We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gaiole in Chianti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa La Grotta
Salisbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We had a great holiday staying at the hotel Villa la Grotta in Gaiole in Chianti. The accomodation was superb and the restaurant very good. A very relaxing retreat, very quiet and an ideal place to chill out. The swimming pools were very good and well maintained. The manager and staff very helpful and kind. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Lots of wonderful places to visit close by and Siena within 30 minutes.

I certainly hope to return there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyholiday00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

This beautifully restored hotel is an incredible gem. Such a beautiful location, with all the amenities you could possibly wish for (indoor/outdoor pool, turkish baths, permanent pampering, stunning rooms...), the staff make you feel like part of the family. And the food - well well, it's just incredible. Without a doubt the best cooking I have ever enjoyed in Italy, delicious yet simple. The whole trip was absolutely fantastic and I can't wait to come back. Don't even think of staying anywhere else, you have no idea how much you would be missing out on!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keentraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

warm welcome from the start,staff could not do enough for you, and the food was out of this world .looking out over the hills from our room you just lost your self in its beauty a total relaxing time would recommend it to any one

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Stayed for three nights to attend a wedding in Siena and reception actually held at Villa La Grotta.

We had a fantastic time but what really made our stay special was the care and attention provided by the General Manager and her staff.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2008

Small boutique with rustic qualities. After personal a recommendation from a friend, it lived up to the comments and then some. The staff were so friendly with nothing too much bother, by the end of the week, it felt like home, helping myself to drinks behind the bar! Everyone was helpful in directing us to interesting places. We had a lovely suite overlooking the restaurant terrace and was extremely quiet and clean. We missed breakfast on the first day due to tireness, or so we thought until reception asked if we wanted something keeping back for us.

The restuarant food has a real unique hint of curry and other international cuisine to boot. They made it far too easy to stay and eat in the hotel, but do recommend you venture out and just give anything a go.

With an arrary of books and magazines, there is plenty to read by the pools, just pick up the phone and someone arrives with your drink order.

The biggest pull for me was the staff, who remain constant, friendly and just felt like an extended family if you just let yourself go with no aires or graces...personally the best way on holiday.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffordshireLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2007

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at The Hotel Villa La Grotta and had a wonderful time! We arrived after a long, rainy drive and Doogie, Mohammed and Gigi were there to take our bags up to our room and pour us a tall glass of wine and a hot cup of tea! The room we stayed in was beautiful and had an amazing view. After a little rest and relaxation, we let Mohammed know that we were hungry and looking for a snack. 10 minutes later, he arrived with the best bruscetta we've ever had! The staff at the Villa are warm and friendly and make you feel like a part of their family. If you decide to eat in their restaurant (which you should) they will make the dining experience a great one - offering unique, local foods and traditional Tuscan fare. The prices are similar to what you would expect to pay at a nice restaurant, but the food is wonderful! If you decide you want to see the sights around Tuscany, you will definitely need a car and be comfortable driving on windy, steep roads, but Gigi and Doogie will help you to find all the best local restaurants, vineyards and castles!!

Overall, we had a great time and would definitely return - this time, with the rest of our friends and family!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AJB6380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We just stayed at the Hotel Villa La Grotta for our honeymoon, which we booked after reading the numerous glowing reviews about it on TripAdvisor. The hotel is quite cute, and the staff, Doogie, Gigi, and Mohammed were very very nice.

However, I must mention a few caveats. I unfortunately feel that the hotel is quite overpriced for the type of room we stayed in and the level of service. Our rate was 280 euros a night for a deluxe room - which turned out to be a tad basic (especially in comparison to the room we had just come from - a luxurious deluxe room at the beautiful Continentale in the heart of Florence, for the exact same nightly rate). The room had only a tiny window, and lacked the decor and lived-in charm that would put it a notch above other Tuscan hotels and villas. Despite the fact that we were the only people staying on the property, we were not upgraded to any of the 3 suites on the property (perhaps we should have made our slight disatisfaction with the room more known, as the other reviewers on this site had?). Also the bottle of prosecco that was promised to us never materialized (I think another reviewer mentioned this as well).

We had dinner there one night. The food was delicious, but again, quite overpriced - for instance, 15 euros for a pasta dish vs. 6 to 10 euros we had seen in other nice restaurants in Florence and Tuscany. Because we were one of only two couples having dinner there (the other couple were not guests at the hotel), there felt like there was no attempt to light the dining room as usual - we pretty much ate in a darkened, rather dismal dining room.

On the positive side, again, the staff were really nice. I almost hate writing the criticisms because I like the staff. However, as someone who has traveled pretty extensively through Europe, I was disappointed to have stayed at a place, for my honeymoon no less, which I felt to be poor value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ssjj2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
3.8 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
624 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
109 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Residence SanSano
Hotel Residence SanSano
#6 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
511 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
118 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa La Grotta

Property: Hotel Villa La Grotta
Address: Loc. Brolio, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovation until 2011. Hotel Villa La Grotta is a luxury hotel dating back to the 9th Century offering the highest standards in accommodation and facilities. The four star hotel is situated in the heart of Chianti Classico on the famous Castello di Brolio estate owned by Barone Ricasoli, with spectacular views over rolling hills, vineyards and olive groves of the surrounding countrysideHotel Villa La Grotta offers four deluxe, five superior and three standard double bedrooms. All have air conditioning, satellite television and minibars and offer the maximum of comfort.The hotel has both indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, a Turkish bath, and a specialized health treatments. There is a private restaurant and bar where the best in traditional Italian cuisine and wines can be savoured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Grotta
La Grotta Hotel
Hotel Villa La Grotta Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing