We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location and lovely wine!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Tornano
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top location and lovely wine!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very special and beautiful and tranquil place and location, nice swimming pool and if you like horse riding this is the place to be! Tennis court however needs an update. Superb wine!

Beautifull and spacious rooms

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willem1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    73
    31
    17
    10
See reviews for
54
228
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for three days and enjoyed every minute of it! The view is spectacular which is only surpassed by the helpfulness of the entire staff. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. My husband & I enjoyed getting up early to watch the sunrise from the terrace at the top of the tower. We look forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

what a wonderful place! We are loving our stay here. The staff is so helpful; the castle is lovely; our accommodations are charming. But then I spent the day in cooking class with Chef Manuele and I was in heaven! I will amaze my friends at home when I make and serve them an authentic four-course Tuscan dinner!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Maryland, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stopped here for a few days during our vacation in Italy. The property was beautiful and the staff was very helpful. The first room we were assigned to had a bit of trouble with the air conditioning, but the staff immediately moved us to a new room. The grounds are lovely, the food was wonderful, and the scenery is breathtaking. We took a cooking class with the chef; that was my favorite part of our stay. He was so much fun to work with and we learned a great deal. We would definitely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Salonga, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here from May 26 to 30. We had the the room at the suite top of the tower "Monaca Di Monza" The views from this room are only surpassed by going to the terrace at the top of the tower. Warning - if you are not able to climb steps, do not take this room. It is several different flights up and there is no other way. All of the staff, Fabiola,Victor and even our waiter Singh, could not have been nicer or more helpful.
The on-site restaurant is very good. The breakfast buffet has a good selection and the coffee is great. For dinner, every night the small menu changes. The food was very good and I highly recommend their wine and Grappa. I had a case sent home!
The castle is centrally located in Chianti. It was a easy drive to Sienna,Radda and other towns that you would want to see.
We stayed here after touring Rome,Venice and Florence. It was the perfect place just to relax and just enjoy the country.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

we had a fantastic stay here - we initially stayed in a well appointed flat and were upgraded to a stunning castle room when another guest was noisy one night and we asked for somewhere quieter.

Fantastic food, staff all great and very accommodating

Looking forward to visiting again!

THANK YOU!

Room Tip: the castle is better than the flats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bristol9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My family of 6 (Age 67 to 10) stayed here for 3 night toward the end of June. It was unquestionably the most memorable part of our trip from the youngest to the oldest. We arrived in the afternoon without having had lunch. Fabiola, the owner, had a simple yet delicious lunch set up for us at the outdoor terrace with an amazing view of the hillside.

The staff, Singh, Manuele and Claudia were amazing and friendly. We got a guided tour of the chapel and the dungeon from Victor. We had an amazing and relaxing dinner there. It was a much appreciated break from all the traveling we have been doing.

We had a room in the castle and the tower. Both are beautifully furnished and very spacious for Italian standards. We would def. go back there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the castle are very romantic for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaK123238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
2.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
4.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Residence SanSano
Hotel Residence SanSano
#6 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Tornano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Tornano

Property: Castello di Tornano
Address: Localita Tornano SNC, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello di Tornano 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello Di Tornano is located on a hillside in the Chianti Classico wine region. It offers free Wi-Fi, free parking, and rooms and apartments with satellite TV and bathroom. Rooms at the Castello are air conditioned and include a minibar. The apartments offer a fully fitted kitchen. The restaurant at the Castello Di Tornano serves Tuscan specialities and classic Italian cooking. The swimming pool is set in gardens and surrounded by trees. There is a tennis court, and guests can also enjoy the spa bath and massage treatments. The Castello Di Tornano Farm Stay is 18 km from Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Castello di Tornano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Tornano Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Tornano Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing