We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My ideal holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Paretaio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Il Paretaio
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My ideal holiday!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I spent a week at Il Paretaio as a solo traveler. My main goal was to improve my dressage, something I'd being trying to do for some time now. One week of instruction at il Paretao was worth more than 15 years of training in my home country! My goals of riding a well trained horse correctly on the bit, and being able to translate that to successfully riding those horses who are tricky at accepting the contact was more than met.

Gaining best friends and thoroughly enjoying the food were two added extras i hadn't taken into account when booking.
The group of people there were so fantastic that we are planning to return again next year. Meantime I hope they can visit me in my home town.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank tammycowan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    20
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
58
67
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It's true, Il Paretaio is Heaven. The people, the horses, food and atmosphere all intertwine to produce something precious and so, so special that words really cannot do justice to Il Paretaio. Cristina and Gianni have created something amazing. Their passion is infectious and their hospitality out of this world.

Whilst I may sound overly complimentary I challenge anyone to be disappointed. There is an attention to detail that runs quietly in the background allowing guests to relax and leave the frenetic world most of us live in these days, far behind. Time at Il Paretaio stands still. A week feels like a month and every time I return home I find myself taking life at a slower pace.

Riding Il Paretaio horses is a privilege and a joy. All are sensitive to the rider, willing and generous and all of them will teach the rider, whatever standard you may be.

For riders, a huge learning experience is in store for you. For non-riders, stunning scenery, abundant wildlife and good food should satiate your needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We returned home from our third trip to Il Paretaio and are both missing it already. The setting is stunning, the staff are all so friendly and helpful, the horseriding and tuition superb and the food is the best we've tasted anywhere. It is also an ideal base for sightseeing and just relaxing. Already planning trip number four.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A wonderful break spent at Il Paretaio, my only complaint is that I had to come home at the end of it! The quality of the teaching was exceptionally high, and seemingly available in a variety of languages, and the owners' uncanny ability to match horses and riders meant that every lesson was enjoyed to its full. The atmosphere and hospitality were warm, welcoming and authentic, the staff friendly, helpful and efficient, the horses impeccably well-looked, well-educated and as adept at teaching as the instructors themselves. The food was irresistable, the company delightful, and the views of the Tuscan countryside unparalleled. I'm already planning my next trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nesodden Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have been to Il Paretaio many times. I love the place, I love the landscape, I love the instructors and I love the horses!
Last autumn I went with a friend who was new to Il Paretaio. This friend had thought that she would never ride again after an injury, but now she is back on the horse after one inspirational week at Il Paretaio! We also found out that riding here was as demanding on the brain as the body! Small groups and instructors who follow you up constantly requires your full concentration! Pleasantly tired after one day you can relax at the long dining table with delicious lokal food and wine , - and other like-minded riders.
I hope to be back soon!

Ritva

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritva070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I spent 4 weeks at il Paretaio mid October into November and the weather could not have been better. October is a perfect month to be taking riding lessons, during the day we rode in t-shirts but at night just cool enough to have the fire going in the huge fire place while having dinner. At dusk we saw the most beautiful colours with the sunsets and there were no mosquitoes this time of the year. The horses continue to be so well trained and because I have been going to il Paretaio for 9 years, it is interesting to now ride some of the horses that were still in training when I used to go there many years ago. The instruction level remains very well suited for each individual rider or for any group of riders that were scheduled together according to their riding level. 26 years of weekly practice doing this with international riding guests have given the owners who are the instructors the ability to pinpoint exactly what the rider should improve upon and it is done in a very professional way. I will return each year in order to keep learning from their well trained horses and their superior instructors.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lusitan0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have booked five weeks starting at the end of April. I spent five weeks at il Paretaio this fall, riding, touring the gorgeous countryside and visiting my favorite hill towns and museums. I also had time to work on my watercolors! I had such a wonderful time, meeting guests from all over Europe, and chatting after dinner at the communal dining table. The food, the company and the horses were all outstanding. I have returned to Il Paretaio twice a year for eleven years. Truly, there is no other place on earth I want to visit. No hassles with hotels, trying to figure out where to eat, fighting crowds. All I have to worry about is what to choose from the breakfast buffet and which pair of breeches to put on. Everything else is taken care of! Sheer heaven for a stressed out New Yorker like me!
I just can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadiemae212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
2.5 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
561 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
602 reviews
7.7 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Canonica di Cortine
La Canonica di Cortine
#4 of 11 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area ...
#2 of 11 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
161 reviews
3.8 mi away
Romitorio di Serelle
Romitorio di Serelle
#4 of 32 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Paretaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Paretaio

Property: Il Paretaio
Address: Strada delle Ginestre 12, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Paretaio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL PARETAIO is a classical riding centre situated in a picturesque valley surrounded by vineyards, olive trees and woods. Its central location, in the Chianti area, makes it a good base for touring the area without changing accomodation (Florence and Siena are just 30 min. by car; San Gimignano only 20 mins). We offer riding programmes for all levels of riders from beginners to advanced or hacking out in the wonderful tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Paretaio Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing