We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capannelle Wine Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Just fantastic.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a nice tour of the winery followed by a private lunch. The resort is absolutely beautiful in every way. The winery tour was great. The tasting was in combination with the most special luncheon that we had. Wines were very very good. The cook was very gifted as all courses were spectacular. I will truly cherish this memory.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We spent two nights at Capannelle in late March of this year. What a wonderful property! The accommodation was lovely, surpassed only by the wonderful staff.

Upon arrival in the early evening, we were warmly greeted by Valentina, who showed us to our beautifully furnished suite, where a delicious light meal had been provided, complete with some excellent wines, complements of the resort.

In the morning, we dined on a superb breakfast, prepared by another lovely woman, also named Valentina. After spending the day in nearby Siena, we returned to Capannelle, where we enjoyed touring their wine cellars and tasting their superb wines. That evening, we dined on a delicious lasagna in béchamel sauce, in a local restaurant in Gaiole which was recommended by Valentina.

We were sad to have to depart the next day, wishing we could have stayed another week. Many thanks to BOTH Valentinas for making us feel so welcome and for attending to our every need!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnM183462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stopped here after we had seen a bottle of their wine at one of the restaurants we ate at, and several people recommended for us to go and visit the winery.
We had a tour with Ilaria and did a private tasting, superb wines, great location, next time in Gaiole we will stay here as well.
Lots of knowledge about who is who and where to go and what to do, the people at Cappanelle go above and beyond.
Grazie Mille, we look forward to return soon.

Make sure you check out the James Bond style Wine Vault

Room Tip: We only did wine tasting here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volker L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had booked a 3 night stay in "resort" in the same town. That turned out to be a disaster but the only saving grace was that the manager recommended we stay at Capannelle.

From the moment we drove our car up the hill to this small winery, Capannelle exceeded our expectations. We were greeted warmly and offered an espresso. Our room was lovely and the bathroom had little olive oil soaps & lotions. After showering upon check-in (the other place had a non-working shower/bathtub!) they offered us a glass of white wine from their winery.

Later in the day we sat on the balcony to relax. Our view was of the Tuscan countryside with olive trees and vineyards. Just below we could see the small town of Gaiole. The next morning, I went for a swim in the heated pool which was perfect. Later in the day, we visited the winery along with their unique wine cellar (very James Bond like).

Everyone in this small winery is focused on creating a great experience and we were not disappointed. An added plus, is that the location is great - from this point you can tour the Chianti region and visit other small towns and wineries. The walk downtown is short (but you must walk up the hill!) and Bianchi Cafe serves terrific food at a very reasonable price.

Next time we visit, we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My husband and I were staying in Gaiole in Chianti and wanted to go to a local winery for a tasting and tour. We were recommended by our hotel to come to Capannelle. What a great experience it was! We were greeted warmly by Valentina, who gave us a private tour of the winery. We then did a tasting upstairs and were given a plate of amazing cheese and crackers along with the best wine we tasted in the Chianti region. The whole experience lasted over an hour and a half. We did not feel rushed and Valentina went out of her way to make us feel at home. If you are going into the Chianti region and pass through Gaiole in Chianti, make sure to stop here for a tasting.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriMic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

this is one of the most unique places i have been to,
coming back to capannelle is like coming home to your italian family.
every member of the staff is like a sister, aunt, brother or old friend.
capannelle is an experience on its own..
and i even haven't started to talk about their wine...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
0.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
665 reviews
3.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
535 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#2 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
121 reviews
7.4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
477 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capannelle Wine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capannelle Wine Resort

Property: Capannelle Wine Resort
Address: Via Capannelle 13, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Capannelle Wine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capannelle Wine Resort Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing