We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly hosts. Good breakfast and excellent dinner.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and friendly hosts. Good breakfast and excellent dinner.”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We spent 4 nights in celebration of my 50th birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It provides a great location to explore the Tuscany region and we loved returning after a day of sightseeing. Each evening we would plan the next days adventure over a bottle of wine on the patio overlooking the beautiful scenery. It was quiet and peaceful. On our last night we decided to try the restaurant for dinner. We went with all the chefs recommendations and we were not disappointed. It was one of the best meals we had in Italy. We wished we had tried it sooner. Breakfast was included and was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamingofItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    41
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noord-Holland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband an I staid in Ultimo Mulino for one week. The location is perfect and excellent to discover the Chianti region. It is a small, nice and quite hotel with reasonable value for money. Some rooms have a patio, but ours had not. Room was very small. Okay for one or two nights, but not for a longer period.

Unlike other reviews we did not find the hospitality that good. The owners are very friendly, but it happened a couple of times that they did not greet us for instance . Most of the other staff was okay and helpfull.The restaurant is good but the portions are disproportionate and that was the reason for us to go to other places that were better and cheaper. The breakfast is very good and extensive and there is the possibility to order cappuccino from the bar. It was in the hotel description that they rent bikes, but when asked at the reception they had never heard of. We were sent to Greve in Chianti, but we found out that the tourist office in Gaiole also had that option (much closer). Shame that the hotel did not know. Please note, no mobile coverage in the hotel and WIFI only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N00rtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty1973, Responsabile reception at Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
First of all we are glad to thank your for time you dedicated in writing thi review so important for us in order to improve our service.
We are sorry that you think your room was too small and you are right that the Deluxe room with patio are the best ones.
At Ultimo Mulino the rooms are not huge, this is due to the restoration that was made keeping the original structure of the XV century mill.
We thank you for good words for staff and we apologize for not satisfied requests, we want to improve our service day by day in order not answering NO to our guests!
Regarding rental bikes, we think there was a misunderstanding. We do not have a bikes for rent, but we collaborate with agency that can take bikes here for rental.
You are right, we should have known about the rental bikes in Gaiole at tourist office, but when we asked them about their services at the beginning of season this one was not ready !
The mobile coverage is only at reception and thanks to a wire that we put on the roof! This zone is very particular. we are sure that during your trips you noticed that many areas in Chianti have no mobile coverage.
Regarding the Wifi, the service is not only in the lobby but also in all the patio, but we agree with you that is a service that we have to improve!
We hope that you come back soon at Ultimo Mulino
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

A charming hotel staffed by warm and friendly people made this one of our favorite hotels in Italy. Set in a quite and peaceful location it was a perfect location to explore Chianti. The evening meal was very enjoyable although the servings were a little too large for us.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel recently for three nights on our honeymoon. It's a nice, secluded spot with a charming surrounds and an interesting, renovated interior. Unfortunately, I was sick with a fever for part of our stay, but all of the staff were polite and very helpful. The breakfast is nice and there is a restaurant run by a husband and wife, which provides good meals for dinner. The man who runs the restaurant is very friendly and provides excellent service to his guests.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samdra16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is a place for travelers by private car only. Great location for exploring Chianti. Building, an old mill, is beautiful, but rooms could use updating. Warm, helpful, eager-to-please staff. Quiet environment for rest and privacy. Nice breakfast (included in price) and restaurant that serves wonderful dinners. Chef takes personal pride in his work, and is flexible, accessible and generous. We thought the hotel was a little expensive in it's category, but enjoyed our stay very much and would be pleased to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Newbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Nice hotel, very peaceful setting. I prefer being in the town itself and this hotel is a bit outside. But that said, very calm, pretty setting.
Clean rooms, large (for Europe) bathroom, air conditioning. Friendly, helpful staff. Ample parking (we had a fairly large car).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrippyAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We needed somewhere close to Gaiole in order to take part in L'Eroica and were recommended L'Ultimo Mulino which is around 5km from both Gaiole and from Radda. A beautiful area and location with perfect hospitality. Compliments to everyone at the Albergo for their service.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomsonPhilanthropy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
1.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.9 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel

Property: Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Address: La Ripresa di Vistarenni, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo l`Ultimo Mulino Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Ultimo Mulino Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing