We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay in Chianti.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Lathrup Village, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay in Chianti.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel last week, as a last night before our trip home to the states. What an absolutely great night! The place is a 1,000-year-old monastery, and it is filled with romance and mystery. The personnel there are all extremely kind, and speak several languages. We were shown the utmost courtesy. They bent over backward to help us with anything we needed.

Rooms were beautiful and large--with couches and chairs besides the bed, and bathrooms were outfitted with every amenity, including hair dryers and jacuzzi tubs. Views were incredible from the windows!

They have an amazing Michelin-rated restaurant there, and they helped us with that as well. You are supposed to wear long pants, but since we'd only packed shorts for the one night, they let that slide as well. Great meal in the courtyard by candlelight!

They also have an indoor and outdoor pool, and sauna. The only thing I wish they would have had is longer pool hours, and a pool bar. They said they had one, but it wasn't there, and they wouldn't let us take drinks down to the pool. That's literally my only feedback, and it's just a little thing. Everything else was top notch!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    80
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
111
391
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've just returned from 7 nights at this wonderful hotel.
Beautiful quiet location overlooking the Tuscany vista, 5 star accommodation and service, pricey but you get what you pay for. Nicely situated at the top of the hill, about 500 yards from the village centre (with lots of shops and restaurants for your everyday needs). A great base for exploring Tuscany, Siena (about 15 miles away) and Florence (50 miles away).

Room Tip: Room 35 is in the separate building, away from the main hotel, has a lovely view of the distant hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at Castello di Spaltenna for 10 nights in August and can not fault the level of service we received from any member of staff.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the views from the terrace stunning.

We had 4 rooms in the block near the indoor pool, there were 3 other rooms in our block, am not sure how many in the main section of the hotel.

The rooms are all very spacious with comfortable beds and air conditioning. They are cleaned every day by a very lovely and efficient lady. Unfortunately, there were some rather inconsiderate guests staying in the room above ours who very noisy late into the night but this could not taint our stay.

The bathrooms are a very good size, with a shower over the bath and the usual complimentary toiletries. The towels are replaced every day and pool towels are also provided.

The outdoor pool is not heated, but isn't too cold and there are plenty of sunbeds available.

We ate at the hotel restaurant two nights, it is expensive but the food is superb and worth the cost.
The lunch menu on the terrace is very reasonable priced, the sandwiches are really for two to share as they come with chips and even the salads can be comfortably split between two people. There is a good selection of breakfast foods, different cereals, breads, cheeses and meats.

Every single member of staff was polite, well presented and eager to help. We could not fault their service.

The only 'bad' thing was so minor it could not affect our vote; some of the sunbeds need adjusting, the sunshades are a little loose on some.

We would not hesitate to recommend Castello di Spaltenna.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine10_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland,NZ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We only stayed a night but wished it vcould have been longer. From a leisurely lunch on the terrace to a realxing swim in the beautiful pool to a night cap under the stars - the whole place was magical. Our room was not huge, but very attractive in quite a rustic way. The service was perfect and we wished that we'd eaten dinner in the hotel - in the main courtyard. Small bathroom - but we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have gone through several villages in Chianti and ended up in this wonderful monastery. Room was a little small but very clean and quiet. The dinner tasted very good. The service was perfect.
The view and the pool were the other surprises.
Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: room 17 is good clean but a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Istanbulapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I had long dreamed of a trip to Tuscany. The hotel in that dream is just like Castillo di Spaltenna. Its a beautiful hotel in a converted 15th century monastery on a hillside surrounded by vineyards and just a short walk from the town of Gaiole in Chianti.

The hotel has about 40 rooms. The staff are exceptional and everyone speaks enough English to help us, and usually much more than that. Each morning, the breakfast spread includes the traditional continental items plus and assortment of traditional Tuscan cold cuts and cheeses. We did not need to taste these during our Tuscan day trips since we had already sampled them for breakfast. You eat breakfast on a covered terrace in a hillside overlooking the vineyards and the surrounding hillsides/farms. It was a lovely way to start the day.

The hotel's restaurant serves excellent food in a storybook setting in the courtyard of the monastery. The food and service is fancy but the atmosphere is casual. There only formal rule is that men must were long pants at dinner. If that is too formal for you, there is a lovely outdoor restaurant just down the hill from the hotel in Gaiole.

We absolutely loved this hotel and hope to visit it again on our next trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Spent three days at Castello di Spaltenna and it wasn't long enough! The castello is perfectly located in Tuscany to make day trips to Siena, Florence and other nearby cities. Although it is very hard to tear yourself away from the beautiful serenity at castello. The rooms are perfect, all the modern amenities still with a rustic charm. The grounds including the pool and gym and are immaculate. The food and the service was impeccable. My only regret is not staying longer. We will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
11.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
5.8 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa

Property: Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Address: Via Spaltenna, 13 | Località Pieve di Spaltenna, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The castle has 37 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and mini-bar, offering any possible comfort and a wonderful view over the valley or the cloister. The inside is comfortable and elegant and the sophisticated atmosphere is completed with sought-after fabrics and accessories. From the grassy terraces in front of the castle, guests can enjoy the calm of the countryside and beauty of the surrounding landscape; here are the swimming-pools: one outdoor pool and one indoor pool heated during coldest months. Sauna, Turkish bath and gym, tennis court, billiard and wellness centre, complete the list of possible leisure activities available at Spaltenna. For horse-riding lovers it is possible to rent horses not far from Spaltenna; trekking and biking lovers will find endless options for routes around the castle. A golf club is also available at one-hour distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Spaltenna Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing