We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Giaole.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in Giaole.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have stayed here before and suggested to several friends and family. This is a 5 star property. The property is absolute gorgeous. We had an upgraded room near the spa. It was truly exceptional. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The restaurant is exceptional! My only small complaint is the air conditioning in the room was a bit inadequate, but we managed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Icepucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    81
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
116
402
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is an extraordinary property tucked up in the hills just above Gaiole , a small town in Tuscany. We have been here now several times and I have strongly recommended to friends and family as an ultimate destination . Rooms are simply charming and immaculate ; they are attended to with great care ; many look out over vineyards with a backdrop of the Tuscany hillside.

What distinguishes Castello di Spaltenna is the service as virtually every need, question and request is addressed with professional and genuine concern and attention : from directions to next destination , recommendations for dinners out , help with luggage , to hiking routes etc.

Staff must receive careful training as queries and requests are always responded to with clarity, speed, and efficiency .

Any room for improvement ? We are very seasoned travelers and notice issues at properties from concrete cleanliness( not an issue at all at Castello di Spaltenna) to more subtle problems or annoyances. The restaurant at this hotel is exquisite if not a bit fastidious ; seriously, this is Tuscany and it is 90 degrees at 8 PM and the staff at the outdoor restaurant are still wearing full suited garb ? The pool is very chilly , OK, deal with it ; you get used to it and it is refreshing after a minute given the summer heat.

The number of families with very small children ( as in 1 to 3 years ostensibly ) is increased since our last visit and it changes the vibe at meals ( high chairs , strollers etc ) and at poolside .

There is no food service in between 2:30 PM and dinner ( 8 PM) so could not get a salad after coming back from a long hike in the mountains . They offer a few sandwiches in the bar but a salad is not possible as one staff person noted "the bread is no longer fresh as it was served at lunch ". OK - some people must need very fresh bread- we went to down to the plaza 5 minutes away for a caprese salad but this seemed like a ridiculous scenario.

Lastly, the wi-fi still is fair and the reception is best at the front desk. The staff attribute the problem to thick stone walls but we have stayed in 12th century restored properties all around Italy now and new technology has fixed router issues and bandwidth issues. The staff realize this is an issue and it is unimagineable that all of the international clients go off the grid so perhaps others will raise as an issue.

Castello di Spaltenna is a magical property and should be visited by those lucky enough to be able to read a newspaper ( or Kindle or iPad) in the garden of this lovely property while being looked after by such gracious staff

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SYNAPSEBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

That kind of place we would like to go back for a few more days.

The courtyard is divine. We were lucky to enjoy good weather, which made it idillic.

The chef deserves a Michelin rating. Great stay.

If you want to enjoy Tuscany, its countryside, its restaurants and sights, this is a great place to set up base in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cachoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I recently stayed at Castello Spaltenna during my wedding weekend. The grounds are breathtaking! You really do feel like you've escaped to an ultra-posh yet charming hideaway in the hills.

We held our rehearsal dinner on the outdoor terrace which offered a gorgeous view of the vineyard during aperitivo and dinner. All the staff were caring and accommodating, especially the manager, Tiziano, who I corresponded with many times leading up to the weekend events.

We continued to travel around Italy and Europe after leaving Spaltenna but I can say that my favorite hotel was the gem. I'll most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Junior Suite was spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKMtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We traveled to Gaiole from Florence and on our way to Rome with a group of 17 for a 3 night stay. We could not believe how beautiful Spaltenna was when we arrived. Just getting our of our car we were struck with how good it smelled from the beautiful lush rosemary and lavender plants lining the entrance, along with rosebushes and hydrangeas. The castle itself and the surroundings were like paradise. Everyone in our group, aged 12-68 years, was completely entranced. The rooms were clean, roomy and had spectacular views. The staff were extremely friendly, accommodating and professional. We ate dinner our first night in the courtyard; it was like a dream. The surroundings were so picturesque and the food was amazing. The pool was beautiful with unbelievable views. Spaltenna was the perfect relaxation spot we needed in between our busy city trips. Our 3rd day there were took a day trip to Siena. Two nights we walked down to Gaiole for dinner and happened upon 2 excellent restaurants. It's hard to describe how much we all loved staying at this castle. When we got to Rome, many of us said that we wished we had just stayed at Spaltenna for the remainder of our trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pigs3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Spaltenna - the rooms are beautiful, the service exceptional and the restaurant delicious! Ask at the front desk for advice on wine tasting in the region, and enjoy the complementary tastings at Vertine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FdP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have travelled a lot over the past 10 years and can safely say that my 2 nights in Spaltenna was one of the best holidaying experiences I have ever had.
I was worried that i would get bored and that 2 nights would be, frankly, too much- how wrong I was.
The one hour drive was blissful and picturesque (although I have never driven on the right side of the road before)- mores was the rolling hills and view of the never ending vineyards once you were there. This place will really blow your mind.
The hotel staff were attentive, obliging to requests and did the most wonderful things, like turn our beds, while we were at dinner, so when we arrived back to the room we were all ready for bed!
The restaurant is Michelin star- the food incredible the staff were amazing and the prices quite reasonable. i had the best meal of my life at this place.
The spa and recreation area were insane as well. I thought I would have to pay extra for its use because it was so amazing but i was wrong. The use of the pool, jacuzzi, sauna, turkish bath house, dry/ wet rooms, relaxation rooms etc were used at my own leisure and was manned by a lovely lady who took requests to make the experience even better.
Overall, i can not say enough good things about this place. although ppl may see this place as for couples only, I went with a friend and i fell in love with the place. I would definitely come again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
11.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
5.8 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa

Property: Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Address: Via Spaltenna, 13 | Località Pieve di Spaltenna, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The castle has 37 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and mini-bar, offering any possible comfort and a wonderful view over the valley or the cloister. The inside is comfortable and elegant and the sophisticated atmosphere is completed with sought-after fabrics and accessories. From the grassy terraces in front of the castle, guests can enjoy the calm of the countryside and beauty of the surrounding landscape; here are the swimming-pools: one outdoor pool and one indoor pool heated during coldest months. Sauna, Turkish bath and gym, tennis court, billiard and wellness centre, complete the list of possible leisure activities available at Spaltenna. For horse-riding lovers it is possible to rent horses not far from Spaltenna; trekking and biking lovers will find endless options for routes around the castle. A golf club is also available at one-hour distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Spaltenna Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing