c company still hadn't scheduled an appointment to repair the unit.

So before we even came downstairs the next morning, Sonny and Alba had arranged to move all of us to a more costly nearby hotel--at their expense. To say the least, we would have preferred to stay at Torre di Ponzano.

For anyone looking for a beautiful and conveniently located place to stay while exploring the Tuscan region, look no further. Torre di Ponzano--and its wonderful owners--are truly exceptional.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower, which included a kitchen, a master bedroom, a second bedroom, and a shared b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanie1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Hello J. and thanks a million for the marvellous review!
The problem with A/C is now solved but - although we missed chatting with you all in the garden in the evening - in those particular circumstances, the least we could do was to try to find a proper accommodation for you to have a nice holiday.
It would have been nice to have you here during those days and have a nice chat in the garden
but :
1) New York is not that far
2) The connection N.Y. - Firenze is just perfect
3) If you live in a big town you absolutely need a break to go
in the 'middle of nowhere' to re-charge!
4) We are in the 'middle of nowhere'
5) That middle of nowhere which is very close to everything in Tuscany

So we will wait for you to come over and visit again!
All the best to you all, thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

On our Honeymoon, Alba and Sonny are the nicest people we have met. So friendly and willing to help make our stay wonderful. They recommended places to see and were great with directions.
The rooms were really cool and Tuscan feeling with stone and high ceilings and original brick archways and antique furniture that Alba prides herself in collecting. I slept like a baby in that room. The sun set out our room #4 window.
The pool was great and relaxing. It was like having our own private pool with only the sounds of birds from afar. We went to The super market and bought organic local wines, cheeses, olives, prosciutto and had a picnic in the yard overlooking the sunset and hillsides while we reminded ourselves how lucky we were in that moment.
Centrally located, we drove to Florence, San Gimignano, Siena, Chianti region and were all under 30 minutes and easy to navigate.
Excellent overall value and we we would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markandkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Hello! Thank you so much for posting such a great review! It is a pleasure to hear that you spent a nice time in our place. Here the weather is still nice and sunny and the pool such a treat at the end of a warm day ... although we are now fully booked, today, at mid day, there was nobody in the pool and you came to my mind as I saw you during your stay having such a relaxing time by the pool side! It was nice to see you during the day coming and going from various places, going to some little villages, coming back to the pool, relaxing, then going out again for dinner ... you looked almost like local residents! Thank you again for your comment on triadvisor, we wish you all the best for your life together and hope to see you again some time in a not so faraway future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

LOCATION: between Firenze and Siena, outside of the small village Barberino van D'Elsa. The hotel consists of a tower/torre, which has 6 rooms, and told to be 1000yrs old, and a separate villa (beautifully designed). An olive garden and a swimming pool belong to the property.
ROOM: the bedroom is equipped with wardrobe, safe, fridge and a small table with 2 chairs. The bathroom has shower with almost no toiletries (only shampoo is available).
ATMOSPHERE: simple, romantic
BREAKFAST: There is no breakfast, though bread, jam, tea and coffee are available in the room, with plates, cutlery, toaster and microwave.
SERVICE: Alba is the heart of the hotel. She was very kind and helpful in recommending restaurants or places to visit. She spent every day time to talk and chat with the guests. Sunny, her husband is an entertainer, and he is very talented in playing piano - ask him to play you something, when you are there!
BEST: location and hospitality
OPPORTUNITY: level of service - would be great to include breakfast option and more toiletries in the bathroom (at least shower gel). Also the "agriturismo" could be better exploited, travelers like to charm of local wine, olive oil and food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dittimitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Hello and thank you so much for your review which could not be more detailed !!! It will surely be of great help for other travellers.
I have to agree with you about breakfast and, actually, from the commercial point of view, breakfast would increase our income of at least 20 % if not more (before having Torre di Ponzano we had a Hotel where we were serving breakfast so we are aware of the difference it makes) ... however you might have noticed that our logic is not exactly very commercial ... after 50, you know, logic goes wild... I enjoyed speaking spanish with you both, unfortunately I am not making great progress in learning it as it got very busy and no time left for studying it ... Thanking you again for the nice comment you wrote and suggestions you gave, wishing you both all the best for the future I hope to have you again in Ponzano, Sonny will surely enjoy playing again for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Just had to comment on our stay at Torre di Ponzano. The accommodations and views were wonderful, but Andrew and Alba made our stay in Tuscany special.

Why?

Dinner suggestions and reservations
Sightseeing suggestions and maps (although Andrew's handwriting leaves something to be desired) :-)
Beautiful grounds
A servant's heart in accommodating us

Their location (halfway between Firenza and Siena) was perfect, allowing us to quickly see the Tuscan region with usually less than a 45 minute drive.

Their place is intimate and a friendship quickly formed, not because we were paying guests, but because they seemed genuinely motivated to ensure we had a pleasant stay. They made our experience memorable...and we look forward to crossing paths with them in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Dear both, thank you very much for your full marks review! You got the right meaning of our aim.
Torre di Ponzano is a small place in the country side which has to be intimate, informal ... we like people to come here after visiting towns & churches & museums & crowded places and ... relax, be laid back and feel at home, sit in the garden and enjoy a glass of wine, listen to some music or enjoy the view ... you did it & entered into the 'Ponzano mood'. It sounds easy, it is indeed very difficult as life is so hectic now a days that when one starts one's holidays it often takes a week to wind down and be relaxed. Thanks to you for staying with us and appreciate our philosophy, so... full marks to you both, we enjoy your visit! See you back in Ponzano again!
Alba & Sonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Thank you Alba & Andrew, for your wonderful hospitality, generosity & friendship. You both were the most wonderful hosts ever, making our Tuscany stay possibly the best ever of our travels within Italy! From the driving directions to the dinner recommendations and to the very comfortable homestay you provided us... We are and will always be immensely grateful! We wish you both the very best and hope to cross paths again soon someday.

A & W
April 2012
Singapore

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aalexisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear both, we are flattered by your review and kind words ... it was a pleasure to have you in Ponzano and we are happy to know that, although your stay was short, you made the most out of it also thank you to our information.
We wish you all the best for your life together and hope you will be back some days in Torre di Ponzano. All the very best to you too. Alba & Sonny.


P.S. I bet you have made a wonderful album with the so many pictures you took in the surroundings with that marvellous camera!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barberino Val d'Elsa hotels
2.8 mi away
Antico Podere Marciano
Antico Podere Marciano
#7 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa San Filippo Resort
Villa San Filippo Resort
#6 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
230 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Semifonte
Hotel Semifonte
#1 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sogno d’Oro Bed and Breakfast
Sogno d’Oro Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borghetto di San Filippo
Borghetto di San Filippo
#3 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
35 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bosco ai Marzi
Bosco ai Marzi
#3 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -

Address: Strada di Ponzano 8, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range: £63 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone house built on top of a hill with a marvelous view over the Chianti hills. Easily reachable (only 4.5 Km from the exit Barberino on the main road connection between Florence and Siena). Many typical Tuscan Restaurants near by. We can arrange wine tasting and visit to the cellars of different farms. The central location of our property will allow you not only to visit Florence, Siena and San Gimignano (which are only 30 minute away by car) but also to visit Pisa and Lucca - on the north of Tuscany - and Montalcino, Pienza and Montepulciano - on the south of Tuscany - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany - reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Ponzano - Chianti Area - Tuscany - Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
Torre Di Ponzano - Chianti Area - Tuscany - Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing