We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Antico Podere Marciano
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Tuscany”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family (wife & two teenagers) just returned from our Italian adventure. We decided to slow it down a bit and spend a couple of nights in Chianti - we were so glad we chose Podere Marciono. This is a beautiful seven bedroom B&B with breathtaking views of the hills and surrounding towns. Their staff was warm and accomodating. It's location was perfect as a launching point to explore the wonderful wineries and the charming towns that make this region so breathtaking - all were out of a postcard. It was also convenient to have day trips to Siena and Florence. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on, if you go follow their advice. Driving in was a little tricky so ensure you have good directions (which the owner is happy to supply) but that was part of the adventure. Be sure to make time for an evening cocktail as the sun sets as the views in the evening are especially astounding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federica G, Owner at Antico Podere Marciano, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Keller,

Thank you very much for having shared your positive experience at B&B Antico Podere Marciano, in Chianti, on TripAdvisor.

I'm glad you could appreciate both the work of the staff to make our guests feel at home, and the wonderful position of the location for day trips to discover the Chianti territory.

Whenever you'll be back in Tuscany, I'll be glad to welcome you again at Antico Podere Marciano.

Greetings
Federica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I stay two times in beautiful Antico Podere Marciano-in the heart of Chianti,for me the most beautiful place in Toscana.And sure we will come back next year.Beautiful location,deep in countryside,with beautiful garden,and stunning view.You hear only the songs of birds and sound of the great and big pool.Whole place are decorating in old Tuscan maners with such a taste and owner Federica take care about every details.She and her family and her staff are welcoming,warm,they served the best breakfast and the dinners are great,light,with fresh groceries.If the weather are good,they served breakfast and dinner at their big terace where you enjoy not only in the food but in the of nature .Bcs you are surrounded by cypress,lavanda,wineyards,visteria,lavanda,flowers...
The Podere Marciano is in the countryside,but it is perfect location for exploring region of Chianti,also they are between Florence and Siena ,San Gimiano ...
And you will sleep like a baby,beds are big and comfortable,lights are smooth,and when your head hit the pillow you will be in heaven.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federica G, Manager at Antico Podere Marciano, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Svetlana,
Thank you very much for having spent your holidays, once again, at Antico Podere Marciano, Chianti.
I'm glad you had a nice time and you could enjoy the quiet atmosphere and the gorgeous landscape.
Thank you also for appreciating the work of the team and hope we'll be able to welcome you again soon.
Federica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My Wife and I had the great pleasure of staying at Antico Podere Marciano, and to make it even more wonderful, we found it by accident! Following a sign off the paved road, we made our way about 2 km along a dirt road to the villa and were simply astounded by what we found.

Because we were a "drop in" without reservations, we ended up spending 2 days in "Premium" room #1, and 1 day in the "Standard" room #3 and were very happy with both. The villa and the grounds were impeccably clean and the service was excellent. The owner and the staff were cordial, warm, and welcoming. We felt an instant rapport with them.

We found the location to suit our needs very well, and although the dirt road to the villa may seem "off the beaten path" to some, to us it was a huge plus, giving us the feeling of privacy and adding to the overall ambiance of this extraordinary property.

We look forward to the opportunity to stay with them again in the future.

Tim and Nereyda Cotter
Santa Barbara, CA

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandNinSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

View from pool was stunning! Rooms good, not too large.
Good location to explore chianti area and San gimigiano.
Persons running the place were very nice and took their time for you.
Some suggestions to improve: dinner is only available is there are 8 persons, so in our case this never happened, during the 4 nights we stayed, this was a real pity as it was one of the reasons to chose this place.
Second suggestion is wifi availability in the rooms, now this was only available in general area.

Room Tip: We had a small room without outside space or balcony, while this is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Beautiful location, beautifully decorated rooms, one of the nicest swimming pools we have ever seen, very kind owners and staff...go there and be happy and don't miss dinners (three times a week), the cook has an exceptionally light hand and very good ideas. We will recommend the place toour friends: silence, a wonderful view (you see all the valley andSan Gimignano Towers at a distance) and, at night, fireflies on the trees, a very nice surprise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titomagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is just like i pictured Toscana. Country house with great view, great service, nice cosy bar in the main house with a big fire place.
We stayed for nights and spent our time exploring several of the nearby wine yards or lay by the gusthouse nice swimmingpool.
They have dogs at the gusthous that they have loose at night because of wild boars, because of this you may hear some barking during the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnkleEmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Antico Podere Marciano in late May. We were travelling by car from Cortona and, since we were passing through Castellina, we decided to call in at the Tourist Information Office there. This was to check directions to Podere Marciano since it is located on unsealed gravel roads that did not show up on our GPS. However, the Tourist office was not particularly helpful and instead we used the directions from the Podere’s website. We found the turn-off from the main road and after 3 or 4 kilometres arrived at our destination. When one gets off a main sealed road it is always good to get reassurance that one is heading in the correct direction and, in this respect, there is room for improvement here. Despite this minor criticism, the Podere Marciano is a great place to spend a few days. It is certainly isolated but this is part of the charm. The Chianti area is much more hilly than we expected. The Podere is quite high up and the views over this part of Tuscany are breathtaking. From this location we could see the towers of San Gimignano in the distance.
Frederica, the owner with her husband, was the perfect hostess. One evening we had an excellent dinner at the Podere and this provided an opportunity to get to know some of the other guests. Frederica suggested various attractions in the area including the Castello di Brollo (recommended) and a personal conducted tour and wine tasting at the nearby Castello della Paneretta, a family run vineyard and winery. This was one of the highlights of our time in Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCandMrW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
4.3 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
608 reviews
7.8 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
535 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Agriturismo La Presura
Agriturismo La Presura
#6 of 57 in Greve in Chianti
101 reviews
7.6 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
0.5 mi away
Romitorio di Serelle
Romitorio di Serelle
#3 of 32 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Podere Marciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Podere Marciano

Property: Antico Podere Marciano
Address: Localita Marciano' 1 | Barberino val d'Elsa, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Antico Podere Marciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Podere Marciano Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing