We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect stay in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Antico Podere Marciano
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Federica and Maurizio have a beautiful property and have poured their hearts into it - they have a polished but casual finish to everything from the infinity pool to the gardens and the loggia for outside dining with a view.
The rooms are professionally decorated with an aesthetically pleasing color scheme and simple, beautiful, flower-themed decorations that make being inside as much a pleasure as out.
The views from the property are amazing, the pool was very enjoyable, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, the air conditioning was perfect, the food was fabulous, the service was cheerful and very professional.
The perfect finish was the casual and friendly edge to all the staff as well as the hosts' two boys who were a complete pleasure.

Room Tip: Room Peonia is a soft sage green with a canopy bed, burgundy accents, hand painted peonies on linen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Thank you for your sharing your nice experience at Marciano. Federica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

Words cannot come close to describing this place. We stayed at Antico Podere Marciano from the 30th August 2011 to the 4th September 2011. During this time the villa provided us with the most amazing venue for our wedding reception. Maurizio and Federica were fabulous hosts to us, and our family that were there with us. They made us feel welcome, comfortable and very much at home. Our wedding day was spectacular - with such an amazing location it could not be described as anything other than that. Again Federica and Maurizio allowed us to put our own touches to the villa to make our wedding extra special and personal. We danced the night away and were so pleased when they joined in with us and the party finished around 4am!

Our family were so pleased to have been hosted at such a lovely place, all the rooms are beautifully and tastefully decorated, with fabulous bathrooms. No one felt like they had a less superior room.

The pool is also out of this world and we spent a lot of time sunbathing, swimming, relaxing and laughing around it. It is definitely the second highlight of the villa, after the view!
We would highly recommend this venue- for a large party of people or for a romantic break. It caters for everyone. Peaceful, scenic and idyllic. We can’t wait to go back and have already booked our first anniversary visit!

Room Tip: Superior rooms offer fridges and either a balcony or terrace with amazing views, however even the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This was our umpteenth trip to Marciano and it's not going to be the last. This time we felt that it was probably the best time we'd had there so far. The weather outdid itself and this time we chose to do less running around and more sitting by the pool, reading, chatting and just relaxing, it was superb.

Although Frederica and Maurizio are getting used to seeing us by now, the service was, as usual, excellent. There's usually more food than you know what to do with at breakfast and on the occasions they provide an evening meal, not only is it the path of least resistance to stay and enjoy it but it's also one of the better choices you can make. The food is easily on a par with the very best restaurants in the area and represents excellent value. It is typical of what you come to expect of Tuscan cuisine, seemingly effortless, simple and superb. On top of that, the host knows his wines as well and can recommend and talk about what the region is best known for with an authority you would expect from a trained and qualified somel..sommle...wine waiter!

Marciano is a place that gives you the opportunity to make your holiday there, what you will. It's ideally situated to get out and explore the area and also allows you to do much less if you want. Stick by the pool or take a walk in the hills. Much is made of the fact that the road to the villa is a challenge. It's never that bad, it's just different, but it gives the place a sense of isolation you might want from a 'get away from it all' holiday, without being that isolated at all. The nearest town, with the best ice cream is about 10 -15 minutes away, Siena/Florence 45 minutes, the choice is yours. If you're looking for an Italian experience, I don't know of anywhere better to get one.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banjoquint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed in a superior room for 5 nights and 2 nights in a standard room - we were disappointed that the standard room didn't have a small fridge/mini bar. Both rooms were very nicely decorated and the cleanliness in the rooms was excellent. Having read so many reviews saying the breakfasts were really great we didn't find that - often brown bread would run out - no hot eggs available (boiled/scrabbled or fried) only warm very hard boiled. They were also very prompt in closing the breakfast at 10:30.

The owners were fairly friendly although their availability was limited. Our last evening when we returned from having a meal no one was around to offer us a drink from the bar.

Regarding the meals - we felt that they were extremely over priced. At 40€ for a three course meal where the main meal was pasta we thought it was highly priced. Our last meal there was 35€ which contained no meat only pasta and the sweet was a glass of sweet wine and a biscuit. It too easy to stay for the meals and I think that is how they are able to charge such a high price.

The location was superb as was the position of the swimming pool overlooking the vineyards.
We wouldn't return for a second time as there were other establishments we discovered during our stay which would prove better for us - however we loved the area very much.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay there do take a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Located on top of a hill in middle of forests and wine gardens overlooking the vally - a truley special spot. It is not that easy to find as GPS doesn't show the route, but it is worth looking hard. The owners are very friendly, the entire house is beautiful, the rooms have a charming decor. It is worth spending the extra money on the superior rooms though as they are offering nice views from private balconies. Breakfast and dinner is served on a cosy terrasse, really nice atmosphere. Breakfast is excellent, great choice of local products, fresh fruit, nice cheese. Dinners are depending on the day either simple 3 course (excellent) or the more sophisticated 4 or 5 course (sorry, can't remember) but that we found too much and too pricy. So worth visiting small villages closeby for dinners at lovley little restaurants. The pool is great, with confortable beds, sunshades a help-yourself-poolbar and most amazing: the views from the water. Enjoy the beauty of Toscany while swimming! I can truely recommend to anyone who is looking for a peaceful and romantic hotel in the heart of the Toscany!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingchrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

recommended to me by an Italian colleague, this gorgeous restored farmhouse B&B exceeded our expectations. Excellent service and food, spectacular views and sunsets, nestled off the beaten path in the Tuscan countryside. Even my teenage daughters loved it, with a beautiful infinity pool. Centrally located.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmblerPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We, too, found this place on TripAdvisor, and it's almost too good of a secret to share! A bit off the beaten track, it was well worth the slight challenge to find. It was extremely serene and peaceful, tucked away in the Tuscan hills. Surrounded by gently rolling vineyards, woods, and a lovely maintained lawn, garden, and patio (as well as an infinity pool), the lodging was situated in a stone farmhouse typical to the region. Classic and elegant, while simply and traditionally decorated, our "room" was essentially a suite, with a large and airy bedroom/sitting area, storage hallway, toilet, and separate bathroom (complete with clawfoot tub and his-and-hers sinks), and a large patio-balcony with a glorious view---perfect for watching an evening lightning storm on the horizon.
Hosts Frederica and Maurizio were warm and welcoming, eager to share recommendations, chat, and provide local, flavorful, tasty, and thoughtfully-prepared breakfasts and dinners (the best two dinners during our two weeks in Italy!). They encouraged a warm, homey, and luxuriously relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toothbrushtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barberino Val d'Elsa hotels
3.4 mi away
Borghetto di San Filippo
Borghetto di San Filippo
#3 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
35 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa San Filippo Resort
Villa San Filippo Resort
#6 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
232 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#5 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Semifonte
Hotel Semifonte
#1 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
443 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Canonica di Cortine
La Canonica di Cortine
#4 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
184 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bosco ai Marzi
Bosco ai Marzi
#2 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Podere Marciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Podere Marciano

Address: Localita Marciano' 1 | Barberino val d'Elsa, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range: £96 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Antico Podere Marciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Podere Marciano Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing