We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, great service!!”
Review of Quercia al Poggio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quercia al Poggio
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Spent five days at this amazing place, located in a beautiful place in Tuscany. While access is not that easy and a car is needed to move around, the setting is beautiful and it was a real pleasure to enjoy the view every morning. Service is outstanding, Roberta and Valeria are friendly and go out of their way to provide an outstanding service and take care of their guests' needs. Finally, a good breakfast is served every morning. Highly recommend the place, woUld love to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie-NYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giordanagozzini, Responsabile reception at Quercia al Poggio, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Marie ,

thank you so very much for this lovely . . . TALE: that’s what your words sound like, not a simply review, but a funny, passionate experience at Quercia al Poggio can be for all that people who is open minded enough to change its attitude!

We all look forward to welcoming you back in Italy next year!

Sincerely,
Giordana and Roberta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

The apt.(capella 4) was very nice and comfortable.Great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meital b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giordanagozzini, Responsabile reception at Quercia al Poggio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Meital,
thanks a lot for your review.
He hope see you again next time you'll come back in Italy!

Greatings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

It is most properly called a self catering luxury resort that is also a delightful agriturismo type farm.

17 of my artist friends and I enjoyed a stay in Sept of 2011. We were enchanted by the incredible scenery and the wonderful rooms. Our party was in the Pronetta quite a distance from the front office. We had our own private pool, and we had wonderful kitchens so that we could make meals and not have to go out to lunch or breakfast every day. We took trips to the local markets for all our cooking and other grocery- like items. The resort did not provide water or wine (or toilet paper (except enough to get you started until you had time to go shopping...) And I don't mention this as a criticism, but as a matter of info for anyone who is coming to stay here thinking it is like a hotel with instant service. They did provide pots and pans to cook with but if you wanted eat you have to go shopping first...a wholly delightful experience in San Donato and long as you don't go during siesta between 1 and 3 PM daily. If you want to wash your clothes in the washer you will have to go to the market and buy your own laundry detergent. It is amazing to me that one reviewer thought they provided onsite baby items like milk. They don't and I am sure you can see why. It was a real intriguing experience to try to find Quercia al Poggio with the maps they gave us. 101 is the name of the road from the autostrada. They don't mention in the brochures what is the mile marker to turn off 101 on. If you are coming from the autostrada and turn off to going east on 101 the road to the Quercia is on the right and is about marker 9.5. Past San Donato...At marker 9.5 turn right and go down that road and when you see a "Y" stay to the left. If you see the sign for Olena you went the wrong way...go back to the "Y" and go uphill. Then go a mile or two until you come to the second dumpster on the left and the sign for The Quercia al Poggio sign is on the right up high on a pole right at that dumpster. the turn is to the right (we managed to visit 1st big place on the left by mistake.)

I really loved the whole experience and we had a great time painting all the scenes we had time to do. I highly recommend this lovely place. I am sure it would be a great place for a honeymoon or a wedding or almost any family event. You will definitely need a car if you stay here.
Giordanna was wonderfully helpful when we needed to make reservations in Florence. This is a working farm with grapes and olives and a winery and a press where they make the wine and the olive oil they sell in limited quantities. The wine tour and tasting was very informative and luscious. We loved our stay probably mostly because they have a cook you can hire and she will cook all your evening meals so you don't have to worry about going out or cleaning up after. Her name is Lucia and she was incredible. You can inquire about her or her fees when you make reservations. WE shopped in Poggi Bonsi at the Pam store (a supermarket) and in San Donato at a much smaller little market. With an adventuresome spirit I am sure you will love this place. If you are expecting them to do everything for you then I doubt this will be a place you will like.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cowboys1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The apt.(capella 4) was exectly as describe in the web site.We had all the privecy we needed.Staff is willing to help(restaurant reservation,web checkin for the flight).A welcome gift- bottle of wine
Chianti Classico made in the place.No t.v. set in the apt.-perfect for us- we didn't need one at all! .exellent location .
littlle problem that can be fix easily- the hot water in the shower sometime is not enuogh.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meir b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giordanagozzini, Responsabile reception at Quercia al Poggio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Baras family,

thank you very much for your reviews, we really appreciate it.

We took note about the problem with hot problem and thank you for telling us because it is important to have this kind of feedback in order to improve the quality of our service.

We hope we will welcome you soon in the future.

Giordana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Roberta, got to love Roberta.. Delightful and entertaining.. As was Jordana.. The place is just absolute paradise, clean, spacious, and the view, breath taking. Make sure you take advantage of the in house meal.. The hostess was amazing and the home made food was beyond comparison. Also have Roberta give you a tour of their wine making facilities. Well worth the hour of your time.. We would go back in a heartbeat.. Slight problem with our basement bedroom in villa P 4. a little on the cold side, we had trouble getting heat. Also, make sure you can handle manual gears on your car. The road up there is tricky.. Note: NO BED BUGS :o))

Room Tip: Take the building at the far end of the road, more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giordanagozzini, Responsabile reception at Quercia al Poggio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Beauchemin group,

thank you very much for your nice words and for your review.

It is always very nice to read that guests appreciated their holiday here at Quercia al Poggio and we could help them in order to spend in the best way their time here with us.

We really hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Giordana and Roberta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Amazing Stay at Quercia al Poggio! Our accomodations in Villa Proneta were wonderful. Each "apartment" had spacious quaint bedrooms, new updated baths, modern kitchens and best of all amazing views! Giordana was wonderful and helped us with all arrangements in and out of the villa. Lucia made us incredible dinners! and the landscape surrounding the villa was breathtaking! You really can't ask for more than this if you are looking for a real Tuscan vacation. Siena, Florence, adn San Gimignano are all within 45 minutes drive. San Donato with shops and restaurants is just a 5 minute drive. The villa is a bit removed, at the end of a long road (2 miles) and then a long driveway(1mile), which makes you feel as if you are living in a real Tuscan hamlet, not a tourist hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on top floor with views of the vineyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giordanagozzini, Responsabile reception at Quercia al Poggio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Nennie,

thank you very much for you review.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have your fantastic group here at Quercia al Poggio painting, tasting our wines, having some good pizza and relaxing.

We really hope we will welcome you back as soon as possible

Giordana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We spent a week at Quercia al Poggio with 17 people...all painters. It was amazing. As it is off the beaten path, it provided us with privacy, spectacular views to paint, a wonderful pool to cool off and some of the best food I've ever eaten. We contracted to have a caterer, Lucia, come 4 times and they were undoubtedly the best meals we ate in Tuscany. The Chianti Classico that is produced there is excellent as well. Giordana who is the concierge is a delight as well. I was taken totally by surprise that everything surpassed our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giordanagozzini, Responsabile reception at Quercia al Poggio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

What can we say but thank you thank you thank you and, first of all, come back to visit us with a new group of painters, but this time only men :)).

Without jokes, we have been very pleased to have you here.

Best regards,

Giordana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
6.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
560 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Semifonte
Hotel Semifonte
#1 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
441 reviews
3.0 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
642 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Hotel Chianti
Park Hotel Chianti
#3 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
501 reviews
2.0 mi away
Borghetto di San Filippo
Borghetto di San Filippo
#3 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quercia al Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quercia al Poggio

Address: Strada di Quercia Al Poggio 4, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range: £47 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quercia al Poggio offers to its guests the choice of eight apartments for two, four or six people. All the apartments have been renovated and include either a terrace or a private garden and the offer for a relaxing and pleasant holiday involves two panoramic swimming pools, a tennis court, ping pong, table soccer, children’s playground and a wide range of services and cultural, sporting, recreational, food and wine-related activities. The staff is always ready and available to provide all the information the guests might need for outings like maps, parking information and routes, scooter and bicycle rentals, advising on the best restaurants, supplying with train and bus timetables, booking museums, opera concerts and updating on the events, performances, fairs and festivals taking place in the area during the stay. Guests can freely access the 24-hour wireless internet connection available in the area around the reception.The stay at Quercia al Poggio always includes for free to the guests of the Agriturismo the guided tour of the wine cellars with tasting of products made at the estate.Quercia al Poggio is a especially romantic and picturesque location perfect for hosting events and for those wanting to make their special day, whether it be a wedding, birthday or graduation, unforgettable and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quercia al Poggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quercia Al Poggio Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing