We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capannelle Wine Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at Capanelle Wine Resort as part of our honeymoon trip around Italy, and it was a highlight of our holiday. We stayed in the suite, which faces out toward Gaiole, and has beautiful views. The suite had everything that we could need - the bedroom was spacious, and comfortable. The bathroom and walk in wardrobes were splendidly opulent. The breakfast was delicious, with an excellent selection of foods, and fresh juice. As we were staying over Easter, we were also treated to compulsory chocolate egg at breakfast on Easter Sunday.

We also took a private tour of the winery, and had the lunch with wine pairings. It was a great experience. The wines were delicious, the food complimented them perfectly, and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly - both Valentinas helped to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. We were very well looked after from the moment we arrived til the moment we left. We will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dippywelshbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We visited Capannelle in late December. After over an hour drive on mountain roads, we arrived in Gaiole and went up the hill to the winery. The setting is spectacular and at the same time unassuming. We were greeted by Barbara and led on the winery tour by Manuele, who brought in the winemaker to answer our more technical questions. After the tour, we were treated to an amazing 5 course lunch with wine pairings. Julianna prepared the menu and the food and it was excellent. We started with the chardonnay, moved on to the chianti classico, the Solare and the 50/50 for the cheese course. We were treated to the rosato at the end of the meal.

The wines are solid. Our favorite was a toss up between the Solare and the 50/50. In the end we had spent almost four hours at Capannelle, and it flew by.

Certainly worth the trip and probably our most favorite winery experience in Italy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jgregb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Hotel is excellent, I have stayed several times with clients and friends.
The Hotel is beautifully decorated, rooms have everything needed, are very comfortable and the staff! The Staff are wonderful, friendly , helpful and accommodating.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cindy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I did a tour of Capannelle in August on our honeymoon and it was our first winery stop in the Tuscany region. We really enjoyed this winery - the private tour was great - we got to see the wine vault which was very cool. Then we went upstairs and tried several wines with cheese and bread. It was a gorgeous day outside so my only complaint was that I wish we would've been able to have the tasting outside. Did not purchase any wine because we had 4 more wineries to visit. We were there for no longer than an hour - it did feel semi-rushed, but we still enjoyed ourselves! The vineyards and views are amazing - do not miss this winery! Next time, I think we would also stay here for a few nights - we had no idea you could also stay here! Good to know.

Room Tip: We did not stay here, but only did the winery tour/tasting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenh756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

It's not only a winery, but it's an experience.

The venue is amazing, a small but sophisticated villa, only five rooms. The gardens, pools and views are just GOURGEOUS!

We were welcomed by Valentina, always so nice and attentive, showed us around after a glass of wine, and made everything in her power to make us feel at home.

The room is amazing, both confortable and tastefully decorated, in tuscan style. With the amenities of air conditioning and wifi.

The breakfast was served at a breathtaking balconing looking towards the beautiful Tuscan landscapes, amongst flowers and trees.

We didn't have any other meals there, but Valentina pointed us nice places nearby to go.

We also had a wine tasting with Giada, also so nice to us, gave us a tour to the cellar and was so joyful and nice to talk to.

The wines were very good, our favorite was Solare 2004, we ended up getting some bottles (great cost/benefit ratio as well).

Thanks to Valentina and Giada and everybody that work there. You are wonderful people and you made us very happy!

It was the most delighful part of our trip to Italy, I hope we can go back soon. I would more than definetely recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol_Fal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We organised our daughter's wedding at this magical Tuscan winery - the view, the gardens, the service, the wine and food were exemplary. This was a private affair, with only 23 guests. The Wedding Planners (Alessia and Ilaria) understood our needs and made the whole experience a pleasure. Glam Events (don't let the name fool you) produced a sophisticated and stylish wedding. We had exclusive use of the property for two days, what a treat!

Valentina, our host was understanding and extremely helpful for months before, never failing to answer the many questions. She was a delight to deal with and made us so welcome. I suspect there will be many more weddings at this exclusive venue in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a nice tour of the winery followed by a private lunch. The resort is absolutely beautiful in every way. The winery tour was great. The tasting was in combination with the most special luncheon that we had. Wines were very very good. The cook was very gifted as all courses were spectacular. I will truly cherish this memory.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank njpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
0.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
568 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
310 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#2 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
#6 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capannelle Wine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capannelle Wine Resort

Address: Via Capannelle 13, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range: £143 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Capannelle Wine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capannelle Wine Resort Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing