We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food; great wine”

"Il Celliere" a Castagnoli
Reserve with
"Il Celliere" a Castagnoli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$56
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food; great wine”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a marvelous meal--from the first glass of Prosecco to the last bite of dessert; we highly recommend this lovely restaurant

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    89
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
496 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“We ate here alot!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

As we were staying in Rocca di Castagnoli, we thought we would try the attached restaurant. We loved it. Everything was perfect, from the food, to the staff and the ambience. The food was quite inventive, a nice change from the traditional pizza/pasta type restaurants. Highly recommended. We ate here 3 times over 5 days as it really was the best in the area

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow. Top end, top quality”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A rare find, situated a few km up the hills from Gaiole, this is adjoining a hotel.
Booking usually required- always a good sign!
Great ambience, met by owner who advises on the menu, dishes of the day, and great explanation of the ingredients.
Main courses around €20, but with most ingredients locally sourced, and this well cooked, it is a price worth paying

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grozzer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
343 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Perfect food, perfect Italian personal service”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked here based on Tripadvisor reviews and found this to be the very best food in all of our holiday around Italy (and we ate at some really good restaurants).
The chef is a perfectionist who combines ingredients to maximise the flavours in his very inventive cooking.
The freshly made bufalo cheese with garden-grown tomatoes were sublime and everything from the pasta to the meat dishes were perfect.
The owner was knowledgeable and genuine, and just shake my head at the reviewer who said he wasn't the real deal. He is the perfect host and took time to tell us of the local ingredients including some beautiful Chianti region wine that wasn't expensive.
Top marks to a brilliant restaurant that deserves to be #1 in Tuscany, let alone Gaiole.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Manager_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great people, great food”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Ended up here because we were too tired to drive to Siena...recommended by the concierge at out hotel...what a find! Food was great from start to finish, the service was warm, personal, and exciting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docsatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed "Il Celliere" a Castagnoli also viewed

Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to "Il Celliere" a Castagnoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing