We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Graet vacation !!! amazing & friendly staff !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Graet vacation !!! amazing & friendly staff !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Our family [2+2 (15,12)] stayed 6 days at Al Gelso (gelsomino apartment) in the end of march 2013.

Irene Chiara and Dory were truly amazing & the hospitality was perfect.

they helped us in everything we asked. gave us very usefull recommendations for great restaurants a short distance away, explained to us patiently about sites and supplied us with maps.

The apartment was beautiful with a well equipped kitchen, a cozy living room, a wonderful terrace, two beautiful and spacious rooms with two bathrooms and showers. There is an excellent barbecue we also used.

In a short drive there are nice supermarkets.

The place itself stunning beauty. The view is breathtaking.

Excellent location and reasonable distance from major tourist sites, allow making daily trips to beautiful places.

Thanks to the wonderful staff for a great experience.

The Sider Family

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
107
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Very charming and lovely setting. Our apartment was clean and updated with a fully-equipped kitchen. The property is situated perfectly for daily excursions to almost anywhere within the Tuscan region. Irene, Stefania, Chiara, Susanna and Dory made our stay extra wonderful. They were all so helpful with making suggestions, setting reservations and just making our stay extra comfortable. We did a cooking class, which our 6 year old thoroughly enjoyed. Susanna prepared a traditional Tuscan meal for us one evening that was amazing. We had a very late flight on our day of departure, but there was another family checking into our room. So, they prepared another apartment for us to use until we had to leave. As previous reviewers have noted, there are charges to do laundry or get extra towels. However, the setting, location and hosts more than make up it. Highly recommend, especially for families.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LABTraveler4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

True perfection. Al Gelso Bianco is by far the best Agriturismo in the area. We stayed in Al Gelso for a week in September 2012. The experience of staying on a working olve orchard/winery is fantastic. We were actually able to see the wine bottling process during our stay. The "Rosemarino" apartment is one of the smaller apartments, with separate bedroom and a sofa sleeper in the main area. The facility has been updated with all the modern conveniences while keeping the original exterior. There are also larger apartments for families or larger groups of friends traveling togeether. The cooking facilities in the unit was perfect and the facility allowed us to pick the fresh vegetables from their garden. Our apartment had it's own terrace whih overlooked the valley and the sunsets where just amazing. Shopping in the supermercado "Coop" in Poggibonsi was an experience beyond belief, such beautiful fruit and vegetables and anything else you desire can be found there.

The location is perfect for visiting all the nearby hill towns of Volterra, San Gimignano, Sienna, Cortona and Assisi. Florence is close enough to drive in for the day and experience what Florence has to offer and yet drive back to your "home away from home" in the evening.

Irene and her mother greeted us upon our arrival and showed us around the entire facility. Dori and Chiara were available to answer any questions, or assist if need be. This "home away from home" concept is just perfect. Beautiful Tuscany and your own apartment overlooking the entire valley........life couldn't be better.

Anyone planning a trip to the Tuscan area won't be disappointed in the Al Gelso Bianco.

Molto Bello!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworld367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Al Gelso Bianco is a charming agriturismo property, located just 40 minutes from both Florence and Siena.. The grounds were very well maintained in a beautiful setting. We really enjoyed the interactions with the working farm and were delighted to see the bottling of one of their (delicious) Chianti wines. Irene and Chiara were so friendly and eager to help with any requests. We loved their restaurant recommendations and help with reservations.
We stayed in the Prezzemolo, a one bedroom apartment with a king size bed room, with lovely French doors which let in lots of light. We had our own outside table surrounded by roses. The pool, although unheated was refreshing on a hot day. We did not make use of the small gym and large indoor and outdoor sitting areas, but looked in on them and found them to be very lovely. My husband enjoyed exploring their property on his walks through the olive trees and vines. The wine tasting with Chiara was informative and fun. Their wines are very good and we could purchase them from a little shop on the premises. We loved this quiet, peaceful and beautiful place.
P.S. This is an apartment and totally agree with Deborah L. The experience of trying to find what we needed in an Italian Supermarket is one of our memorable experiences! Irene, Chiara, and Dori did stock our kitchen with provisions for breakfast for the next morning, and provided us a lovely cooked meal the night we arrived for a fee.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with views of the valley. Prezzemolo was the least private small apartment as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molly522012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

You could not ask for a more perfect stay than at Al Gelso Bianco. We booked there for a week in September and our stay was just exquisite.

We were met upon arrival by Irene and her Mother, who showed us our apartment (Rosmarino) and the available facilities. Everything was as we imagined and picture perfect! The colors, the ambiance and the staff were all incredible. Irene immediately booked us at a local restaurant for dinner reservations, and told us how to get to the local supermercado for our supplies.

Great place to stay for your visit to the Chianti region, you are but a short drive from Tuscany's famous hill towns of Sienna, Volterra, Assisi, Cortona and many more scenic areas.

Al Gelso Biano is a working olive/wine farm, and we were allowed to see the bottling process on a Monday morning. They also have a full garden and we were invited to pick whatever we needed for our consumption.

The Coop Supermercado is in Poggibonsi just a short drive away, with everything you need to purchase for your stay. My comment to the reviewer from Sydney would be, ...you know you are not staying @ a hotel, so be prepared for shopping locally for any of the necessities such as toiletries, food, etc. ...that is the whole concept of renting an apartment to have a "home away from home"...We thoroughly enjoyed shopping with the local Italian people and went back several times to buy fresh produce!

It you are planning a trip to Tuscany for a romantic getaway, family vacation or just solitude, you cannot go wrong with Al Gelso Bianco....you won't be disappointed.

Ciao!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We spent a great week in Tuscany here. The position of Al Genso is excellent. The place is well maintained and the swimming pool area is great .
However, we had a couple of gripes. Firstly the reception is manned sporadically so that it is actually difficult to get local information. The second thing which I noticed other reviewers have said is to beware of extra costs. We felt it was a bit much to charge 5 euros per washing machine load and 5 euros for drying! In addition 3 euros for an extra bath towel is ridiculous ! The accommodation is expensive enough already and we felt it was very grabby to ask us to pay extra for each toilet roll!

This being said, itmismstill a beautiful place!

Room Tip: Just check which rooms have natural light. Other guests complained that their rooms didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britabroad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

This was our fourth stay in Al Gelso Bianco in 5 years and it is not the last... First stay as a couple in winter was great. Summer stays with kids were even better. We recommend this little gem to everyone interested in a trip to Tuscany (and even to others just for the pleasure of staying in this very special place)
Great location for visiting towns and villages of the Chianti area. Very beautiful estate with gorgeous views over the tuscan idylic countryside.
Perfect appartments - stylish, comfortable, perfectly equiped, all individually decorated. All very private.
Fantastic pool, specially for families with kids as the padling pool is connected to the main pool. Good size to play and swimm. Many sunloungers and shades for everyone to enjoy.
And not to forget the perfect hospitality: Irene & Chiara make you feel at home, have great advice just about everything you need and more. They are always available and never imposing.
Ideal holiday spot!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank percioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
2.9 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
14.8 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
4.6 mi away
Romitorio di Serelle
Romitorio di Serelle
#4 of 32 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fattoria Sant'Appiano
Fattoria Sant'Appiano
#7 of 32 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Canonica di Cortine
La Canonica di Cortine
#4 of 11 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
11.2 mi away
Relais Villa Sensano
Relais Villa Sensano
#2 of 100 in Volterra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort

Property: Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort
Address: Strada di Sant'Appiano 47 | 50021 Barberino V.E, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Gelso Bianco is located in one of the most beautiful valleys of the Chianti area, the Val d'Elsa, just a stone's throw from the cities of Florence and Siena (16 miles from Florence and 19 miles from Siena). Arriving to the resort along the cypress lined avenue will give visitors a preview of the love and care that the owners give to this enchanted place. Practically a hamlet in itself, it enjoys the privileged position of sitting opposite the 10th century Romanesque church of Sant'Appiano (X a.C) and the soaring towers of San Gimignano in the distance. Al Gelso Bianco is immersed in the green of the Valacchi Agricultural Estate Typical products of this marvellous land, such as Chianti DOCG wine, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Grappa and Vin Santa dessert wine, have been produced here for many years. During your stay at Al Gelso Bianco you can enjoy a wine and olive oil tasting in the cellar, a relaxing time at the swimming pool, a visit to the most important cities of Tuscany just few kilometres away, a cooking classes, a Tuscan dinner prepared in our amazing garden or having fun at a pizza party. We are available to help you in booking museums, licensed professional guides for private tours, restaurants, mountain bikes, baby sitters, and whatever you need to make your stay a pleasant, relaxing and true Tuscan experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Al Gelso Bianco Farm-Holiday Resort Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing