We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting”
Review of Le Contrade

Le Contrade
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great setting”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

On top of a mountain, great views. Food was good, chef explained every dish. Of 5 people 4 had good results. Steak marinated in oil was very tough. Beef cheeks were Very good, pastas were good.
Service exceptional. You should go there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pancho444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    39
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“View and best Italian cuisine”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

You turn up a small side road in the village of Gaiole in the heart of Chianti and find a stone building with large windows overlooking the valley. You have reached the idlyllic Le Contrade. My husband and I were there for lunch, planning to have a small bite, not knowing what awaited us. The chef/proprietor, Andrea, is a man dedicated to his craft. The food is all made fresh to order, relying on the abundance of local ingredients. He makes everything from bread to pasta to salami to sorbetto from scratch. From the finest ingredients, he creates dishes that are very close to perfection. The tube pasta with a sauce made from chicken, beef and pork was heavenly. A vegetarian plate of eggplant, cheese and tomatoes with cous cous was full of flavour but not overpowering. If you are in Tuscany hurry to get there before he closes for the winter. It's worth the drive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Andrea surprised us again!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We knew Andrea Oppo before from his restaurant Monna Ginevra. At that time I called him "the magician at work"! It is extremely difficult to explain how good Andrea cooks. To make it short: we stayed for 10 days in the Chianti area and we ate there 3 times (this includes our dog who received a very nice bone!). Thank you Andrea and we highly recommend to everybody who loves excellent fresh prepared food to see and meet Andrea....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Le Contrade restaurant”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very nice resturant the staff friendly and food superb would definitely recommend a visit.

The chef gives a detailed description of how the meal would be cooked and describes the dishes in detail prior to ordering, a very nice touch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic culinary experience!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a pearl of Gaiole in Chianti. Really amazing food: pure and high quality products only (some even from the own garden), perfect combinations and presented in a original way. This is food made with passion. The staff is professional and friendly. For our son of 1,5 yr we got a nice pasta meal. Price - quality ratio is good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacqB1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Contrade also viewed

Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Le Contrade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing