We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where past splendor meets modern grace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Tornano
Certificate of Excellence
Coram, Montana
1 review
“Where past splendor meets modern grace”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Imagine traveling back in time to the Europe of the middle ages, a majestic castle, breathtaking countryside, tranquility set apart form modern hustle and complete attention to detail. Castello Di Tornano meets and exceeds that scene. My girlfriend and I were vacationing in Florence in and thought a stay at a castle would be fun. We found Castello Di Tornano on a whimsical internet browse and thought it looked so amazing we booked a stay there. Tucked away in Giola in Chianti, this 1000+ year old property is sure to soothe even the most restless soul. The grounds are well maintained and beautifully appointed and the castle is like something out of a fairy tale. The tower which stands guard high above the property lends itself to the most awesome of Chianti sunsets. The rooms in the castle are amazingly beautiful and have all the comforts of modern time married to all the charm of yesteryear. We were fortunate to stay in one of the guesthouses next to the castle with a loft bedroom and our own private balcony which was perfect for sipping Castello di Tornano's home grown and bottled Chianti Classico while watching the stars of the Italian sky.....This place defines romantic comfort on every level. However, there is more to this vacation spot then just great views, great wine and romantic charm; there is the food. The chef is absolutely top notch and has the knack of subtlety when it comes to engaging his diner's palets. Every dish was truly gourmet with attention down to every detail from aesthetics to flavor. Meal time is certainly a must attend here. Every member of the staff exudes an attitude of welcoming friendliness. Nothing seems too much for them to do and their ability to accommodate is second to none.
Castello Di Tornano has become our favorite place. The people from the support staff to the owner made us feel like family and made our stay there the most memorable and special part of our trip. I could never find enough praise to express our pleasure with every aspect of this visit, in a word it was truly amazing. If anyone is traveling to Chianti and hasn't planned a visit to this enchanting place, I would urge you reconsider as it is truly a one of a kind experience that you will not soon forget and hold as treasured memories of an enchanted trip.

Room Tip: Every room is truly wonderful, but we preferred the guest cottages as they were more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    72
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
53
221
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We wanted a castle close to Florence that had things to do in the area bec we didn't rent a car (we had private transportation to and from the hotel). This place had everything we wanted to keep us leisurely occupied: on site horseback riding, vineyards, winery, and good food. There is a gourmet chef who is there daily and prepares different meals daily. Advanced notice is required, though I don't think they'll refuse to feed you. He consistenly adjusted for my lactose intolerance after being told once. As you would expect from even the best cooks who cook for their family, some dishes are better than others ranging from above average to fantastic.

We didn't have a car so the castle had one of its staff drive us about 1 km downhill to the stables where we rode through the vineyards and surrounding woods. Our guide didn't say much during the trail ride, but she offered to drive us back up the hill in her car.

There are 4 wines produced by this winery. Overall, they were good but our least favorite on our trip. The wine tasting was relaxed, informative, and tasty. This was the best value during our week long trip to Italy that included some of the best hotels. Also, english was spoken well.

Room Tip: The suite at the top is nice but isn't necessary for the view. You can take any room in the cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

To set the scene, we were on a honeymoon and fancied somewhere special and romantic so a castle seemed like a perfect idea. Entry level is 190 euros, which based on other places we visited being 25% less, seemed like a lot. But we loved the castle and its location.

Our room, "Romeo and Juliet" was in the castle rather than the tower and overlooked the drinks patio and the restaurant. It had a lovely iron bed (although it had a tendency to squeak really loudly even when you moved your head 2cm....be warned, i'm sure you know what i mean!). The bathroom has the most powerful shower ever created which gives you a lovely morning battering, and its nice and big.

I think to get the most out of this place you have to get the suites which are in the tower. One has its own roof terrace and hot tub which im guessing would be incredible. The food was excellent and at 40 euros for a set meal of 5 courses i thought was excellent. Zuchini and blue cheese soufle, shrimp risotto, pumpkin raviolli, tagliata di manzo, creme caramel. Staff were nice and friendly too.

You will need a car to get to this place and to explore the area. Its on a hill in the middle of nowhere.

We had a nice time, but perhaps thought we might have enjoyed somewhere more where we felt like the special guests. Our own fault really.

Room Tip: Break the bank and go for the tower suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Castello di Tornano in August last year. Just a 90 minute drive out of Florence in the heart of Chianti, this place is truly heaven on Earth.

Maura, the Castello Manager was incredibly accomodating from start to finish. In fact all staff were very friendly and attentive throughout our stay. The Castello was built in 700AD and from the moment you arrive, it is a real step back in time. We stayed in a suite in the castle which was very comfortable (a/c, sat tv, double shower) and the view is forever etched in my memory. Unlike other Castello's in the area, there are only 3 suites, each on a separate level in the castle so peace and quite is guaranteed! The stairs inside the castle are steep and may not be to everyone's liking. The lounge room in the Castle is absolute luxury and the perfect spot to read a book or simply relax.

The 25m lap pool and lush surrounding provide the perfect backdrop for endless hours of relaxation.

The Castello also offers budget short stay villas and rooms for those counting the pennies

The Castello produces three variaties of red, one of course being the Chianti Classico which is well priced and welcomed by the fussiest of palets. Breakfast is adequate, we did not have dinner at the castle as we were always out exploring nearby areas in Greve, Rada, Siena, Castelina etc etc.

The treacherous 1.5km entrance to the castle has been discussed in numerous reviews, I must say you do get used to this but the first time is certainly a little hairy, just don't look down!

THANKYOU CASTELLO DI TORNANO AND THANKYOU CHIANTI!!

Room Tip: go for one of the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Castle Tornau, circling the hills of Chianti is located only 20 km from Siena and 50 km from Florence. This is one of the most beautiful medieval castles in Italy, and is protected under the Ministry of Culture.

The history of the castle dates back to Tornau 10th century. During the attack, Frederick Barbarossa, served as a fortress.
Recently, the castle was completely renovated, but retaining all the features of medieval architecture. Now it is a magnificent hotel that will satisfy the needs of even the most demanding guests.
Inside the castle walls there was an old chapel, which became a parish church associated with St. Marcellin parish. In the census, held in 1427, the parish of San Quirico in the castle has 32 Tornau residents, who were divided into 5 families.

The castle is now is a hotel, which is open all year except January.

Dive into the magical atmosphere of this castle. Walk along the ancient walls of the Romanesque style and feel the spirit of this Middle Ages. Enjoy the peace and nature. Admire the colors of all four seasons and the breath of Chianti.
The castle offers 19 rooms furnished with antique furniture and syutov. Bathrooms in all rooms are decorated in marble. Each room has free Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and minibar. Free parking is available. In the hotel restaurant you can sample the local cuisine and famous wines of Chianti from the cellars of the castle. Chef Massimo famous works here, which also conducts courses of chef.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank irun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Lovely place in the middle of nowhere but centrally located in Tuscany for day trips. The breakfasts were wonderful , dinners a little pricey ,one meal excellent one ok, too salty. The road leading to castle is a bit steep and gravely but negotiable with any car. Hard to find. The room was clean as was bathroom and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Four of us spent two nighs at the Castello di Tornano. The property is well-maintained and website pictures are representative of the location and facilities. The stay was, however, unremarkable.

We elected to have dinner at the castle on our first evening - 40 € for a menu composed of beef carpaccio appetizer, potato soup, gnocchi, filet and a dessert - wine is not included and should be, at least a first and/or second glass. Because of the fixed menu, service is prompt, but relatively careless.

We unanimously found the Chianti Classico bottles that we purchased thin, lacking in bouquet and depth, and overall bland. One should notice that there is no wi-fi in any of the apartments; service is only available on the ground floor of the bastion or adjacent to the reception area. The grounds are very pretty and would make for a romantic setting for couples vacationing: we saw a doe on the dirt-road to the castle when returning from supper on night two; the surroundings are beautifully serene and quiet; and the pool/hot tub combination must be very pleasant in the summer.

Comparable degustations in nearby castles are either free of charge with a stay, free of charge with a purchase of the wine, or 10 €/person. At Tornano, degustations are at 20 € each.

Perhaps because of the off-season timing of our stay, we were underwhelmed with the castle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesc_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
2.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
4.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
12.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Tornano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Tornano

Property: Castello di Tornano
Address: Localita Tornano SNC, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello di Tornano 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello Di Tornano is located on a hillside in the Chianti Classico wine region. It offers free Wi-Fi, free parking, and rooms and apartments with satellite TV and bathroom. Rooms at the Castello are air conditioned and include a minibar. The apartments offer a fully fitted kitchen. The restaurant at the Castello Di Tornano serves Tuscan specialities and classic Italian cooking. The swimming pool is set in gardens and surrounded by trees. There is a tennis court, and guests can also enjoy the spa bath and massage treatments. The Castello Di Tornano Farm Stay is 18 km from Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Castello di Tornano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Tornano Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Tornano Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing